We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Motel 6 Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Napa
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Napa
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a good budget choice in a notoriously expensive place. The staff was nice and the room was clean but the company missed the opportunity to completely renovate this place when they recently took over from the prior independent management. The Motel 6 prototype is for clean laminate floors and platform beds with a sheet-enclosed duvet as well as flat-screen TVs; I have stayed in recently renovated properties with this new decor and they are great. This place shows its age in the building condition and while the room was clean overall, the bed was lumpy and the pillows were lumpy and stained; the pillowcases had laundered stains. It would not cost much to replace the beds and bedding. There is a great market across the street that has cold wine and picnic ingredients, so I was pleased with this budget motel just off the freeway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    44
    22
    34
See reviews for
18
63
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We made an unplanned trip to Napa, without prior planning. Came to the Motel 6 and were immedietely greeted with a smile. They had a room ready for us and we spent a quiet night on a comfortable bed, clean room and hot shower. What more do you need?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doritam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A friendly welcome, and a nice room. We were given a room with an adjoining door which always makes you a little nervous. The room itself was well furnished, although the TV was showing its age a little and the signal isn't great. The in room wifi wasn't the fastest in the world, but good enough for a quick email check. There was a bit of a musty smell about the room, but that isn't to say it wasn't clean and hygienic, because it was.
The retail park opposite the motel has a good pizza place, and a supermarket and starbucks to keep you going.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had arrived at the hotel way before check in and the hotel staff accomodated us by allowing us to check in early because our room was ready. The front desk staff was very helpful by providing a city map with their favorite spots to dine. The room was on the small side, although it was ok. This hotel is very close to shopping and dinning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulahunny2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this motel because of the cost. It is one of the few places to stay in Napa that will let you stay only one night on a weekend. Check-in was smooth and staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean, but small and sparsely decorated. We even had the same picture on two adjacent walls.The room did have a refrigerator. We were mainly concerned with the price and that it was clean and safe. One should know that Motel 6 does not give shampoo and conditioner. There is one bar of soap at the sink and one in the shower. There were also extra pillows in the room. The air vent was on the side of the wall, over the area to hang our clothes. The vent was about head high (5'5") and we were not able to regulate it. Either on or off. We were concerned about parking as we were there on a Saturday. We got in late and got one of the last two parking spots. There was enough parking. Our main difficulty was the bed. It was so hard and very uncomfortable. We had difficulty sleeping and were sore in the morning. We understand that Motel 6 just recently purchased this property and is going to be remodeling it. We would like to suggest new beds, please. If they put in new beds that aren't hard, then we would definitely stay here again, but until then, no thank you we really need our sleep. The location was easy on/off the freeway and easy access to other locations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
362 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We are regulars at Accor's budget hotels (e.g. M6 and Ibis), so I tend to compare hotels against other budget stays. This was my 2nd stay in 2012. Yes, this location which recently joined the M6 family could use an overall upgrade (see my review of the amazing one in Santa Barbara area). But the staff was very courteous, our room was clean, TV worked fine, bed was comfy and for crazy-peak-season Napa Valley, even at $125/night it is a painful, yet decent price. The location is good, easy freeway access and Starbucks, awesome gourmet grocery, and other nice shops just across the street.

Room Tip: get a room upstairs and on the southern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
436 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Needed a last minute place to spend the night and the location worked with the two sites I had to get to. The hotel office was barely visible with the vans in front of the signs and the desk clerk was less than friendly. Parking was adequate and the room was Spartan at best. The bed felt like it had a board under the sheets, the internet was spotty and the bathroom was bare. One handtowel and a small bathtowel. The entire room looked unfinished. The refrigerator was a nice tough. Spent a few minutes trying to watch college football before dinner but could never get a clear picture on channels 6 (abc)or 35 (espn). Luckily the restauarant I had to get to was walking distance. The location served its purpose but would not stay again with other options. The Napa wine train was very close by and the room was quiet enough that I did not hear it from inside. The conversations of the people on either side of my room were very clear. Having time for a quick dip in the pool was refreshing. Luckily I had brought my own towels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1GiantsMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.6 mi away
Napa Discovery Inn
Napa Discovery Inn
#26 of 30 in Napa
236 reviews
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort
0.9 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#13 of 30 in Napa
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
1.8 mi away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Napa

Property: Motel 6 Napa
Address: 3380 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-3266 (Formerly Napa Valley Redwood Inn)
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Napa 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Motel-6, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Redwood Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Redwood Motel
Motel 6 Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing