We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury & Romance in The Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carneros Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Carneros Inn is the most wonderful and luxurious place to stay in Napa. The views surrounding the property are breath taking (borrow a bike and go for a long cycle ride) the restaurants and shop on the property fit for any foodie (buy a picnic and bottle of bubbles from the shop for your lunch or dinner if you're staying more than a day). There is a pool and heated tub up near one of the restaurants where you can have brunch / lunch with incredible vistas in the background and another more secluded pool for those that want to just worship the sun with a little more privacy. Then of course, there are the spotless accommodations. Cosy, clean, luxury personal cabins. We went for the most basic and it was fantastic. The bathroom is great with both bath tub and huge shower that opens up to an outdoor shower. There's a fire place for the cooler months and private patio for the hotter months (perfect for that evening picnic!) They have every detail thought about. The curtains in the room didn't seem to entirely cover up the window so there was a moment of feeling like people could look in but you get the distinct feeling, that everyone is tucked up in their cabins and it's not the kind of place where you'll get people trying to pry.

The only downside to all of this, is the price. If you're lucky and go off season, you can get a deal for around $470.00. Usually the rooms are around $600 a night. Yes. That's spenny. But when I say this is the ultimate in romance and luxury and that everything is on hand to you - truly, I mean it. It's the whole experience that surrounds Carneros (the wine tasting / the restaurant / the cabins / the views) that make it all in all, a night or two well worth the expense.

We stayed just one night and we still got the full flavour for it and even off season, it was wonderful and sunny. There are lots of wineries within distance that you can visit (and don't have to pay for) just be careful if you use e.g. designated driver (suggested through the hotel) which Is a great idea, just don't let them recommend other wineries in place of the ones the Carneros books (that are usually all free entry) as you'll find you get taken to a not as great place, and pay at least $30 per person which they didn't mention!

Dine at the restaurant on an empty stomach. The food is truly great.
Have a cocktail outside around the open fire pits.
Definitely buy a picnic from the shop (it sells alcohol too to take back to teh room)
Have a swim in the morning with the views in the background
And take someone you really care about and surprise them with a truly special stay. It's the perfect spot for romance!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

Amazing location (easy to venture into Napa or Sonoma), amazing service, awesome combination of modern design with a quaint feel, Harvest Cottage was unbeatable. Outdoor tub, fire pit, space heater, outdoor shower, beautiful garden....nice way to spend the afternoon after wine tasting. Room was very beautiful. Bathroom was impressive to say the least.

Food was very solid, but compared to the fine dining establishments in the region, its maybe just a touch below (i.e. an imaginary "Michellin 0.75 star"). Still....very good. Breakfast at the Hilltop was the best way to start the day. The bar/patio at FARM is a chill place to have a nightcap and a cigar.

We didn't check out the spa. Screwing around in the Valley took priority.

Don't get me wrong...the place is not cheap, but its worth every penny. You won't regret it. We will be returning soon for a longer trip!

Room Tip: Book the Harvest Cottage. Just do it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmwilsondvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We planned a 10-day honeymoon in the Napa Valley. We had considered splittling our time and doing a few days in the heart of Napa and another few days in the heart of Sonoma. We ended up finding The Carneros Inn and decided to stay there for our entire trip. So glad we did!

The Carneros Inn may be a little off the beaten path, but (A) that was exactly what we were looking for in a honeymoon, and (B) the location was positioned perfectly to tour both Sonoma and Napa locations.

Everything was PERFECT! The cottage was amazing...from the bed, to the porch, to the fireplace, to the bathroom. Uh, the bathroom was wonderful! The outdoor shower was such a treat. Aside from the cottage, the grounds were superb, as was the staff.

We had some delicious meals at the restaurants and were able to take advantage of the heated pool and hotub on multiple occassions. Walking the vineyard trail in the morning was so picturesque. The rolling hills and hot air balloons were like a postcard, and the cows grazing were so much fun to see as well.

Wherever you go within the resort, there's bottled water and wine. We even took the bikes they provide out for a ride one day. It was very easy to hop on 29 and drive up the Napa Valley, and almost as easy to drive up Sonoma. Great stay for a relaxing, romantic, enjoyable Napa honeymoon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank water026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

The idea most people will get from browsing the promotional material on Carneros Inn is that of a farm-like hotel californian style. The thing is, when you arrive there, you start noticing it is a dense resort with a multitude of small little cottages around a grid of small streets. It does feel rather compact, especially when you thought of being out in the open. Service is courteous an attentive enough, the public areas, especially the reception and pool area are beautiful and panoramic, but the rooms are a let down. Mind you they are stylish, the bathroom is huge, and in good weather the big patio is a definitive plus. The room proper is quite small though, a maze of little windows around it, and too few sitting options. It doesn't quite qualify as a suite. With the amount of space available in the resort, I felt a bit squeezed, which doesn't seem in keeping with a $400 bill. There is now breakfast in the main restaurant during the week, so I had to drive to the other side of the resort to get breakfast at the hotels cafe. All in all, a not very effective pastiche.
There are surely better options in more convenient locations.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The rooms are lovely, the outdoor shower a real treat and the Spa excellent

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Travel9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I have been sitting on this review for about a month. Out of fairness I've waited for the general manager to email be back, regarding out stay, and he never repsonded to my email. So...here goes. If you can afford to book a cottage with the fire pit/tub, do. You are rewarded with rooms that have shutters and are dark at night. If not, you will be in a room that is virtually lit up all night. Why? Thin roman shades and cottage lights from neighboring cottages that are on all night. One downer to the tub, it will only fit one, or two if you are a very small person. Thought that sounded great in theory but was quite uncomfortable to enjoy together.

Room service was uneven. Terrific one night, great burger, terrible at breakfast. Cold food, hour wait.

I felt vindicated for complaning when I read a former review commenting on the same issue. When we complained about the light the next am, literally everyone at the front desk looked at us like we had landed in a space ship. I asked if they had eye shades, and no they didn't. The front desk did explain that they're some people who like a well lit room to sleep in, so if they are disoriented in the middle of the night they can find their way around. That's a first, truly. And, he was so ernest about the explanation.
I thought the # 1 rule to any hotel is black out shades, so if you are traveling and you are jet lagged you can actually sleep. Or, in our case, sleeping in. Their will be no sleeping in at this hotel since some of the cottages are east facing and you know what that means, up with the chickens with the thin roman shades.

It is also strangely corporate sponsered???. Other quirks. At wine hour you will the odd feeling that you're on a car sales lot. You are. The wine hour is held in a residence cottage with nice people trying their to sell a cottage. Also, the wine hour is given by various wineries who are (surprise!) selling their wine.

That said, we'd never stay their again. Not for that price. I've wanted to stay at this property for years, so disapointing. I hope they will take the time to listen to their customers, and do what other hotels do when they have a challenge. For instance, at the SB Biltmore you get ear plugs by your bed at night. There is a train one can hear, they accomodate you. Maybe having eye shades would be a brilliant thing to offer? Better yet, switch out those cheap shades and put something proper in. Maybe Audi will sponser it...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank californialovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Few hotels surprise me on a positive way. Carneros Inn did in almost every way. We loved the rooms, the bathrooms (especially the outdoor shower!!), woodburning fireplace, private patio with heater, etc. Service is fast and excelent. Room service food is delicious. I would have to say I have no complaints whatsoever. I would definitely return, not sure I would pay high season prices, but low season absolutely.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tupapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.9 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,131 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,090 reviews
4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
10.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,338 reviews
6 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneros Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneros Resort and Spa

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745 (Formerly The Carneros Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $497 - $1,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carneros Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is Carneros Resort and Spa, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. Carneros Resort and Spa was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 28 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, Carneros Resort and Spa's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carneros Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
Carneros Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing