We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Friendly Staff, Disappointing Room”
Review of Napa Winery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa Winery Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our two day trip to Napa was a little late in the planning. We were not able to get the resorts or B & Bs that we had hoped to book. We settled on the Napa Winery Inn because it had king size beds and was close to the restaurants. This is an old hotel that has been refurbished, mostly! The rooms are cookie cutter small, think Motel 8. The pillows were not comfortable but worse than that were the towels. They were pretty much threadbare. But, the staff were so FRIENDLY and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was better than most. With a few minor improvements this hotel will be very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbinbarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Barbinbarbados,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your room.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the towels. I have passed this on to our management team and we have changed our towels. Also, we are going to start providing our guests with a few options for pillows. Everyone has their favorite type of pillow, granted we won’t be able to make everyone happy but at least there will be options to choose from. Fat, Fluffy, Flat, Squishy etc.
I hope that you can return and give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 663 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

A repurposed Quality Inn, this is a very comfortable place to stay while visiting the wineries and other sites. The location is ideal, just north if the crowded town of Napa, an easy ride to most of the wineries which are north of Napa, and right off the main drag (Route 29). The rooms are large and clean, the bathroom is modern with good toiletries. There is a free wine tasting every day at 5:30 and free breakfast in the mornings. The breakfast fare is varied, including hot items. The staff was pleasant and helpful. When we had to leave a day early for a personal matter, the staff canceled the day with no questions asked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BronxSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear BronxSteve,
Great to hear from you. What a lovely review. Thank you.
You are correct, we started out as a Quality Inn. We discovered that, although Quality Inn is a perfectly good hotel, we wanted to stand alone. We wanted to be more of a Boutique Hotel, so we instead became an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. This would give us the freedom to give our guests more of what you would expect from a Boutique Napa Valley Hotel, such as; Real plates, silverware, glassware, cloth napkins, 37 inch flat screen televisions, Complimentary Hot Breakfast each morning and Complimentary Wine Tasting each evening, with some yummy edibles. We offer Gilchrist & Soames soaps, shampoo, & conditioner. It is important to us that our guest’s feel that they are getting value for their dollars, and that value is different for everybody. So, to that end we are continually putting back into the hotel as much as possible. I have been with this property for 21 years. I have never been more proud of where I work, and the people that I work with. Everyone here always puts their best foot forward.
I am sorry that you had to leave a day early, but glad that we were able to accommodate your request. I hope that you can return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent 2 nights here to visit wine country. Hotel right off of main road to wineries. Staff is superb, they are very attentive to detail and even though the property is older the public areas and rooms are spotless. Again the staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay here again during next visit to Napa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urlacher54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Urlacher54,
Great review, thank you. It is appreciated.
I was so excited to share your review with the staff. It just brings a great big smile to everyone’s face. I try to tell the staff what a great job they are doing, but it means so much more when it comes from the guests, so thank you for taking the time.
I hope that you can come again soon. It is really nice for us to see a familiar face at check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Napa Winery Inn on a short trip to wine country with family. It was our first time staying at this hotel and it is very conveniently located just outside of the town of Napa on the way to many of the wineries along highway 29. The rooms were large, nicely appointed and clean. We were particularly pleased at how accommodating the staff was. We booked several rooms, but had some specific needs with our family and the staff was extremely helpful in finding a combination of rooms which addressed our needs. Katie, the concierge who helped us, really went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again on our next visit!

Room Tip: Some rooms may be closer to the main road, but it is unlikely you will notice any noise unless the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear AC,
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review.
I cannot tell you how happy I am that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, especially Katie was able to accommodate all of your needs. I am lucky to have such a wonderful staff. Katie is great.
I think our location is perfect for access to Napa and Sonoma. We are pretty much smack dab in the middle. It is only 30 minutes all the way to Calistoga and about 20-30 minutes to Sonoma Square. Although my preference is in Napa Valley, only because the wineries are much closer together and you can see a bit more in a day, but it is just nice to have options. I bet people don’t realize that you can stay here and drive to Vallejo (30 minutes) and take the Ferry over to San Francisco for the day as well. It is a great way to beat the traffic. The ferry drops you off right at Pier 39. The last Ferry back to Vallejo is 7pm or 8pm at night, so you could actually spend the whole day and then come back to Napa and do more Wine Touring the next day.
I can’t wait for you to visit again. Give us a call soon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were there in early Oct. We left Yosemite N.P. a day early because of the shutdown. Called the hotel and they were able to accommodate a day early, and it was truly appreciated. Very friendly and helpful staff. Large clean room from which we watched the hot air balloons rise in the sky. The location turned out to be very convenient, especially since we weren't particularly impressed with Napa itself, but liked Napa Valley as a whole. Especially enjoyed the Managers Reception in the evening. Felt it was definitely value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear SunshineNana,

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.

We were sorry to hear that you had to cut your Yosemite trip short, but we sure were happy to have you stay with us an extra day.

I am glad that you liked your room, and were able to see some hot air balloons flying by. Sometimes at this time of year it is real iffy that they will fly or not. Sometimes it can be rainy, or foggy, and sometimes just plain windy. We were lucky enough to have great weather at the time you were here.

I just love our location as well. Easy access to the wineries. Close to everything. Restaurants in walking distance. Downtown is just minutes away by car. I think maybe you just caught downtown Napa on an off day. They really are sprucing it up in downtown. Hopefully next time you come downtown Napa will be different, and you will enjoy it.

Come and see us again soon. Thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Like previous posters have noted, this place has good customer service, but is certainly not fancy by any means. Clean and convenient with some of the nicest hotel staff we've ever encountered. We stayed away from the Route 29 side, so noise was not an issue. Silly things that they could do easily and "fancy up" the place: Only 1 bar of soap? Really? Add another please! Hang another picture on the wall above the bed. It would make it prettier, cheaply. Other than that, we have no significant complaints. Would stay again. Nothing fancy, but suited our needs. We were here for the wineries and scenery. If you're staying inside the hotel to complain about the size of the room, you're missing why you're there in the first place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivianna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Vivianna51,

Thank you for your review.

We really took your review to heart. Soap, done. Pictures, done. Seriously though, you are absolutely correct. There should be at least two bars of soap in your room. Now there is. When you stayed we already had the additional pictures on order, and now they are done as well.
In your review you mentioned the highway, and quite honestly I have been at this property for 21 years and there really isn’t a noise issue because our rooms do not face the highway. People might not think this makes a difference but it really does. Oh sure if you have the windows open to your room, you will hear a little bit.

I love our staff. I feel that they really go out of their way to make our guests feel comfortable. I am glad they were able to show you their best side.

Next time you are in the area I hope you will stop by and stay a few nights and see all the wonderful changes.

Wishing you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is way overpriced. When compared to what you pay at some of the top competitors, ie: Marriott, Hilton, or Embassy Suites, We stayed here as a last resort because all the other hotels were booked. They are taking advantage of consumers. The rooms are oversized door rooms and the bathroom towels were gym value. The beds were comfortable, the staff friendly, and breakfast was good. But paying $350.00, is ridiculous for the quality. They should be in the price range of Hotel 6 or Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Very noisy since its near the freeway. Ask for a room away from freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Rosydc,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We appreciate everyone’s opinions good and not so good. I understand your feelings. Napa is a place where hotel rooms can cost a pretty penny, and our guests need to feel that they are getting value for their dollars.

I just want to let you know that we are continuing to evolve and become a better hotel because of our guests comments. So thank you again.

I hope that you will return and see all of the changes, and perhaps we can change your mind, and you will find that there is great value here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
8.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley
2.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#15 of 30 in Napa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Winery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Winery Inn

Address: 1998 Trower Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Napa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $121 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Winery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the wine country, the Napa Winery Inn offers convenience to Napa Valley’s favorite wineries, restaurants, and attractions. The casual, boutique atmosphere of the Napa Winery Inn provides the perfect base for a relaxed and enjoyable visit to Napa Valley. Napa Winery Inn is less than ten minutes from both downtown Napa and from the town of Yountville. A daily hot breakfast buffet, wi-fi, and an evening manager's wine tasting are all complimentary. Oventi Restaurant is adjacent and Fume Bistro is within walking distance. Pets are also welcome in this pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Napa Winery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Inn Of Napa Hotel Napa
John Muir Hotel
John Muir Napa
Napa Winery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing