We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
605
18
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
605
18
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bouchon bakery breakfast basket fire pit each morning napa valley dinner at ad hoc new york times mike smith outdoor fireplace porch swing inside the cottage your doorstep french press peet's coffee thought of everything car service bottle of wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 624 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2019

You arrive to a smiling employee who hands you a glass of cabernet, and welcomes you. Then, she walks you to your cottage to show you the features. And the features! They have thought of everything a traveler might need.

The cottage was truly lovely. The pastries delivered in the morning were such a great touch. The cottage was clean, extremely well appointed and a great location.

We met the owner, Mike. He is frequently on the property and made so much time to make sure we were happy with our stay. He gave us dining recommendations, told us fun things to do, validated our winery choices.

Just a great place. Wonderful.

Room tip: Every cottage feels cozy.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Owner at The Cottages of Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Yes! This is a perfect place to come enjoy time with friends. [well, it's perfect for a honeymoon, too.] The privacy of your own cottage... you can choose how social or how intimate you want to be.

I'm always delighted to hear that you love all the touches from the pastries to our winery and dinner suggestions. And yes, there are wonderful scenic drives and other things to do here besides taste. With over 500 wineries now, we can guarantee to send you to somewhere new and amazing each trip!

I hope that's enough to tempt you back and I get to see you again!

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019

This is a unique, charming hideaway in the heart of the Valley's wineries & best restaurants. The perfection is that this is not a hotel - just 8 wonderfully appointed cottages (to the highest standard) with outstanding facilities...a small fully-functioning kitchen & microwave (thoughtfully stocked with complimentary coffee, cream, butter & juice in the fridge & snacks); a private outside wood fireplace with comfortable seating; a delicious breakfast basket from Bouchon Bakery (including fresh fruit & juice) delivered to your door every morning; free evening service to & from a terrific assortment of local restaurants (a real plus allowing you to enjoy local wines at dinner); free bicycles; & more.
This place way exceeded our expectations at a very reasonable price. The staff are excellent & the owner, Mike, if you are lucky enough to meet him, is a really enjoyable & interesting character.
We will be back & highly recommend this place.

Room tip: The quietest & largest are the Romantic cottages, although all have great outdoor spaces. #4 would be our future choice.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hare88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Owner at The Cottages of Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Stop! You make me blush. Our whole team here pours their hearts into keeping everything up so that you get to enjoy the privacy and intimacy that you discovered. We love the amenities, from the breakfast to the bicycles, and we all feel that this property has a charm that cannot easily be replicated.

I'm so glad you discovered us, and are willing to spread the word.

See you again soon,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2018

There was a lot to like about the cottages of napa valley - you have a private building all to yourself, complete with a personal fire pit outside. The bouchon bakery treats each morning are a nice touch as well.

I do wish the property wasn't so close to the road as road noise is prevalent if you're outside the cottage, but it wasn't too bad. The price also was a bit high, but its napa so everything is expensive and I suppose is to be expected.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank AdamBoston82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Owner at The Cottages of Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2018

Thank you Adam,

I'm glad you liked the fire pit and bouchon treats and the privacy. We care tremendously about your experiences here.

And you are right, most of the lodging in Yountville is near highway 29. Luckily it settles down early. We also planned water features throughout the property to help mask the noise, and what most people don't know is that we also installed sound-proof glass in all the cottages, and it makes a tremendous difference inside!

Hopefully, we'll see you again on your next visit to Napa.

Mike Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

A very special and cute little cottage. Very clean and cozy and romantic. Employees were great and everything that we had planned was there as expected. We had a small fire in the provided fire ring and had a great bottle of wine purchased at the front desk. Employees recommended some local attractions that proved to be great also.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Owner at The Cottages of Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

David!

I'm so happy you found your cottage cozy and clean. We really make an effort to keep them spotless.

We also love to hear that our recommendations worked out well for you and added to your experience here in Napa Valley. And I love seeing couples enjoy a glass of wine by the fire in their patio.

We will do our best to make your every stay as memorable as this last one!

Mike Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018

Amazing for couples, such a romantic and well-thought out plan. The cottages were a great deal of fun, exclusive and clean! Definitely recommend for a weekend away with significant other. The owner, Mike, is a treat!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Owner at The Cottages of Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Dear Meg,

I'm blushing, and I thank you for encouraging couples to come discover and enjoy the romance and relaxation at the cottages. It is truly a special place.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews