We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny, Can't Wait to Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carneros Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny, Can't Wait to Return!”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed 4 days at the Carneros, Inn; having just returned last night, I'm already dreaming about when we can head back to the property. Although it was just the two of us this trip, it is a property that easily accommodates adult-only and family trips alike, and next time, we plan to bring the little one after seeing how family friendly it is without being overrun by kids. In fact, it wasn't over run by anybody - which is the beauty of the layout of the property itself.
Before I go any further, I'm going to state the obvious: it is expensive, but we all know that prior to booking, and in relation to some of the other luxury properties in the area, it is reasonable; we found it to be absolutely worth the investment, especially after taking advantage of the discount since we booked 3 nights mid-week. We stayed in a King premier garden cottage, complete with front porch and rocking chairs, fireplace, spacious and totally private side yard, indoor-outdoor shower (this was way too much fun, I loved this feature, as did other guests - walking around you could recognize the water falling in the backyard and the delighted chatter) and heated bathroom floors (even in August, the chilly evenings lent themselves to use this feature, as well as the outdoor patio heater and fireplace.) The decor of the cottages was Restoration Hardware meets a Montauk bungalow. I absolutely adored it, and as a girl who is very picky about hotel bathrooms, this one knocked it out of the park. Clean, spacious, light, beautiful. Service was attentive at the adult pool without being annoying, the food was delicious, and the views throughout the property - but especially from the Hilltop pool and sitting areas - were FABULOUS. It was actually hard to leave the property to go wine tasting, and we spent much more time on site, (enjoying our garden and the heat lamp) that we originally expected to - which was a welcome change from our fast paced lives, and satisfied the true reason for this trip - lots of R & R. The grounds are beautiful, immaculate, and spacious - kudos to the landscape architect and maintenance team- there is plenty of quiet privacy, the perfect spot for a get away without the pomp and pretense of a typical luxury resort. The food at Farm was delicious, we dined on Sunday night - I highly recommend the lobster risotto and Diver scallops. Fantastic. And if Farm is closed when you are there, there is always food available, and it's always delicious. We had zero complaints about the restaurant schedules, although I did notice from some other reviewers that this was an issue for them. I simply recommend noting the different restaurant schedules and plan accordingly. We made use of the bikes, the gym, bocce, admired the cows, and appreciated self-parking and access to Market and a post office on site. Overall, an absolutely wonderful, memorable 4 days and we cannot wait to return next year. Truly, I found my happy place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CourtneySC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    214
    100
    46
    31
See reviews for
161
898
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Carneros Inn August 5-7 for the second time (our first stay was about 3 years ago). The staff upgraded our room to a heritage cottage and sent a fruit and cheese plate to welcome us back. The room was gorgeous and very private. One small issue - it was difficult to regulate the water temperature in the shower. The staff also gave us tickets to a complimentary wine tasting at the Vintners Collective in Napa, which was a lot of fun. We ate dinner at The Farm (good, but with a limited menu) and breakfast at the market was inexpensive and delicious.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a heritage cottage - the layout is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 853kathrynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

rooms are interesting all rooms come with private terrace, and outdoor showers. staff is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary at the end of June. First the one and only complaint I have about the hotel is that they didn't acknowledge our anniversary. Not that I'm expecting an upgrade and a bottle of champagne, but we are in wine country, how about a glass of wine? A note maybe?
Other then that tiny thing the hotel made up for it with everything else and there was no need to find fault. The reviews speak for themselves. This hotel is fantastic. The concern I had going into the trip was if the hotel was in a good location having not been to the area before and I was uncertain if the location was what we wanted. We originally looked at hotels in Calastoga, and we were really happy we didn't end up there as it was a bit out of the way at the way top of Napa. We were also concerned that the Carneros would be too far from the restaurants in Yountville and we would spend too much time driving, however it was only a 15 minute drive. Here's the short of it, if you stay at the Carneros, you have this breathtaking property and facility that you won't find in Yountville. Words cannot describe it, and the trade off is the 15 minute drive to Yountville. If you stay in Yountville, your in this quaint little town where you can easily walk around but you miss the expansiveness and sheer beauty of the countryside. Which matters more? Next time, maybe will try Yountville, but you won't find any fault with the Carneros, we were in heaven. A truly amazing hotel, if you are looking for the best you won't b disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiladelphiaMom2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA 98121
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We decided to book a last-minute trip down to Napa to soak up some sun (a commodity missing in Seattle), drink some wine and generally decompress. I stumbled on The Carneros Inn’s web site. I wanted an experience similar to Meadowood, but not at the now-astronomical prices they charge. Carneros seemed to have the same vibe, so we took a flier. It was a great decision.

If you’ve read my reviews before, I have high – perhaps impossibly high – standards for hotels. Don’t get me wrong – it isn’t about price. I’ve stayed and crowed about $80 Courtyard by Marriott hotels that stand and deliver what they promise, and screamed like a scalded cat about high-end resorts that just go through the motions. Carneros was such a perfect experience; I may include them in my hotel hall of fame. They succeeded at meeting and exceeding all our expectations.

First, the grounds are lovely. The property apparently was built on the site of an old mobile-home lot. The construction is tasteful, in keeping with the landscape, and built with an eye to sustainability. When we arrived, the front desk crew and concierge staff was unhurried, helpful and seemingly truly interested in making sure we enjoyed our stay. They showed us the grounds then directed us to our a very well-appointed free-standing bungalow with ample interior room, a private patio and outdoor shower. We immediately headed over for the adult-only pool, where the staff there took excellent care of us while we let the sun burn away the mold from our soggy Northwest bodies. The pool had a little road noise interrupting the tranquility, but had big views and was a grand feature.

The food in the informal dining room was great – breakfast especially. Again, the staff there went above and beyond, doing as far as to dig through the lost and found to loan my wife a pair of sunglasses when decided to dine outside and the sun was affecting our Pacific NW mole-like light sensitivity. The formal dining was a bit of a disappointment – the executive chef tried – unsuccessfully – to convince us that the farm-raised Atlantic salmon was far superior to the wild stuff we consider table-stakes in Seattle. We tried not to openly giggle as he made his case, but we failed.

The little things, here, stood out. For example, lightning-fast wireless throughout, and no ridiculous up-charge for access; when I asked if there were papers for sale other than the free, daily Oakland Chronicle, the immediately offered to have the NYT and WSJ delivered daily; expert housekeeping that didn’t miss anything in the two-times-daily cleaning. We also took a couple of yoga classes in the fitness center - top notch instructors and a great vibe there as well.

So, if the management of the Plumpjack Resorts are reading this, know you’ve got a great crew and a great property. My only fear is that if we visit again, it will be hard to approach perfection, which you did this time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpinRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Carneros Inn is a great place to stay. We were served wine during the check-in process which was a nice touch after a long drive. One of the Bellman had us follow him while he was driving a golf cart. He took us to our cottage and WOW!! He spent time showing us all of the amenities and how to use the fire pit and high tech features.

We booked into the Harvest Cottage and I highly recommend upgrading to this cottage. The back wall of the sleeping area is french doors that overlook the backyard. Each cottage is individual so you aren't attached to anyone else giving a very private and secluded feel to the resort. The bathroom is quite large with tile floors that are heated, so no cold feet in the morning. The indoor shower has a door on the backside that leads to an outdoor shower, so cool!

The backyard was perfect. Stepping out onto the deck we had 2 lounge chairs with an overhead heater for the chilly mornings or nights. Stepping down a few steps we had a nice patio table, outdoor soaking tub, water feature and a sofa with a fire pit. We sat out every night by the fire pit enjoying our favorite wine from the days tastings.

I really can't wait to go back, there is not one negative about the resort, our stay was amazing and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant, SC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here with 3 other couples for the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon, July 16-19. The resort is lovely, the rooms great, the pool service was also very good. However, we like to use the Concierge at hotels for transportation, reservations or special events. Here, that just wasn't a good option. For $600/n we thought a courtesy car to drive us to the start line could have been arranged. Instead we could call a cab or walk (1.3 miles) before our 13.1 mile race. When they did call us a cab, it took several calls to get them to arrange the cabs and they only allow cabs to pick up at the front desk, not convenient since the rooms are a five minute walk from there. For appointments at wineries, they just said "they're full." Did you call? "No, we just know." This would be fine for a less expensive property, but we were disappointed at this price point.

The spa was fine, but not over the top or particularly nice. The resort shop had lovely options as did the spa store.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbernard1sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.9 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
2,007 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,312 reviews
16.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,055 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
24.4 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneros Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneros Resort and Spa

Property: Carneros Resort and Spa
Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745 (Formerly The Carneros Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carneros Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is Carneros Resort and Spa, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. Carneros Resort and Spa was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 28 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, Carneros Resort and Spa's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Carneros Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
Carneros Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing