We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay! Too bad I was not there long enough to enjoy the entire resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carneros Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
NY Metro Area
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great stay! Too bad I was not there long enough to enjoy the entire resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is great as we were looking for luxury while celebrating our 1 year anniversary in the Napa Valley. The private cottages with indoor/outdoor fireplaces and showers were very relaxing after touring the wineries. The beds and pillows were VERY comfortable. It was probably the best sleeping I had during the trip. Another nice touch is the heated tile floors in the bathrooms.

One thing to note is that the resort is a good 20 minutes away from Yountville and 30 minutes away from St. Helena. Keep this in mind when making dining and/or winery reservations, especially during the ongoing construction on CA 29, St. Helena Highway.

Breakfast at the Boon Fly Café was very good but very expensive. Go off your diet and try the doughnuts and the outstanding hash browns.

My one problem was we were only there 3 days as part of a larger Bay Area vacation, so we did not have a chance to really sit back and enjoy the resort facilities. The spa and pools looked amazing. Next time we will allow more time.

Room Tip: Book though Whatahotel.com so you get a spa credit, a $40 breakfast allowance and a room upgrade if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWHerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    198
    93
    44
    26
See reviews for
149
873
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is one of my all time favourite places to stay - this was our fourth visit in 10 years. The property does not look like much from the road, but inside it comprises a small estate of separate cottages, each with a patio, garden and outdoor shower. The Hilltop swimming pool is for adults, and is a beautiful quiet spot to swim in a warm pool and relax with great service from the pool staff. There is a separate pool for families with small children.

Both restaurants are excellent: Farm for a swanky meal and the Boon Fly Cafe for a more informal style. There is a cafe and store for basic groceries and sandwiches, and the bar is also a nice spot for a drink.

The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and spotless. Twice daily maid service. Good quality wi-fi and bottled water included free of charge.

Service was excellent, our every request was dealt with attentively and as return visitors we felt most welcome.

All told a wonderful base to explore the nearby wineries and fine restaurants of Napa and Sonoma.

Room Tip: Rooms set further back from the busy highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymro29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Carneros Inn is a little slice of heaven. Everything is exceptional - the cottages, the restaurants, the grounds, and most especially the staff. Everyone was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable. This place understands what hospitality actually is and what it means to people. We will never look to stay anywhere else when we are out there.

Restaurants:
Farm is great - wonderful, fresh, local ingredients and a great atmosphere for a romantic dinner after a day of tastings.
Boon Fly Cafe: AWESOME. The best staff anywhere in Napa. We had breakfast there - at the same little table in the corner - all but one morning and everything we tried was amazing. I hate dougnuts (so I thought) and I literally dream about their made-to-order doughnuts. Every day.
The Cafe/Shop: Great options for a picnic lunch at a vineyard...good sandwiches, great cheeses, and a really nice selection of wine (Hartwell - yes) and local artisan products.

Cottages:
Perfect. We were in a one-bedroom and it was a great layout with lovely outdoor spaces, including a patio area, front porch with rockers, and an al fresco shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Carneros Inn in March 2013 for our first visit to Napa.

After reading reviews, we had requested a cottage up by the hill top as this was noted to be more quiet. We got Peck #8 which is in the perfect location and also has their largest outdoor space.

The cottage was amazing and we were so happy that we paid a little more - the different style of accommodations offered at the Carneros were a big draw as we wanted to do something more than a standard hotel room. Since we were getting a cottage, we figured why not go all out.

Best features - outdoor gas fired fire pit, outdoor shower, outdoor soaking tub, indoor shower with multiple shower heads (and door to outdoor shower), heated bathroom floor, outdoor cabana chairs with overhead heat lamp. Since we were there in March, it was cool at night and we really enjoyed a blanket by the fire pit at night.

Food - we ate at the Farm once (great meal, expensive, but great), the Boon Fly Cafe once (good meal, less extensive menu), and had breakfast twice at the Hilltop (amazing breakfast, expensive but worth it for the views).

Property - very well manicured and nice to walk around. I did have trouble finding the gym though! We borrowed bicycles and took them on some local roads which was a highlight of our trip. We had bought a small bottle of champagne and planned a late night dip in the pool/jacuzzi but it rained pretty hard that night and we never got the chance. The Market was a nice feature - lots of fresh food offerings plus snacks, etc. My wife went to the spa and really enjoyed it.

Service - top notch. We were treated very well and were also set up with some great excursions (balloon ride, wine tour).

Location - I was hesitant at first given that I had read reviews that hotels south of Napa would be "too far". I didn't find this to be the case at all. We did not drive all the way up the highway to some of the more northern wineries, so maybe that would have been a problem. It was a 5 minute drive to Napa, so really no different than staying in Napa.

Complaints - none. I had read that the corrugated metal roof might be noisy when it rained. It rained most nights and I didn't notice (I am a somewhat light sleeper).

All in, a great place to stay and we'll certainly stay there again next time we are out to Napa.

Room Tip: I read reviews saying to go for locations near the hilltop - we did. Peck #8 also apparently has th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimboski93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

You arrive at guest reception, immediately offered a glass of wine. The staff are very courteous and helpful. We booked a small bungalow with 2 bedrooms, a fully functioning kitchen, a fridge stock full of drinks, a laundry and all the modern conveniences.
The Inn has great fitness gym, pool, restaurant and a nice market. Once you have arrived, you can happily stay on the grounds.
We tried the Boon Fly restaurant, a nice, casual dining place within easy walking distance from the inn. Food was very nice, service was excellent.
Each day, they delivered fresh bakery and orange juice at our bungalow. Nice touch!
I would go back again.

Room Tip: Definitely family living, go for one of their bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thirawit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Napa in january and loved our stay at the Carneros. It's a little off the beaten path and a lot of the vineyards we went to were a little bit of a drive (30 mins) but we both agreed that it was worth the drive. Because we went in the off season, we practically had the place to ourselves. The cottage was adorable, and we loved the outdoor space--the tub was amazing. Some people complain that the cottages are small, which they are, but we loved the cozy feel. Our only complaint was that the fireplace was in a really weird location and made it slightly (only slightly) less enjoyable. We at at the Hilltop restaurant for lunch and were literally the only people in the entire place. We had breakfast at the Boon Fly one morning, and would have gladly eaten there more but it was closed for renovations. Instead we had breakfast at the market twice and ate off the property the rest of the week. We ate at Farm twice and really enjoyed the food. I would recommend the tasting menu with the premium wine pairing. It's a serious splurge, but we loved it. The staff was very helpful and we found the sommelier at Farm to be extremely knowledgable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

For my husbands 35th birthday, i decided to treat him to a 3 night stay at the Carneros Inn since the photos looked lovely, open spaced and homey. I was hoping to have the experience of openess and space that you get when you look at the photos on the website and at least some personalized "we are important guests" treatment since this was such a special trip..but this was to no avail. They did not do anything special for us. I had booked and prepaid way in advance and i had requested a nice room facing the vineyard or at least a nice view. We were given a cottage between two cottages, no view and no upgrade because they were full. The room was terribly small we had a hard time fitting our luggage inside. We could even hear our neighbors voices. In all our stays in Napa we look forward to sitting together by the fireplace..in this case the fireplace only had one chair-- so we had to get the rocking chair on the porch and bring it into the room which even left little space to move. Our reservation said that we got complementary breakfast -- however we were informed we only got a $40 a day credit and if we spent more than that we would have to pay for it. (most of their meals are above $20 per head so of course we had to pay part of our breakfast) The Hilltop dining room which is what we thought we could have breakfast here or dinner everyday was actually only opened on wednesday so we could not even eat here for the first 2 days of our stay - and breakfast here was even more expensive than the Boon Fly Cafe even if it was the same menu. (i guess you pay more for the view) The bathroom fixtures need to be updated as our shower head was sort of clogged that water was not coming out straight and strong instead it was in all directions and both a mixture of hot and cold water --never steady hot. For a luxury property to have bathroom amenities that you get charged if you bring home for me makes it look like its penny pinching than giving the customer a luxurious stay. Also it took them a long time to clean the rooms, usually in five star hotels the rooms are cleaned before 12 noon with this one not so. The one good thing was the flapjacks at the Boon Fly was delicious. The location is also ideal if you will be swinging between napa and sonoma. All in all, we still prefer the other hotels we have stayed at in Napa..this one was pretty much a let down especially since we paid top dollar and it was a very special trip.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a vineyard view or your better off somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DharmaHMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
10.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
3.9 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
16.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneros Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneros Resort and Spa

Property: Carneros Resort and Spa
Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745 (Formerly The Carneros Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carneros Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is Carneros Resort and Spa, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. Carneros Resort and Spa was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 28 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, Carneros Resort and Spa's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carneros Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
Carneros Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing