We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The complete Napa experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carneros Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

You arrive at guest reception, immediately offered a glass of wine. The staff are very courteous and helpful. We booked a small bungalow with 2 bedrooms, a fully functioning kitchen, a fridge stock full of drinks, a laundry and all the modern conveniences.
The Inn has great fitness gym, pool, restaurant and a nice market. Once you have arrived, you can happily stay on the grounds.
We tried the Boon Fly restaurant, a nice, casual dining place within easy walking distance from the inn. Food was very nice, service was excellent.
Each day, they delivered fresh bakery and orange juice at our bungalow. Nice touch!
I would go back again.

Room Tip: Definitely family living, go for one of their bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirawit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Napa in january and loved our stay at the Carneros. It's a little off the beaten path and a lot of the vineyards we went to were a little bit of a drive (30 mins) but we both agreed that it was worth the drive. Because we went in the off season, we practically had the place to ourselves. The cottage was adorable, and we loved the outdoor space--the tub was amazing. Some people complain that the cottages are small, which they are, but we loved the cozy feel. Our only complaint was that the fireplace was in a really weird location and made it slightly (only slightly) less enjoyable. We at at the Hilltop restaurant for lunch and were literally the only people in the entire place. We had breakfast at the Boon Fly one morning, and would have gladly eaten there more but it was closed for renovations. Instead we had breakfast at the market twice and ate off the property the rest of the week. We ate at Farm twice and really enjoyed the food. I would recommend the tasting menu with the premium wine pairing. It's a serious splurge, but we loved it. The staff was very helpful and we found the sommelier at Farm to be extremely knowledgable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

For my husbands 35th birthday, i decided to treat him to a 3 night stay at the Carneros Inn since the photos looked lovely, open spaced and homey. I was hoping to have the experience of openess and space that you get when you look at the photos on the website and at least some personalized "we are important guests" treatment since this was such a special trip..but this was to no avail. They did not do anything special for us. I had booked and prepaid way in advance and i had requested a nice room facing the vineyard or at least a nice view. We were given a cottage between two cottages, no view and no upgrade because they were full. The room was terribly small we had a hard time fitting our luggage inside. We could even hear our neighbors voices. In all our stays in Napa we look forward to sitting together by the fireplace..in this case the fireplace only had one chair-- so we had to get the rocking chair on the porch and bring it into the room which even left little space to move. Our reservation said that we got complementary breakfast -- however we were informed we only got a $40 a day credit and if we spent more than that we would have to pay for it. (most of their meals are above $20 per head so of course we had to pay part of our breakfast) The Hilltop dining room which is what we thought we could have breakfast here or dinner everyday was actually only opened on wednesday so we could not even eat here for the first 2 days of our stay - and breakfast here was even more expensive than the Boon Fly Cafe even if it was the same menu. (i guess you pay more for the view) The bathroom fixtures need to be updated as our shower head was sort of clogged that water was not coming out straight and strong instead it was in all directions and both a mixture of hot and cold water --never steady hot. For a luxury property to have bathroom amenities that you get charged if you bring home for me makes it look like its penny pinching than giving the customer a luxurious stay. Also it took them a long time to clean the rooms, usually in five star hotels the rooms are cleaned before 12 noon with this one not so. The one good thing was the flapjacks at the Boon Fly was delicious. The location is also ideal if you will be swinging between napa and sonoma. All in all, we still prefer the other hotels we have stayed at in Napa..this one was pretty much a let down especially since we paid top dollar and it was a very special trip.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a vineyard view or your better off somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DharmaHMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Carneros Inn in a vineyard view cottage. Our experience was mixed.

Setting: The property is lovely, if somewhat overly "planned." I'm glad we selected (and paid for) a vineyard view which made the outdoor space very pleasant. The cottage itself was pretty - smallish bedroom with a huge bathroom and outdoor shower. We used the gym which was nice, the pool (too many leaves and bugs for my taste!) and ate at Boon Fly Cafe which was good. Room service was also good, reasonable prices, good food and service, and it was nice to dine privately on our patio.

However, I agree with other reviewers that the service is just not on par with other hotels at this price point. Office staff and management seem too casual and cavalier about making guests happy. Couple issues that came up - we arrived a few hours before official check in, and were told our room was currently being cleaned and would be ready momentarily - causing us to wait around, only to be told later they had no idea when it would be ready but would call us soon - which they didn't. The issue isn't that the room wasn't ready early, it was the miscommunication/lack of communication about it.

What stood out though was the following day, we left our cottage before 9 am and upon returning around 1 or 2 pm, the cottage had not been cleaned. Rather than apologize when we called to ask for service, instead we were told that "their policy" is to clean rooms until 5 pm. Really? That seems unacceptable at this pricepoint, and the response should have immediately been - we're so sorry, when can we do it that would be convenient...

These were not huge issues, and we had a really nice stay, but when rooms start at $500, we expect a higher level of service. (and would have been really disappointed if our cottage didn't have a view, so plan accordingly.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were a little reluctant to book this property due to the location just east of Napa, and away from most of the wineries and restaurants in The Valley. The quiet pastural setting turned out to be a nice surprise. The property is large and peaceful. We stayed in a Cottage that was roomy, quiet, and well equipped for a relaxing stay. No, the outside shower is NOT overrated. It is cleverly connected to the indoor shower by a glass door. The water pressure was amazing from the overhead "rain" shower head. Our favorite feature was the heated stone floor in the very large bathroom. The patio was roomy, completely private, and equipped with chaise lounges; table and 4 chairs; and overhead heater. The Cottage had a homey fireplace, and comfortable bed. The pool and jacuzzi, on the hillside location, were beautiful and looked out over vineyards, pastures, mountains and hills. We took advantage of the complimentary bicycles on the property and took a nice ride through the hilly countryside dotted with many nearby well know wineries. We followed this with an excellent massage at The Spa. One of the best I have had anywhere. Breakfast poolside was pricey (but hey, this is Napa Valley and nothing is cheap) but very good, and the setting was gorgeous. Service overall was very good. As far as the location is concerned, we took 10 minute cab rides into Yountville for dinner. Local law enforcement is always on the lookout for impaired drivers, so cabbing it makes the location irrelevant. I highly recommend this property for a relaxing romantic getaway. Oh, the fact that it is a short drive to some of the best wine tasting and dining on earth doesn't hurt either.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just spent the most magical time at the Carneros Inn in Napa Valley. Our cottage was well appointed, clean, filled with light and wonderful touches (lavender salts by the tub, high end toiletries, delightful chocolates at turndown!) The bathroom was ample, and designed for utter luxury, including an outdoor shower--not to mention the privacy patio it is in. The inn grounds are spectacular, culminating in my little piece of paradise--at the top of the hill is a fabulous swimming pool and infinity hot tub (16 and older) with a magical vista of meadows filled with a variety of birds, vineyards and in the backdrop the hills...a sunrise scenario of utmost serenity!
The staff was friendly and helpful and the food spectacular. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeisshortLiveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just arrived home from a 3 night stay. This resort was amazing! We stayed in a Cottage. I have never stayed at such a peacefull and quiet resort! The rooms are beautifully maintaned, beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are large with an outdoor shower and soaking tub. There is a large outdoor area with a table for in cottage dinning. The reasturants are all good! This resort has thought of everythnig. The pool is amazing the view is just beautiful. The one and only complaint we have is the rooms could use like a Nesspresso or Keurig for coffe and tea in the morning. Stay here and you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.9 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,083 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
10.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,078 reviews
4.9 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneros Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneros Resort and Spa

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745 (Formerly The Carneros Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $599 - $1,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carneros Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is Carneros Resort and Spa, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. Carneros Resort and Spa was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 28 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, Carneros Resort and Spa's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carneros Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
Carneros Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing