We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property great, service lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carneros Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Carneros Inn in a vineyard view cottage. Our experience was mixed.

Setting: The property is lovely, if somewhat overly "planned." I'm glad we selected (and paid for) a vineyard view which made the outdoor space very pleasant. The cottage itself was pretty - smallish bedroom with a huge bathroom and outdoor shower. We used the gym which was nice, the pool (too many leaves and bugs for my taste!) and ate at Boon Fly Cafe which was good. Room service was also good, reasonable prices, good food and service, and it was nice to dine privately on our patio.

However, I agree with other reviewers that the service is just not on par with other hotels at this price point. Office staff and management seem too casual and cavalier about making guests happy. Couple issues that came up - we arrived a few hours before official check in, and were told our room was currently being cleaned and would be ready momentarily - causing us to wait around, only to be told later they had no idea when it would be ready but would call us soon - which they didn't. The issue isn't that the room wasn't ready early, it was the miscommunication/lack of communication about it.

What stood out though was the following day, we left our cottage before 9 am and upon returning around 1 or 2 pm, the cottage had not been cleaned. Rather than apologize when we called to ask for service, instead we were told that "their policy" is to clean rooms until 5 pm. Really? That seems unacceptable at this pricepoint, and the response should have immediately been - we're so sorry, when can we do it that would be convenient...

These were not huge issues, and we had a really nice stay, but when rooms start at $500, we expect a higher level of service. (and would have been really disappointed if our cottage didn't have a view, so plan accordingly.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for Carneros Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were a little reluctant to book this property due to the location just east of Napa, and away from most of the wineries and restaurants in The Valley. The quiet pastural setting turned out to be a nice surprise. The property is large and peaceful. We stayed in a Cottage that was roomy, quiet, and well equipped for a relaxing stay. No, the outside shower is NOT overrated. It is cleverly connected to the indoor shower by a glass door. The water pressure was amazing from the overhead "rain" shower head. Our favorite feature was the heated stone floor in the very large bathroom. The patio was roomy, completely private, and equipped with chaise lounges; table and 4 chairs; and overhead heater. The Cottage had a homey fireplace, and comfortable bed. The pool and jacuzzi, on the hillside location, were beautiful and looked out over vineyards, pastures, mountains and hills. We took advantage of the complimentary bicycles on the property and took a nice ride through the hilly countryside dotted with many nearby well know wineries. We followed this with an excellent massage at The Spa. One of the best I have had anywhere. Breakfast poolside was pricey (but hey, this is Napa Valley and nothing is cheap) but very good, and the setting was gorgeous. Service overall was very good. As far as the location is concerned, we took 10 minute cab rides into Yountville for dinner. Local law enforcement is always on the lookout for impaired drivers, so cabbing it makes the location irrelevant. I highly recommend this property for a relaxing romantic getaway. Oh, the fact that it is a short drive to some of the best wine tasting and dining on earth doesn't hurt either.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just spent the most magical time at the Carneros Inn in Napa Valley. Our cottage was well appointed, clean, filled with light and wonderful touches (lavender salts by the tub, high end toiletries, delightful chocolates at turndown!) The bathroom was ample, and designed for utter luxury, including an outdoor shower--not to mention the privacy patio it is in. The inn grounds are spectacular, culminating in my little piece of paradise--at the top of the hill is a fabulous swimming pool and infinity hot tub (16 and older) with a magical vista of meadows filled with a variety of birds, vineyards and in the backdrop the hills...a sunrise scenario of utmost serenity!
The staff was friendly and helpful and the food spectacular. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeisshortLiveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just arrived home from a 3 night stay. This resort was amazing! We stayed in a Cottage. I have never stayed at such a peacefull and quiet resort! The rooms are beautifully maintaned, beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are large with an outdoor shower and soaking tub. There is a large outdoor area with a table for in cottage dinning. The reasturants are all good! This resort has thought of everythnig. The pool is amazing the view is just beautiful. The one and only complaint we have is the rooms could use like a Nesspresso or Keurig for coffe and tea in the morning. Stay here and you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

From other reviews we had the impression that this was a "small, quaint inn". In reality it is a large property with a lot of small "cottage-style" rooms which made us think of a trailer park. It lacks soul and character. Our room was well appointed (although the "big deal" made about the outside shower, which resembles a corrugated metal outhouse, seemed too much of a gimmick. The bath room, with a heated slate floor was large and very clean but we had hot water flowing out of all of the faucets and also filling the water tank of the toilet so they obviously have some plumbing problems to solve.

The Farm bar and restaurant served a good (breakfast) and the wait-staff was excellent. There is an attractive store/deli on the property too.

We were someone else's guests for one night so I cannot complain about the price of the rooms since I didn't pay....BUT, if you are paying for this yourself, there are many much nicer and not pricier inns in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you are nowhere near the highway.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We love wine and were happy to find this beautiful little Inn in the middle of nowhere, close to sonoma. It is on a gorgeous farm property, on wheels!, with beautiful views of the vineyards and bush. The restaurants are so quaint and cute. The Boon Fly Cafe is sooooo cute inside, and their food is really, really yummy. I love their french fries!!! The Farm restaurant is more upscale and very romantic. Very contemporary and modern in design. Again, the food was delicious and wine list is amazing!!!!! After reading everyone else's reviews, though, I just wish we tried the spa!!! What were we thinking???
We loved it here and hope we come back soon!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealityCheck837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I travel to Napa every month to visit our favorite wineries and to pick up our wines. We know the area well and we like this property since we've dined at Farm a few times. On our anniversary, we decided to stay here and have a relaxing weekend of wine tasting and spa treatments.

Our room was one of the cottages. It was very quiet, spacious, modern, and beautifully decorated. We checked in, opened a bottle of champagne, and enjoyed it on our front porch. It was so peaceful and the weather was just perfect. The fireplace was a nice touch to the cottage. It wasn't cold at all but we made a fire anyway because it was so romantic. Then we walked to Farm and had a nice dinner--tasting menu with wine pairing. The food was fresh and good, but for the price that we paid for we were expecting it to be a little more jazzed up. We left full but not fully satisfied.

The next day we had breakfast by the pool overlooking the breathtaking vineyards. We biked around the property, went wine tasting near by, and checked into the spa at the end of the day. I must say, the spa was the highlight of our trip! It was the best spa I had ever been too. We had an amazing couples massage and got rubbed with grape seed oils. It was a heavenly experience!

Overall, we had a nice stay. However, I was highly disappointed with their management team. As soon as we checked out, we realized that we had left our brand new computer in our cottage. I called the hotel right away and they confirmed that they had our computer. When I went to pick it up a couple days later, our computer mysteriously disappeared from their locker and was no where to be found. The hotel reimbursed us for a new computer but there were documents on our computer that we could not recover. My husband and I wanted to stay here again but this incident did not settle well with us despite all the positive experiences we had during our stay.

Carneros Inn is one of the most luxurious place to stay in the wine country. Security is #1 on our list when we travel. Things should not go missing and this is why I gave them an average rating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoodLovers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.9 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,045 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,323 reviews
16.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
24.4 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneros Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneros Resort and Spa

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745 (Formerly The Carneros Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $627 - $1,676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carneros Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is Carneros Resort and Spa, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. Carneros Resort and Spa was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 28 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, Carneros Resort and Spa's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carneros Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
Carneros Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing