We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Swank!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carneros Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Swank!”
Reviewed April 17, 2005

It was really great. When you book, ask for a cottage close to the Hilltop restaurant/Lobby. That way, you can walk to the pool. I booked the cottage on their parent website and got a discount over what was on the Inn website.

Once you check in, you have totally privacy. The little cottages are small, but very swank--fireplace (they bring you wood in a burlap bag that you just light), flat screen tv, a private patio with its own "overhead" heater that heats your patio so you can have a drink at night or breakfast in the morning), heated bathroom floors, a shower with multiple jets and an exterior door so you can choose to take a hot shower outdoors. Very, very upscale and most all the guests were in hip in attitude and an affluent 30-40's age group.

The pool setting is spectacular. It overlooks a vineyard--just breathtaking. There are two restaurants--The Hilltop which is for guests only. Service is SLOW! They serve B,L, & D. At the entrance, there's the Boon Fly Cafe. With pretty much the same breakfast menu, the Boon Fly is faster and they serve their signature homemade donuts. I'm still working those off!

The only downsides was their workout facility is under construction and they only have three machines--treadmill, elliptical, & stairmaster. Good quality machines, but not many. The machines are housed in an empty cottage.

The other downside is that once you leave in the morning to go to vineyards, its not like you can pop back in for a quick rest. The Inn is located at the bottom of the valley. It really didn't bother us because we had full winery days planned and then we had an early dinner before returning to the Inn.

As for dinner, Mustards Grill was great as was the Martini House. The Inn recommended La Toque where they have a prix fixed menu w/wine pairings. It was the worst meal we had the entire trip--the food was not fresh at all--and it was one of the more expensive, about $450-500. I would not recommend it!

Make sure you make appointments at your favorite wineries. I was a little concerned that we would get to these small wineries and we would feel pressured to purchase wines that we really didn't like, but that was not the case at all. No pressure at any of them! We went to Swanson, Opus One, Shafer & Far Niente. There were between 8-12 people in each of our groups. Swanso was cool because they served food with their different wines.

It was a great trip and if you get to spend a night or two in San Francisco, it makes for a great trip. We stayed at the Clift there and it, too, was perfect.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank BNATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    215
    100
    46
    31
See reviews for
163
898
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2005

My husband I were very excited to book a weekend trip the Carneros Inn. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. The hotel is comprised entirely of individual bungalows of which NONE actually has a full view of the hilltop vineyard. The rooms tend to face onto each other or little landscaped courtyards. Worse yet, the less expensive views are tiny and are closer to the highway. You can stand outside your bungalow and look out onto a view, but only if you book the top level rooms so don’t be mislead by their website and pay more for a room that doesn’t have a view. From the outside, the individual bungalows are a little stark, the aluminum-corrugated fences can be cold and off-putting, but the rooms are cozy and private inside. The compound feels like an upgraded trailer park with nice landscaping and 400 thread sheets.

When we checked in at 3:30 three very friendly staff greeted us, but our room wasn’t available but we were able to check into another. However, the three couples that arrived after us had to wait for their rooms, which were also unavailable and had to be cleaned. The following day our room wasn’t cleaned until after 4PM which was around the time we returned to relax after a day of wine tasting.

The main area of the hotel is very beautiful and has amazing views and a very nice pool. Which we tried to enjoy over a glass of wine, but unfortunately, the service was horrible, which even in the most Zen landscaping can drive you nuts. It took fifteen minutes to order a drink and other ten for the drinks to arrive. When our friends joined us, there was no sign of the waitress and we had to go in and get her. The next morning when we tried to order two coffees, we were told, “it will be a while.” This is an expensive luxury hotel which was not overbooked, but clearly the staff has is below par.

If your keen on staying at the Carneros Inn keep in mind that it’s a good thirty minutes to the main vineyards in St. Helena and the surrounding area. And it can be longer on the weekends when everybody is touring and drinking. So plan on either hiring a driving or staying sober.

Last tip: If you’re going to stay at the hotel and spa it, be sure to book your treatments well in advance. They were totally booked the entire weekend we were there.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank themikskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 22, 2005

Just returned from a three night stay at The Carneros Inn. It was our second trip to the wine country, but our first to The Carneros Inn. The weather, grounds and service were all wonderful. If we visit this area again we will stay at The Carneros Inn. The food at the Boon Fly was great too. We ate a meal there two times during our stay and ate dessert there at least three times. The Boon Fly Pie is great. The view from the pool and spa area is amazing. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Cailfornia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2005

Just returned from the fabulous Carneros Inn. Everything about this wonderful Inn lives up to their promises. The cottages are a lovely somewhat rustic elegance. Very comfortable beds, terrific bathroom, great patio area and marvelous service. The employees could not be better. They are all so helpful and 100% pleasant regarding any request. I personally think that the Carneros area is a perfect location for seeing all of the Napa region. My husband and I can not wait to go back to The Carneros Inn. A totally fullfilling experience! Just a tip if you go there the Boon Fly Restaurant on the premises is great.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Winmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2005

A birthday trip to Napa turned out to be a magical experience for my family. We were celebrating my daughter's 21st birthday and gave this very special place a try. We enjoyed every moment and amenity of this hotel. It has a style unlike any other we have been to. The concierge was extremely helpful in setting up some experiences for us that we will never forget. She suggested a wine tasting appointment at Swanson Winery that was nothing short of amazing. It had a great atmosphere, nice tasting experience complete with cheese, crackers, and chocolates making a great 21st celebration. It was raining the whole weekend and we loved running into our cottages to warm up near the fireplace and sleep in the luxurious beds. Loved the showers and heated bathroom floors. We can't wait to return this summer during warmer weather to enjoy the pool near the vineyards!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank californiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2005

If you have some extra cash to burn or if you make a good buck, definitely check into this place. The only thing I was worried about before checking in was whether the staff would be pretentious, which is a huge turn off. They weren't at all, but rather were extremely friendly and bent over backwards to try to do whatever they could to make our stay the best possible. While we didn't get upgraded to the Lee Suite like one reviewer (that would have been a definite plus), we had a "hamburger" garden cottage in the interior. Hamburger means that the door is in the middle; hotdog means that the door is on the end. That should pretty much sum up that while the place is extremely nice, there is no attitude whatsoever.

The only negative about the cottage was the nonexistant view. It would have been nice to have one of the vineyard views, but whatever, the cottage itself was great. One reviewer said that if he hadn't have been upgraded to the suite, he would have felt cramped. Wow. You must stay in some huge hotel rooms when you travel. I guess if you expect the cottage to have a living area other than the outside deck and garden, you may be dissapointed, but the cottage isn't lacking in size by any means.

The bathroom is fantastic, and the shower is by far my favorite shower ever. It has four showerheads that are all adjustable and you can open the door that leads to the "al fresco" shower outside. If you open the door 90 degrees, it locks into the al fresco shower to create about a 12-15 foot shower stall, half inside and half outside. Pretty sweet. I think I took the longest shower of my life.

The plasma TV w/ DVD and VCR were also great, and the fireplace was a nice touch, though the "firewood" (it's not real wood, but rather a pile of firestarter logs I think) only lasted for about 15 minutes before it went out. We might have done something wrong, I don't know.

The staff are fantastic...really, really friendly and also very knowledgeable of the surrounding wineries. I would recommend taking a trip up to Alexander Valley and the Russian River areas of Sonoma. Also, if it's a nice day out, the view from the Artesa winery is amazing, and that winery is also only a couple of miles from the inn.

It's a great place to stay, and I definitely look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank FLcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2005

We stayed at the Carneros Inn for one night only. We had an inside garden cottage without a view and it was simply lovely. Despite the lack of a view, we had a very spacious back yard that was private and lovely. They have done a beautiful job landscaping and it is clear that the spring bloom will be quite spectacular. The outdoor shower in the rain was the highlight. Samantha graciously called us with a cancellation and we were able to dine at the Hilltop restaurant despite the fact that we had not made prior reservations. It was every bit as good as any of the more reknowned choices in Napa, Yountville, Sonoma or St. Helena. It was very nice to be able to walk to the restaurant under the stars and to avoid further driving. The food was excellent and the service was gracious and attentive. The hotel and restaurant have a very contemporaryand graceful feel. The public areas as well as the cottages are contemporary without being starkly modern or coldly unwelcoming. There was clearly much thought placed on layout, gardening, and interior design. I thought the privacy countered the fenced-in feeling that some readers have commented upon. We enjoyed our visit and thought it was well worth the price. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank prospectivetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.9 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,011 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
16.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,057 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
24.4 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneros Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneros Resort and Spa

Property: Carneros Resort and Spa
Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745 (Formerly The Carneros Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carneros Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is Carneros Resort and Spa, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. Carneros Resort and Spa was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 28 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, Carneros Resort and Spa's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carneros Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
Carneros Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing