We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveler rating
1,057
243
114
56
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,057
243
114
56
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower boon fly hilltop pool harvest cottage hilltop restaurant the cottages boonfly cafe private backyard fire pit heated floors lounge chairs trailer park wine country glass of wine soaking tub napa valley great resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2019

Stayed one night. First time. Had very high expectations given the price per night. First impressions were good, but upon entering our cottage things unwound a bit. Room was small, not like the photos of a room backing up to a nice field.

The traffic noise was VERY loud from the main highway that was nearby. The back patio was filthy and i had to clean the cushions for 20 minutes to get rid of dust and leaves. Our room backed up to a tall building with a bedroom looking down into our patio. Not very private for an outdoor soak in the bathtub. Coffee machine had no instructions and there was little in terms of refreshments in the room. For the price we paid a small half bottle of vino would be a nice touch.

Bottom line I am okay splurging on a high price room from time to time, but this was more on par with something about half the price in my experience. Not sure I would stay again. Pretty let down and left the hotel feeling like I spent way too much for what we got. Had better experience at Calistoga Ranch for this price point.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, Managing Director at Carneros Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Dear Paul D,
I am disappointed to read your review and sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered. I have followed up with our team to ensure the concerns in the cottage are addressed. We offer cottages, suites and homes that vary in size from 400 sq ft to 2,400 sq ft. All of the accommodation options can be found on our website or one of our reservation agents would be happy to walk you through each category with you to help you find accommodations that best fit your needs. We have also placed new cards in the room to better explain how to use the coffee machine. Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience so we are able to utilize your feedback and improve from it. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Ed Costa, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

This property is breathtakingly understated and incredibly luxurious in the same time.
In MHO it’s not a place for families with kids but rather for couples/business retreats.
My suite was amazing. Huge comfortable bedroom with fireplace, enormous bathroom with tub and shower and ........my private backyard with firepit, lounge chairs, outside shower and jacuzzi. (Because one inside is not enough of course)
Quality and attentive service all throughout resort. That infinity pool overlooking vineyards featured on many pictures are even better in real life.
So why not 5 stars you will ask?
It’s because of the price tag...at $700+ price range (plus tax) regardless of the season.
That said I would be delighted to come back here anytime

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank JVDZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, Managing Director at Carneros Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2019

Dear JVDZ7,
I appreciate you taking the time to share such kind comments regarding your recent stay. Our hilltop pool that overlooks rolling vineyards and countryside views is a highlight for many guests and I am pleased you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for your thoughtful feedback about the hospitality you felt from our team throughout the resort. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Ed Costa, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

We had a perfect stay at Carneros from the moment we pulled onto the property to when we left 3 nights later. The property is organized into little neighborhoods in which all guests have their own cottage or house, with a private backyard. When we pulled in, the valet and front desk folks were helpful and accommodating. The personal attention and service is top notch--be sure to try the red wine served at check-in...it's delicious.

The room itself was perfect--equipped with a small seating area, a fireplace, a very comfortable king sized bed and a massive bathroom. Outside we had a private deck and patio complete with an outdoor bathtub. It was completely enclosed to ensure privacy. We loved turning on the fireplace each morning while sipping on an espresso. Everything about the room is perfect---very well thought out and every amenity you could possibly need is available.

The location of Carneros is also ideal. You are situated well to explore both Napa and Sonoma Valleys. If you are further north in Napa, it's much harder to get into Sonoma even though they look quite close on a map. The wines that come out of the carneros region are superb and a welcome change if you've been hitting the heavy cabs all day long.

Shout out to the valet team---they were super nice and gave us fantastic recommendations when we were exploring other towns. As some reviewers mention, it's obviously pricey, but nearly as much as some of the other luxury accommodations in Napa Valley. If you go into this with the idea that you are going to pamper yourself (esp with the new Spa!) for the time that you're there, you will have an incredible trip.

We hope to come back soon. Thanks Carneros for an incredible trip.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LauraSteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, Managing Director at Carneros Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2019

Dear LauraSteiger,
We are thrilled to learn you had such a wonderful experience and were able to relax and enjoy so many different elements of the resort. I am glad you enjoyed the full indoor and outdoor experience of our Harvest Cottages with everything from the outdoor soaking tub to the indoor fireplace. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team and the warm hospitality you received. It was a pleasure to share your feedback with the entire team, with a special thank you to our bell team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Ed Costa, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

Stayed at CRS for 2 nights. Service was 5 star. The cabins are big and comfortable and the outdoor seating area is awesome.
Complimentary soft drinks and WiFi.
Bed is comfy and bathroom is a good size.
The only slight downer was that food at FARM wasn’t what we expected. We had super high hopes, and it was average.
Woukd stsy here again because of its size, service, and location.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank cubsfan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, Managing Director at Carneros Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Dear cubsfan73,
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your experience as well as excellent service from our team. Having a standalone cottage with private outdoor living space is a highlight for many of our guess and I am pleased you enjoyed spending time outdoors. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Ed Costa, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

For the cost, I would say this is definitely not worth it and would look elsewhere My husband and I stayed recently and while we liked things about the property and our experience overall the cost was way too high for the facility and service we received. For example, there were exposed nails in our supposedly recently redone room, the outdoor shower did not work properly, there was a humming electrical box in the closet next to our bed, one pool was closed and we weren't notified at any point in the process until we found a note in our room. I even wrote directly to Carneros and filled out their survey about some of the negatives we experienced and had no response whatsoever. To me, this is indicative of how we felt about the service overall. For the price, you expect things to be flawless and they definitely were not.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montgomery6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, Managing Director at Carneros Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Dear Montgomery6128,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience as your feedback is very helpful. I apologize for the inconsistencies in your room and have reviewed your comments with our engineering department so that we may address them. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Ed Costa, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews