We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Napa Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carneros Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Boerne, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Napa Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful stay at Carneros. Before we arrived we contacted the concierge and told them what we wanted to do. They had everything set up on a schedule and even mapped out for us in our itinerary that they gave us when we checked in. There was even a bottle of champagne from the neigboring winery chilling in our room for a birthday celebration.
The room itself was nice and cozy. The beds are heaven. There's a fireplace, bar w/ stocked mini-fridge and even fresh apples from the orchard that surrounds you. The patio is private w/ plenty of seating and even a heater if you need it. The bathroom is nice w/ a spacious shower w/ lots of shower heads. You can even open a door and shower outside in private if you prefer. The toiletries from Redflower smell so fresh. We even had robes. The property is big but you rarely see or hear anyone. You think you are the only ones there. We dined at the Hilltop around the pool area one nite. The food was excellent. We also had room service for breakfast and it was there fast and hot. It's fun the way they deliver everything in a basket. I just can't say enough about the place. The spa is great ! My husband had a wonderful massage before we left. Everyone we dealt w/ was pleasant and very accomodating. We cannot wait to go back. It was a very peacful place to wind up a long day on the wine trail.

  • Liked — How private it felt.
  • Disliked — You have to remember to turn off the privacy light or the maid will not make up your room.
  • Tips/Secrets — This is a great location if you are planning on doing both Sonoma & Napa
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    198
    93
    44
    26
See reviews for
149
873
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

If you are looking for a hotel that provides unique luxury with a down to earth feel this is the pefect place. We picked carneros mainly because of the individual cabins, the private backyard space, and the modern gagets like heated bathroom tiles, glass enclosed shower with an alfresco option, and the flat screen T.V. We are tired of the same old thing and carneros was something different. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Situated on top of a hill overlooking the valley, the grounds are quiet and beautiful. Every cabin has its own porch to enjoy the views and a sizeable private backyard. The backyard has a patio set and heaters so you can enjoy it at all times. We really enjoyed eating breakfast there. The cabins themselves we thought were beautiful. Loved the size, decor, and of course the bathroom! It really felt private. Also, like the other reviews mentioned ask for a cabin with a side entrance...a much better layout.

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Hilltop restaurant. They surprised us sparkling wine to celebrate our anniversary. The duck was amazing and sitting outside with a view of the city lights was breathtaking. And the pool was amazing as well. Right now they are finishing up construction of new facilities at the front entrance. This will include yet another pool! The construction didn't bother us since it was only in the front, away from the accomodations. Overall it was a great experience and we will go back.

Note: When I was reading the reviews on this place I was incredibly confused because of all the mixed reviews. What I have learned in the past from reading reviews of high-end hotels is that they attract more mixed reviews because those who can afford these hotels tend to be more critical. They expect the best. You should expect more when you pay more but I feel sometimes the demands tend to be excessive. I feel the carneros inn delievered everything we hoped for the amount of money we paid. If you want perfect than you have to pay for perfect and should seek out a place like the Auberge De Soleil which is tremendously more expensive.

  • Liked — The cabin
  • Disliked — Watch out when driving through cabins... lots of fast drivers!
  • Tips/Secrets — Try their website for special rates.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Van12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

your very first impressions might be slightly off-putting. relax. this is a truly wonderful spot. a few people have complained about not being in the dead "middle" of the action. a) who cares? b) you spend a day sipping wine and all you can think about at around 3pm is getting home to this lovely place to decompress. the inn is very close (by car) to most everything.

spare architecturally, with a bathroom the size of my new york apartment, its very elegant and simple. clean lines. well designed. if the cottage thing puts you off a bit at first, let the whole picture sink in and you'll understand, again, how really unique the complex is.

concierge service is good and the maps they have are excellent.

it helps if you do a little homework in advance - read a few things about the area and have an idea what kinds of places you want to see. but once directed, they're very accomodating. don't miss quintessa - beautiful and extremely good wines (but pricey)

breakfast was a 6 out of ten. but had dinner in the cute little cafe down by the road. very good indeed. ate out all other nights so never got to try the fancier place up top, which now i regret.

say hi to the neighborly cows who come up to fence to wish you a good morning (and quietly solicit a few green strands of grass).

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

Fantastic! My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Carneros Inn. The individual cottages are clean, comfortable, and homey- not fstuffy and formal. The bathroom is very large with heated tile floors. Spacious outdoor patio with heater. The bedding was so comfortable- soft sheets, down comforter, and great mattress- the best sleep ever, especially with the cool fresh air coming through the windows. The outdoor shower overlooking the vineyard was heaven. We used it everyday and sometimes twice just for fun! Food was great. Concierge very helpful with winery suggestions and fun to dos. The staff was friendly and accomodating without being annoyingly attentive like at other fine hotels. Highly recommend. Wasn't able to enjoy the spa because it was booked up- kindof a bummer. Location was great- very serene and private setting yet close (20-30 minutes) to Napa and St. Helena. There was major construction going on, but it was in the front and we heard nothing! Weather was perfect- warm sunny days and cool nights. We rented a convertible for our daily trips to the wine country. The only drawback we found was that there isn't a great walking/running path on the property. The grounds are large and luscious, but not conducive to a walk/run. The bedroom is small with limited space for clothes so we lived out of our suitcases.
Overall fantastic trip and would definitely go back!

  • Liked — Scenic views, outdoor shower,
  • Disliked — Notr much storage space for clothes and luggage in room
  • Tips/Secrets — Request a room overlooking the vineyard- more serene and special
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HeartlandTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2006

We found the Carneros Inn perfect for our trip to Wine Country. Although the hotel is undergoing construction, it's all taking place at the entrance to the property and few, if any, of the cottages are nearby. Our cottage was well removed from the construction and we never heard a thing (it's incredibly quiet there otherwise as well). I don't understand reviewers who complained about the cottages being "trailers." Yes, they are designed to look like farm cottages, but they are adorable. And, once you step inside, they are like any beautiful urban hotel you might have stayed in. Gorgeous linens, flat screen tvs, wood-burning fireplace and separate tub and shower with great bath products. My favorite part was the heated slate floor in the bathroom - wish I could bring that one home! The deck and outdoor shower were both wonderful treats - they even had an outdoor heater for when the temperature lowered at night. The cottages felt like a private home yet still offered the amenities of a larger property (restaurant, spa, pool, concierge, etc.) The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The views of the mountains and vineyards from the pool area and restaurant were stunning. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tweets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

It's almost sad this is in such a good wine region, because you'll probably be tempted to forgo the wineries and just stay in your room (cabin). Simply put, this place was done right. No expense was spared. No shortcuts were taken. The bed was coma-inducing. The heated tile floors were, well, heated. The Mojitos at the hilltop bar were the best I've ever had. The room service food was very unlike room service food. The staff seemed to be happy we were there. Best of all, when they say private, they mean private. No one bothers you, and the design makes it such that no one can see into your room, or for that matter, onto your own back yard and patio. Your cabin is your fortress here. I miss you, Carneros Inn.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ReedC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

My party of four just returned from a two-night stay in two "Garden" Cottages at the Carneros Inn, and had a wonderful experience. The construction about which several reviewers have complained is only at the driveway to the resort--not visible from the lobby, the cabins, or anyplace you spend time. (Eventually, it will result in greatly expanded facilities, including a larger gym and, apparently, stores.) There was no construction noise.

The lobby and "Hilltop" grounds are gorgeous, styled after a winery/farmhouse with clean, conteporary accents. The pool has a stunning view of the surrounding hillsides, and--even in 100-degree summer heat--provides an idyllic place to spend an afternoon.

The cabins are gorgeous inside, and are not mobile "trailers" at all but small, self-contained little cabins with fireplaces, four-nozzle indoor showers, plus outdoor showers and private patios (perfect for light dinners and wine-drinking). The heated bathroom floors are particularly nice in the mornings.

By all means, take advantage of both this resort and--in particular--the spectacular concierge staff, who not only got us reservations at the French Laundry (though they say they have no special influence/ability to do so, they nevertheless succeeded) but went to a party store to put fun "Happy Graduation" decorations in my recently-graduated-from-college friend's room. They went above and beyond.

A note on booking: Their availability, in my experience, is not accurately represented on their website. Call before you lose hope of renting the kind of room you want.

  • Liked — Distinctive and beautiful architecture and resort layout; conceirge service; comfortable rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book over the phone; ask the Concierge to make your dinner plans; note, while the gym is small, there are early-morning and relaxing "classes" (a leisurely walk and a pool aerobics class) that will fulfill your fitness needs while you enjoy the scenery.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ashbudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
10.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
3.9 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
16.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneros Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneros Resort and Spa

Property: Carneros Resort and Spa
Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745 (Formerly The Carneros Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carneros Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is Carneros Resort and Spa, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. Carneros Resort and Spa was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 28 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, Carneros Resort and Spa's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carneros Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
Carneros Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing