We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location is very central to downtown Napa and easy to get to the wineries and surrounding areas (Yountville, etc.). The rooms are large, and the bathoom was very nice. The double-head shower was a nice touch, and the rooms also have robes and coffee makers. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitey1953, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, and found our location conveninet and our guest rooms comfortable and well appointed. Thank you for staying with us and taking a moment to write a review.

Jeff Whitehead
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

Had a great time in Napa staying at 3 places, Hilton Garden Inn, River Terrace & Old World Inn. The best of the 3 was the River Terrace Inn. When we go again, we intend to stay there every night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveTripi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitey1953, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

I am so pleased that you our hotel was your favorite during your recent trip. I look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the Napa Valley.

Jeff Whitehead
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

For the overall hotel - this is a great place to stay. Friendly staff, spacious and nice rooms, large bathroom, some rooms have balconies, pretty much noise free - I heard very little noise fom the neighboring rooms! I heard in the a.m. a few footsteps upstais (on the weekend) and commented to a friend who came to visit from out of town. My breakfast wasn't included and thought it was a tad over priced for a patron staying there. It was okay, but felt it could be better, or definitely a lower price. Would I stay there again? Yes - my only downfall was the breakfast. I'd go elsewhere. Walking distance to restaurants - about 3-4 blocks. I'd give this a thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitey1953, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Thank you for staying with us this week. I am pleased that you found your guestroom quiet and comfortable, and our staff friendly and accommodating. I am sorry that our breakfast disappointed you. We are making changes to the breakfast, so that when you come back, you should find it more pleasing. Thank you again for the oppportunity to host you.

Jeff Whitehead
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Visited with wife and baby son. It's in a good location for the Napa Valley Wine Train, and is also on the river bank. Check in on Foursquare to the hotel and the restaurant (Cuvee) for free drinks. We asked to upgrade and were easily accommodated at a discounted rate. Room was well decorated, bed very soft and comfortable, something I rarely find these days. Friendly bar down stairs with outside seating. Restaurant in the car park is outstanding value - the best food we've had in ages. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: "River View" probably not worth paying for, since it is really a view of some mature trees...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitey1953, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Thank you for the opportunity to host you and your family during your recent visit to the Napa Valley. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location near the Wine Train and adjacent to the Napa River. I am happy that you enjoyed our Terrace Cafe and Restaurant Cuvee. Please come back and see us again soon.

Jeff Whitehead
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the River Terrace Inn over 2011 Thanksgiving hoilday for 3 nights, I had done some research and read the website description well and some reviews.Our first night started out pretty poorly, the room was very dirty, cutains had black stains across and the chair was disgusting,the furniture had also seen better days, also we examined the bedding and this only consisted of two sheets and thin blanket, not the website description of Goosedown bedding.I informed reception and a memeber of staff came to the room and agreed it was not up to standard and we were moved to a so called premium room, although this was better cleanlimness again was not good, chipped and dirty coffee mug.Breakfast the next day didnt fare well either, cooked breakdfast buffett was very average with items being kept warm too long and a yogurt that was 4 days past its best by date, the server commented oh, but we have now put out some fresh ones.
Other problems were no toiletries left one day and even they were not as decribed by the website , not Bath and Bodyworks luxury items but some unknown supplier.Anyway, the hotel fell below our expectations of a "Luxury Boutique hotel" and comparing it to our recent stay at the Rose Hotel in Pleasanton where you are made to feel special in extraordinary surroundings. I would like to add that after leaving I left a review for the Manager but to date had no comment from him or anyone else, so this just confirms to me the lack of customer service at the River Terrace Inn.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Okeh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitey1953, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us over the Thanksgiving holiday. I apologize that you had not received my response to the comment card that you completed following your visit, before your posting in this forum. As I mentioned in that response, I have shared your comment card and this review with my staff and pointed out the areas that we need to improve in order to provide the level of hospitality that our guests deserve. Thank you for pointing out our shortcomings. We have already made changes that will benefit future guests. I am sorry that we disappointed you and hope that we may to have an opportunity to host you again.

Jeff Whitehead
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A short (2 min) drive to downtown and the Oxbow Market. Great location and friendly staff. They now charge for the breakfast, it was complimentary 5 yr ago, but still a great place to stay. Thank you River Terrace Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanCobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitey1953, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Thank you for the opportunity to host you again. I am pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and our friendly staff. I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Jeff Whitehead
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Checked into the River Terrace Inn as again I needed a place to park the car on the last leg of my californian epic road trip. There's not much to Napa, so location wise, it wasn't too bad as you are near the roads into / out of town, the wine train, the outlet village and the retail park with an "In and Out" burger restaurant (for non americans, this is the fast food place you have to eat at... simple choise but excellent quality) . The Staff could have been a biot more welcoming... it took me a while to get served and get a drink, but the room we got was huge. It had two huge, comfortable beds and was spotless. We stayed here for a few days and used it as a base to to up and down the valley and into San Francisco. The breakfast arrangements were a bit confusing, (couldn't figure out where it was and what you could have) so we ended up going to the ihop just down the road. If I am in this part of the world, I'd think of coming back now that I know where it is and how clean and comfortable it is.

Room Tip: The restaurant that is at the entrance can be booked through the hotel. It serves very good food, al...
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitey1953, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Thank you for staying with us on your recent tour of California. I am pleased that you enjoyed your guest room and our convenient location near the Wine Train depot, the Outlet Stores and Downtown Napa. I will welcome the opportunity to host you the next time your travels bring you to the Napa Valley.

Jeff Whitehead
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $242 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing