We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay & close to napa downtown”
Review of Blackbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackbird Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent one night here and then one night in Calistoga. It was good to have one night closer to Napa downtown to see what that was like, but downtown Napa is the most southern portion of Napa Valley and not closest to all wineries, but we did save a bit of money by staying here one night, going to the more southern places, then heading up North to Calistoga. Yountville looked awesome, and more like what I imagined Napa to be, but was a little more expensive if you have that to consider - there is a four sisters inn there too that is slightly more affordable than others. If I go back, I'm trying Yountville.

Blackbird Inn itself was in a great area for us for the one night to try out downtown and had easy access to lunch and dinner and not far from the more southern wineries - we went up to rutherford on first day. It's also close to downtown tasting rooms and wine train in town.

We stayed in room 3 - right next to checkin area and back door entrance, but the room was pretty big and bed was set back enough so that it was not too noisy. (It was a little noisy when our upstairs neighbors came in later that night, but they just seemed like loud people slamming doors, wearing heels and such). It was really nice to have our own back terrace/deck. We were able to leave and enter from that back deck, so we barely needed to go into main areas, so it felt pretty private. We were also able to get take breakfast from the buffet style in the morning and enjoy on our patio as well, which was nice. Most of the private deck on this room was surrounded by landscaping to keep it private, but my only *minor* complaints is that there was a small section near the exit that could use some higher landscaping, because there was a small little spot that had visibility to a part of a next door parking lot. Most of the time it was fine and no one was around, but during breakfast some guy was just out in the parking lot next door smoking and chatting with a coworker or something, so that was a little annoying. It wasn't that he was too near us, or creeping, but still visible through the side angle, and I hate smoke. Other notes - TV is very small, but we didn't really use it, shower is enormous, no full length mirrors and it also would've been nice to have some throw blankets to have outside on the chillier mornings. Otherwise, great stay!

Also - we ate at Gott's for lunch, good burger and Fish Story for dinner, pretty good food there too.

Room Tip: Room 3 has private outside deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kells277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 328 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

Loved my room, the only thing I have to complain about is the breakfast it was the same thing all three days and it contained no meats and they do not have a microwave available to guests.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We picked Blackbird Inn for our first trip to Napa, and were not disappointed. The rooms are great (even better than the pictures show) with fantastic bathrooms, patios, and fireplaces. The staff was very welcoming and nice. The breakfast buffet is perfect before you start your day but it's not a served meal if that's what your hoping from. It's in downtown Napa, a perfect place to walk to dinner. For newbies to Napa- everything is not in Napa proper. There are many other areas- Calistoga, Yountville, etc. We picked this place thinking we were in the heart of napa when really we spent every day in Calistoga (~30 minute drive). We didn't mind the drive but something to know. Also, although I love the bathrooms the bathtub is very high and hard to step into. For the older patrons, ask for a room with a lower bathtub.

Room Tip: We loved having the outdoor space with our room and the private entrance- unsure what room # we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliaStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was a great choice for us. We chose the inn based on what we saw on line and this place was everything it promised. We were traveling cross country and were hoping for a home base to explore wine country. The staff was helpful without being intrusive; the room was exactly as it was pictured on the web site.

Room Tip: We can only speak to Guest Room 5 and it was just right for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefania D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Good:
*Great Location
*Awesome Craftsman Home - Frank Lloyd Wright would be proud!
*Wonderful Handmade Furniture - Stickley has nothing on this furniture maker (Inn owner)
*Very nice innkeeper (young lady employed by 4 sisters)

The Not So Good:
*Breakfast - Not what we have experienced at other Four Sisters Inns - rather lackluster
*Shower Head - need to run around in the tub to get wet

The Bad:
THE BED! The mattress was horrible! My wife and I both had aching backs from our 2 night stay.

We are on our way to two other Four Sisters Inns - Lavender in Yountville and Seal Cove in Moss Beach. I anticipate we will have better reviews to follow.

This could be an exceptional Inn with a few minor upgrades. The Four Sisters Inn Group should require the Inn's owner to make these minor enhancements.

Room Tip: I would ask when the mattress was last replaced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelafieldJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The service was excellent. I loved coming back here at the end of the day to a glass of wine and some light snacks. Not frilly, but beautifully decorated. My husband is an architect and loved the arts and crafts style of the building. It's not a bad walk to downtown, and you can walk to all the restaurants in the evening (although I wouldn't walk to downtown in heels, it's a bit far for that!) It's such a great location to be able to walk around Downtown Napa!

Room Tip: Tell them you don't want the room by the desk. We didn't have that, but I could see where i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We went with neighbors who live in a the craftsman-style house and loved this one. We chose a room with a king bed, nice patio and private garden. We enjoyed the breakfasts and wine and cheese afternoon snacks. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday so it was quiet and we also had the place to ourselves. It was as nice as staying at someone's home. We enjoy Napa in the winter because there are discounted rate on the rooms and the wineries are not too crowded. We had fabulous weather which always makes the trip nicer. We hadn't stayed in Napa for a number of years but the town is more interesting now than in the past. There are a number of new restaurants, shops and the Oxbow Market where we picked up a sandwich but there were a number of interesting food options. The inn was conveniently located and walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. We enjoyed it and will return for another stay.

Room Tip: #2 is downstairs with a king bed/ fireplace/ private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 29 in Napa
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Napa Inn
The Napa Inn
#13 of 22 in Napa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.5 mi away
Cedar Gables Inn
Cedar Gables Inn
#18 of 22 in Napa
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
White House
White House
#16 of 22 in Napa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn

Address: 1755 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $198 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blackbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing