We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent Inn & Spa Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milliken Creek Inn and Spa
Ranked #11 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The experience was top notch from top to bottom. From the ambiance of the rooms, to the quality of the facilities, to the helpfullness of everybody at the Inn, this place was by far the nicest getaway my wife and I have ever experienced.
The concierges are more than knowledgeable, the in-room breakfasts are 5 star, and the property is kept very clean and is very high class.
The rooms were our favorite part. The scent when you walk in, and the ambient music add a huge dimension to the experience. Not to mention the candles that they light for you while they cleaning the room before you come back from dinner. It is very romantic.
We will definitely make a repeat visit next time we go out to Napa.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank parryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 392 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2007

We arrived late and there was a note taped to the door. It had out room keys in it and directions to our room. The room was #4 and there was NO AIR CONDITIONING ! I swear it was more hot in the room than outside! We were left with an awful impression of this property. No service at all at more for waht we were expected to pay. Also, we called in advance and spoke to a woman named Casey,(I think) with questions about Napa, Restaurants, Wineries,ect. That person NEVER got back to us with any information at all ! What kind of a business are they running here? Work out the kinks people. I would have expected more out of a Howard Johnsons.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BigDogTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

I don not have enough time to tell you everything I thought was handled wrong.The two things that were the worst was my appointment made to a salon in Napa was made for 4pm, the inn told me 5pm. Needless to say I had to beg to get my hair done since I had missed my appointment - and had a special event that night. Number 2 - we discovered there is survalience everywhere on the property - the spa reception , the grounds, the porches, you name it - no privacy here. The staff is above being helpful - not a place to spend this money!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank McMegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We have stayed for extended visits in Napa Valley in the past, at such places as Meadowood and Oak Knoll Inn, so our disappointment in Milliken Creek Inn was all the more heightened by knowing that warm hospitality and professional service need not be mutually exclusive with nice surroundings. At Milliken Creek Inn, however, they are.

As other reviewers have noted, the staff is aloof, distant, and frankly disinterested. We assign that to absentee innkeepers, since those serving the guests are clearly employees who feel they are above their job descriptions. In addition: upon arrival our room rate had wrongfully gone up by almost 20%; directions to restuarants and golf were flawed and outright incorrect; breakfasts (much touted) were pretty pedestrian and often late; and the promised "vintners" during "Magical Hour" failed to show on two consecutive evenings (maybe they know something about the staff as well). There was no one at all, during three days, trying to bring the guests together for a Inn-experience of any sort. It might as well have been an exterior-entrance motel.

The rooms are nice . . .Meadowood style (see pictures) . . .but the comparison stops there. While Meadowood is serene and calming, Milliken Creek Inn is discordant and noisy. Even the creek-facing rooms (which we had) had all-night noise from Silverado Trail traffic.

So, for $800 per night (which includes tax and a 10% "gratuity"), look elsewhere. And by the way, not all rooms (for the same quoted rate) are created equal. Ask what you're getting, before you get it.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NH_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Being from South-Africa, we miss our Cape winelands very much since living in Canada, so my hubby and I decided to visit the NAPA valley for my birthday.
We decided to pick the most romantic Inn recommended in our travel guides and websites and ALL applaused Milliken Creek Inn. We booked our stay 4 months ahead and since day 1 everybody I spoke to,was just fabulous! Michelle and Dayna was 2 angels and did everything possible to make our stay the best ever.
We arrived on a blazing hot Friday afternoon and were greated by a table with ice cold bottled waters and wine. Our room was ready and our luggage were taken to the room. The room was absolutely gorgeous (#6). It was in the main house with a balcony overlooking the river and gorgeous landscaped gardens.
Michelle made all our restaurant reservations for us ahead and left us a welcome note plus restaurant confirmations+driving instructions to get to each restaurant.
All the restaurants was exceptional and we got special tastings from the chefs because we were guests of Milliken Creek Inn!
How special is that!
Each night when we returned, our bed was turned down,homemade St.Helena chocolates on our pillows,candles lit, CD player on with lovely jazz filling the air.
The first night we also had a bottle of complimentary champagne waiting for us in the room.
We had Breakfast on our balcony each morning and it was to die for.The attention to detail really impressed us!
The wine tastings each night was fun and the wines lovely!
The last evening there was a chill in the air,so the staff litt the firepit on the deck and had blankets on all the chairs,so we sat outside at the cozy fire and had our wine there.
The Inn is so conveniently located and we were close to all the good wine trails.
We had an unbelievable time and were very sad to leave. We will never ever forget our special visit to Milliken Creek Inn. Hopefully we can return one day soon.....

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank lovetravelling77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

We stayed at Milliken Creek inn for out honeymoon in early May 2007. The property itself was very nice, but the service level was unacceptable in our opinion. At $500.00 a night plus, we found that the room itself way to small for the price & that the woman who was working on the night that we arrived there was un-helpful and distant, almost snobish. We also felt very pressured to book spa treatments, even though we already had arrangments somewhere else. This was not a relaxing experience for us. We were looking for a spot where we could be romanitc and left alone, and we felt consistently pressured to do one thing or another. I will say, that I did like the beds and the view. There seemd like there should have been a better choice for breakfast though. At $500.00 + a night, we should have gotten better service over all. We might be back if things change, otherwise we will go back to staying at Auberge or Meadowood. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank venere2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2007

Interesting B & B. Away from the noise, very elegant and posh. The staff was all very helpful. We checked in an hour early and our room was beautifully prepared.

The room is equipped with a nice Flat Screen TV with Tivo, Bose Stereo System, King Size Bed and a lovely set of light fixtures.

In the evening the turn down service brings you chocolate, dims the lights and prepares your bed.

The place is small and very low key. You will never be annoyed by the crowds. Our room was right in front of the creek . At night you could hear the birds singing and appreciate the stars.

The property has interesting complimentary services like All you can drink wine during the day in the lobby. A meet and greet hour from 6 to 7 with wine and cheese, a collection of DVDs, complementary water bottles in your room.

They gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant called Press. It is a fabulous steak house in Napa.

Milliken Creek is a place to go and relax. If you are going to Napa with the intention to go wild, this is definitly not the place to be at.

It is perfect for a weekend getaway.

The property also has a nice Spa and they even give you complimentary Champagne after a massage.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
1.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,131 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,090 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.2 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
718 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn on Randolph
Inn on Randolph
#5 of 22 in Napa
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milliken Creek Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milliken Creek Inn and Spa

Address: 1815 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94558-3735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $307 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milliken Creek Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Milliken Creek Inn and Spa, an elegant Napa hotel in California's esteemed wine country. Hidden away on three verdant acres overlooking the idyllic Napa River, discover a place unlike any other Napa hotel.Here you will encounter five-star luxury that emphasizes thoroughly sophisticated service and style in a tranquil, intimate ambiance.In this superb Napa Valley setting, simply sumptuous accommodations are bathed in serene colors and accented with an exotic flair. Thoughtful touches invite pampering and romance, such as flickering fireplaces, canopy beds with the finest linens, rain showers and oversized hydrotherapy tubs outfitted with green tea bath salts and votive candles. Combining the best signature service of larger Napa hotels with a very exclusive and intimate ambiance. This luxury Napa hotel offers 12 exclusive and very private suites, each with a unique style of its own unlike other Napa Valley hotels.Ease into your day with a gourmet breakfast served wherever you wish, from the privacy of your room to al fresco on the Waterfall Terrace. At day's end, unwind at the Magic Hour, our complimentary wine and cheese reception, where you can meet local vintners, chat with our staff members and share stories with other guests.Envelop your senses in pure bliss at our stunning Milliken Creek Spa, where healing, natural elements unite with holistic, therapeutic treatments. Treat yourself to a restorative aromatherapy massage and a revitalizing facial in this private spa that caters exclusively to our guests.Do as little or as much as you would like. Wander the lush grounds, relax in Adirondack chairs, or take it all in from your private deck. Venture forth and explore everything from the scenic Silverado Trail to the area's incomparable wineries, world-renowned restaurants, intriguing shops, plus endless events and activities. Milliken Creek Inn & Spa is a Boutique Napa Valley hotel paired with world-class service. We look forward to pampering you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Milliken Creek Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milliken Creek Hotel Napa
Milliken Creek Inn And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing