We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end luxe in a low key way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milliken Creek Inn and Spa
Ranked #10 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broward County, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High end luxe in a low key way”
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We are just back from celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. After a few nights in deluxe accommodations in a ritzy San Francisco hotel, we weren't sure what to expect of the Milliken Creek Inn -- especially given the road its on. But once we entered the property and saw our room, all concerns about the accommodations faded away. We were greeted by a warm and friendly member of the staff who showed us to our room (Room 10), which was gorgeous. It was inviting and tastefully decorated, with french doors leading out to a patio with umbrella-ed table and chairs, and a view of the beautiful creek and fountain. We found every amenity in the room one would expect from a high-end property: high quality bed linens, thick towels, robes and slippers, good quality toiletries, flat-panel TV with DirecTV and DVD player, etc. The room was spacious with two sitting areas, double sinks, a large shower and hydro-therapy tub (which looked enticing but we didn't use it).

Although staff changed from shift to shift during our 4 night stay, each one was friendly, knowledgable and eager to please (without being annoying or pushy). Restaurant recommendations we received were spot-on for what we wanted. When they forgot a wake-up call, we found a gift and hand-written note awaiting our return, apologizing for the error (which turned out to be no big deal, and they never again forgot the wake-up call!). Breakfast each morning was beautifully presented and punctually delivered to our back patio (at our request), and though the menu options were somewhat limited, we didn't suffer to find something to eat. We didn't make much of the "Magic Hour" but saw the wine and cheese presented on a few nights and it looked very appealing. Neither did we take advantage of the port wine offerings for a night cap, but the option was there. Turn-down service, scheduled at our convenience, was especially nice, lighting the room with candles and jazz music -- nice touches.

We did treat ourselves to massages at the spa which was a serene and calming experience. The massages, though pricey, were very good. One comment here remarked that despite the "no tipping" policy (which was refreshing), gratuities certainly were expected for the spa services -- which were already a bit pricey. I agree with that assessment. Other than that, it was a good experience at the spa, which is only open to guests of the Inn.

All in all, we found our stay at Milliken Creek Inn to be wonderful. The room accommodations were luxurious and high-end, while maintaining a sense of low-key relaxation and serenity. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and we found the resort to be a reasonable distance to most wineries and restaurants on our itinerary, and just 5 minutes from downtown Napa which was also convenient.

  • Liked — The beautiful room and grounds; friendly staff
  • Disliked — Price!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efsilverb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    38
    14
    10
    10
See reviews for
10
309
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Milliken Inn is a terrific example of how the internet and good photography can woo someone to a property. Although the property is nice, the value is lacking.

At $525 a night for a basic room I still have pretty high expectations. Our room lacked a closet and outdoor area as well as exhibiting some odd noise in the room that no one could explain. Staying tidy was a challenge since we had to place all of our clothes/shoes in an armoire.

The property has no pool or anything to do other than lounge on chairs near the river. Since we didnt have a deck or outdoor access, once we were in the room, that was it. It felt a bit cluastrophobic. And, if we didnt feel like sitting under an umbrella next to the river - there wasnt anything to really do at the property. Next time, I'll be sure to ask if a property has a pool, gym, bocce ball court as we like to have options.

The resort is also on the very south end of the valley with most restaurants and wineries north. Not bad but was a bit of a drive to most of our destinations. The building itself and decor were nice - but nothing over the top.

We were also told that is was a "no tip" hotel - music to my husbands ears. However, this didnt apply to the spa and not really to the hotel either...... After my spa treatment, I was asked to sign a slip and provide a gratuity.... Then upon check out we were hit with a $52 a night service charge. So much for no tipping. We would rather tip direclty than pay another $104 for service which there wasnt much of. I guess the free water, sodas, port bar and wine in the lobby werent all that free after all. What was charming (the "free stuff") was tainted once we realized that the "daily service charge" covered these extras.

Positives were the turn down service - nice touch with candles, music, cozy linens and the included breakfast which is brought to the room.

We also looked at a luxury room in case we wanted to upgrade. I'd had taken it if it was offerred at no charge since we voiced are displeasure with the room and odd noise but clearly no freebies would be handed out here. The luxury room wasnt in my opinion worth the additional expense, but at least here you had a sitting area, closet and outdoor space. In my opinion - this room should have been $525 and our room around $250.

Milliken Inn is nice but way over priced.

  • Liked — The bed linens and breakfast.
  • Disliked — the rate, service charge and no sitting area in room other than bed to relax.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcbsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

My friend and I stayed at Milliken Creek for two nights. The setting was lovely. It is overlooking a beautiful creek. Our rooms, however, were overlooking the Silverado trail - but to be fair, they were not noisy.

The room was a little small but nicely done - beautiful fireplace, lovely bathrobes, good toilletries and LOVELY shower.

Turndown service was prompt - they even lit candles and put on some girly jazz music - very nice attention to detail.

The only issue we had was that the service was a little all over the place. I called ahead and had this guy answer the phone who sounded like a kid - he had no clue about what to do in the area, how to book the limo service for the wine tasting, etc. It was almost funny - because when we got there, there were two kids running the place. My friend mentioned that they were really getting one guy to do everything. For a rather expensive B&B, this was a little odd.

However, overall, we had a great time. Things I would definitely try while at Milliken Creek -

a) GET YOURSELF A MASSAGE - probably one of themost relaxing massages I have ever had. Finished off with a glass of champagne overlooking the Napa river

b) Have breakfast by the roaring fire downstairs - or if warm enough, on the deck overlooking the creek.

I would definitely go back to Milliken Creek even with the silly service which was not malicious or snobby - just a little haphazard:)

  • Liked — Lovely setting, calming, great spa, comfortable and clean rooms
  • Disliked — service a little scatty
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DSDELACROIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

We recently stayed at Milliken Creek Inn in Napa for three days. The service was excellent from beginning to end! The Inn is very intimate, only 12 rooms, and it is settled on the bank of the Napa River. When we first arrived, I was a bit skeptical - the Inn sits somewhat close to the road and the facade is unassuming. However, the real beauty of this inn is its serenity. From the moment you walk in the door, the world is at peace. The staff are pleasant and routinely calming. Cool drinks and delicious wines were available throughout our stay. The rooms are somewhat simple, but they include everything you need, and the staff is more than willing to accomidate any special requests. We spent our three days reading books, lounging on chaises overlooking the river, running on a very scenic nearby running trail, and sipping wine. Though we intended to see the sights, we only left the inn one of three days because we were having such a relaxing visit! We would definitely return!

  • Liked — The peaceful and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — A malfunctioning spa tub - though the staff fixed it promptly
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We kicked off our honeymoon at the milliken creek inn and were not disappointed. We stayed in room 7, a luxury room overlooking the river, and were more than satisfied with the accomodations. Free bottled water and soft drinks, wine tasting each evening, a 42 inch plasma, exceptionally comfortable bed with high quality sheets, a wonderful shower experience, heated fans in the bathroom, an oversized whirlpool bath tub, and fantastic towels and robes. It was just a perfect experience. Indeed, we are at Auberge du Soleil now and wish we were still at Milliken. The only issue was the lack of options for breakfast. It was limited to yogurt with granola, an omelet, or belgian waffles. I expected more considering the other amenities, but overall it was a fantastic experience. We will be back the next time we are in the valley.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksp205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for the first leg of our Wine Country honeymoon and were very pleased with the service and accommodations. I booked in my maiden name and worked with the concierge service at that time to make some dinner and tour reservations for when we arrived in Napa. Upon check-in, I gave the woman my new married name and was delighted when we arrived at our first dinner to find that she had called the restaurant to change the name with the host. As a new bride, I thought that was an especially thoughtful detail for the staff to note and was tickled pink.

The room was great - had a beautiful view of the river and courtyard fountain from our private deck. Bath amenities and spa tub were wonderful, and the day spa services and relaxation area were also very good. I would have preferred to have a more varied breakfast menu as you get at more personal bed and breakfasts where the hosts customize the menu, but it was tasty food and great to have it set up on our porch to eat in our robes.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC/LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

We just loved it. It has everything I like: mainly attention to detail. It's just very tastefully appointed....which is not necessarily the case with a lot of the hotels up here that decorate with heavy-handed winery motif (you know, stained glass windows of grapes and wine bottles?). Milliken is first class and you can't beat the creek and yard overlooking it. They were soo helpful when helping us book a great restaurant (we went to Ad Hoc...loved it). Enjoy!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC/LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
1.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
1.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milliken Creek Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milliken Creek Inn and Spa

Property: Milliken Creek Inn and Spa
Address: 1815 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94558-3735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milliken Creek Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Milliken Creek Inn and Spa, an elegant Napa hotel in California's esteemed wine country. Hidden away on three verdant acres overlooking the idyllic Napa River, discover a place unlike any other Napa hotel.Here you will encounter five-star luxury that emphasizes thoroughly sophisticated service and style in a tranquil, intimate ambiance.In this superb Napa Valley setting, simply sumptuous accommodations are bathed in serene colors and accented with an exotic flair. Thoughtful touches invite pampering and romance, such as flickering fireplaces, canopy beds with the finest linens, rain showers and oversized hydrotherapy tubs outfitted with green tea bath salts and votive candles. Combining the best signature service of larger Napa hotels with a very exclusive and intimate ambiance. This luxury Napa hotel offers 12 exclusive and very private suites, each with a unique style of its own unlike other Napa Valley hotels.Ease into your day with a gourmet breakfast served wherever you wish, from the privacy of your room to al fresco on the Waterfall Terrace. At day's end, unwind at the Magic Hour, our complimentary wine and cheese reception, where you can meet local vintners, chat with our staff members and share stories with other guests.Envelop your senses in pure bliss at our stunning Milliken Creek Spa, where healing, natural elements unite with holistic, therapeutic treatments. Treat yourself to a restorative aromatherapy massage and a revitalizing facial in this private spa that caters exclusively to our guests.Do as little or as much as you would like. Wander the lush grounds, relax in Adirondack chairs, or take it all in from your private deck. Venture forth and explore everything from the scenic Silverado Trail to the area's incomparable wineries, world-renowned restaurants, intriguing shops, plus endless events and activities. Milliken Creek Inn & Spa is a Boutique Napa Valley hotel paired with world-class service. We look forward to pampering you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milliken Creek Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milliken Creek Hotel Napa
Milliken Creek Inn And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing