We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a rough diamond? Carneros Inn vs Solage” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carneros Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carneros Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“a rough diamond? Carneros Inn vs Solage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Just returned from a couple of days at the Carneros Inn Napa, Ca.

We chose the Carneros Inn, having passed it many times on our way to Solage, because neither Solage in Calistoga nor Bardessono in Yountville had no suitable vacancies.

We stayed in a 2 king bed suite, since my SO's brother was in town.

The suite was certainly the match of Solage, a chic "restoration hardware" look, with a small, bull full kitchen including fridge/freezer, dishwasher, Viking range, sink, coffee maker, kettle and assorted pots pans and cutlery etc. (there is even a washer/dryer in the closet).

The dining/family room was a good size with large flat screen tv, couch, chairs, coffee table and LCD TV with Bose surround sound and Direct TV (there is also flat panel tvs in each bedroom, with directTV and dvd players, bose etc)

The ability to open the family/dining room completely out to the enclosed back yard is wonderful; with outside lounge and dining, including a fireplace (and a gas BBQ also)

while the garden is not huge, it is very private and comfortable, with your own hot tub to hand there is almost no reason to leave your room the whole weekend!

We were in the Robleno area of the property which is relatively close to the main gate, Farm etc, which in turn is close to the main road bounding the property. The downside of this is of course you can hear the heavy traffic heading to/from Napa.

This could be a major issue for some, especially compared to Solage, which despite being next to the Silverado Trail, is much quieter than Carneros.

We dined at the superb Farm restaurant, the food was spectacular, and easily on a par with, if not exceeding that of SolBar.

The restaurant and adjacent bar/lounge seem a lot less "claustrophobic" than Solage's SolBar area.

The adult pool is located at the top of the hill near registration, the spa, and the main restaurant, it has some great views, and the hot tub is nice, it is a lot smaller than the main
pool at Solage, but the pool services is about the same AWFUL. You have more chance of drinking from a desert mirage than getting one from the pool staff at either location!

Room service seemed a bit more on the ball than the pool guys ... the continental breakfast was good, as were the hot items, on the whole I preferred the CI menu to that of Solage ...

Overall I think both properties are about the same, I think Solage is a better, quieter location for Napa etc than Carneros, but in terms of accommodations, service and food both properties are about equivalent.

While there is room for improvement in both properties, staying at either will be a wonderful experience for any Napa visitor.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the adult pool/registration
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LarryCable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    198
    91
    43
    26
See reviews for
144
862
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

If I could live in the Carneros Inn, I would. It's that good. My husband and I recently stayed in a Harvest Cottage, and it was by far one of the most unique/awesome places I've ever stayed in. From the fireplace and soaking tub inside to the fire pit and outdoor shower in the cottage's private patio outside, I did not want to leave. Despite unusually rainy/chilly weather, it did not take away from the resort in the slightest. We still used their amazing lap pool, lavender-scented steam room in the spa (which is free for guests), and all the cottages' outdoor amenities. We even used the fire pit to make s'mores, which the hotel thoughtfully left us a gift basket for. My only regret is that we stayed there two nights instead of three. I HIGHLY recommend staying in this hotel if you're going to Napa. The hotel is a destination in itself.

Room Tip: Book a Harvest Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAGJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

The cottages are amazing, it makes it so you don't even want to leave to go wine tasting! A great resort from top to bottom!!

Room Tip: Orchard view cottages are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimstooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park city UT
Level Contributor
164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is a gorgeous Napa property designed for people who want to enjoy Napa and may have children with them as well. In addition to being rated as one of the top 25 romantic destinations in the world, they've somehow managed to build an ideal family retreat as well. Everyone stays in individual cottages which, though small, are so cozy they're hard not to love as they are perfectly designed. Private patios, porches with rockers, outdoor showers and fireplaces all contribute to the homey feel. And while the cottages are build one next to the other, and we were told the resort was completely full when we were there, we hardly saw another soul. It basically felt as though we had our own Napa estate it was so peaceful and quiet. And this was with a large corporate meeting taking place on the property at the same time. There are multiple pools and places to eat, a beautiful market, bars, etc. The grounds are immaculate. Basically it is a self contained resort without that "resorty" feel. They tried to make it feel like a little village and they absolutely succeeded. And the spa (which deserves a whole review of its own) provided my wife with the best massage she's ever had, which is saying something. By chance we spent some time with one of the founders one day and learned more about the design philosophy of the place and I can say few resorts I've visited have put as much thought into the total experience as Carneros. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Carneros Inn is a gorgeous modern farmhouse style resort that has it all. 3 wonderful restaurants onsite... private, spacious rooms that are immaculate and modern... lovely privates yards with your own outdoor shower and/or bath.... great spa... The list goes on and on. This resort is the perfect getaway in Napa with a modern flair. It has great conference facilities for business yet is perfect for a leisure vacation as well.
It was the most romantic place I have ever stayed and I plan to go back again and again and again.

Room Tip: Go Sunday and Monday for best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KristeninDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

stayed here for a couple of days
once you drive up to the main lobby and step out of the car, you immediately feel the warmth and peace of the place
the lobby is very inviting and the cottages even more comfortable
soft bed, eames chair, heated floors int eh bathroom, outdoor shower, wooden deck patio
its so quiet here i love it
the food is even more amazing! the farm has the best roasted chicken hands down in the US basted with butter! yum
service is perfect as well

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marie6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

I actually think that this hotel is under rated by Trip Advisees and I've NEVER given a perfect rating!
Highlights:
Beautiful breakfast experience both 'in cottage' in your backyard or overlooking the pool and vast views of vineyards over the hillside. We were actually shocked at how much we enjoyed this little spot.
More Tips... Take their bikes out for a spin around the vineyards, Enjoy the rain-style outdoor showers could NOT be eco-friendly but really nice. Enjoy the fitness center - also a really nice surprise, with a relaxing view of the lap pool, Evening: Farm, Cocktails by the fire.

One drawback: The cottages are on the small side, but the large doors that open to the outside make it feel very spacious and comfortable. We were upgraded so our outdoor area was extra large....but the cappuccino machine + coffee makers in the room with fresh milk in the refrigerator completely made up for that!

Room Tip: Booked Amex - Fine Hotels! Great Upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoBlue1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
10.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
3.9 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
16.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneros Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneros Resort and Spa

Property: Carneros Resort and Spa
Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745 (Formerly The Carneros Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carneros Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is Carneros Resort and Spa, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. Carneros Resort and Spa was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 28 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, Carneros Resort and Spa's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter, MrandMrsSmith and Despegar.com so you can book your Carneros Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
Carneros Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing