We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“under construction!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa Winery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Napa Winery Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“under construction!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lobby is completely torn up and you enter thru a back door to a makeshift desk. Not a fan of the location as far as scenery goes. Rooms are small and average. Staff was accomodating enough. Disappointing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jean M,

Thank you for posting a review. We really appreciate the feedback.

Unfortunately, at the time of your stay we were completing a lobby remodel. We tried to limit the intrusion to our guests as best we could by building a wall and relocating our front desk temporarily. I do apologize for any inconvenience to you.

I love the area we are in, especially in the early mornings when you can look out your window and see the sky filled with balloons.

We have just completed a renovation, including new carpet, flat screen televisions, new beds, and new bed linen with comforters. With these new changes we have been accepted into the "Ascend Collection" of Choice Hotels.

I hope you will consider returning, we would love to see you here again.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    251
    81
    17
    7
See reviews for
125
302
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kensington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

A european family (grandmother, mother, with an infant and also an active three year old kid) travelling through California, bursted into the hotel one late Thursday evening after several unsuccessful attempts getting a place to sleep at a reasonable price in Napa valley. We were immediately booked into two adjacent rooms, the staff swiftly brought us everything we needed and were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were far better than we would have expected at this price; spacious, but cosy, fine furniture, good beds, nice bathrooms and everything was very clean and in good shape. Although the hotel lies close to the highway, we did not hear any noise from the road, the windows were good and the room airconditioned. Only downside is that we missed a place to relax outside the room in the evening. Breakfast was tasy and simple. Thumbs up for this inn!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the west side of the hotel, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Elisabeth I,

Thank you so much for posting a review. We so enjoyed having you stay with us.
I am glad that we were able to accommodate your requests.

We had just completed a renovation in July, with new carpet, new beds, bedding,
and flat screen televisions. Our breakfast buffet and wine pouring began then as
well.

I am sure happy that you got to enjoy yourselves and take it easy while you were here.
I know with a family sometimes it is not easy, but it is nice to hear that we could make
your stay a memorable one.

Hope to see you again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked the Napa Winery Inn per my son's recommendation. Our room was very spacious but cozy. The continental breakfast was tasty and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. the property is clean and well maintaind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Robbie J,

Thank you so much for writing a review & please thank your son for recommending us. We just love hearing from our guests, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

We are glad that you liked the breakfast. Our new hot breakfast, and breakfast area is one of the improvements made during our renovation this past July.

We hope you can come back soon and enhoy our next phase of improvements: Our new lobby area, with new front desk. Plus, we have just been approved to join the Ascend Collection in February - and we're adding more improvements later this year.

Thanks again. Hope to see you the next time you are in Napa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Arrived Napa late from SFO and didn't want to break the bank for a room. This Quality Inn fit the bill, newly redone, large clean room, very quiet, and full breakfast, all for $98. Plus tax. Easy to get to off the highway. Very comfortable beds, front desk staff very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpperWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Jathat,

Thank you for posting a review. I can tell you that we love hearing from our guests, good and bad.

We are happy to hear that you had a good experience during your stay. Our breakfast is just one of the many improvements we have made since July.

We do have a great staff and I am glad they made a good impression on you.

We are continuing our improvements, with a new lobby and front desk, and we were approved to join the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels in February. We are all very excited and hope that you will be able to return soon and see all of the new wonderful changes.

Thanks again. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked Napa Winery Inn as we were bringing our small yorkie with us on this trip. She was treated like a princess. They were very accommodating in working around her schedule. Very clean, well maintained. Breakfast buffet was tasty. Staff were all super friendly. Couldn't of asked for a better stay, will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Napa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. K,

Thank you for sending in a review. I have to say it was our pleasure treating Nicki like the princess that she it. We just loved her.

Our housekeeping staff is the best. They all love their jobs, and you can certainly tell that they do.

We hope that you can return soon and see all the wonderful improvements just since you were here. We have been approved to join the Ascend Collection in February and we are adding more improvements later this year.

Thank you again, and give Nicki a hug for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked through a special Travelzoo offer which I think gave us a slightly lower then usual rate. However it still semed rather expensive but I suppose is a reflection of the general hotel rates in this area.
Our room was fine, nothing special but clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, being at the front of the building it overlooked HWY29 and attracted traffic noise. The trucks on this road seem to keep moving all night long so it was not a restful nights sleep.
The complimentary evening wine tasting was somewhat disappointing in that it consisted of one small glass of wine and two biscuits wih cheese. No interaction at all with the server and no offer of a top up. We did enjoy the buffet breakfast and our limited time at the small pool.
These are nice, friendly people. I wish them well with their new venture but I suggest it will be difficult to sell rooms that have traffic noise.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms at the rear of the hotel might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Redhand,

Thank you for the review - we love hearing from our guests and we appreciate your feedback! I have shared with my team your review and I agree - we have nice people who have been here many years and I have a great team working with me at the hotel. Having been here for so many years myself and welcoming guests from around the world, it's still nice to hear feedback.

I read your feedback several times and I do wonder if you wouldn't have a more enjoyable visit to Napa Valley during a slower time period. You were here in the height of wine harvest. So much of the truck noise you mention was from the loaded trucks taking fresh picked grapes to the processing plants or juice to the wineries. As our guest - and to all our future guests - we are here for your comfort and we try to please and accommodate everyone.

Our hot buffet breakfast is a nice way to start your day - glad you enjoyed it! And I am sorry you were unhappy with our evening wine tasting. Most of our guests find it a nice way to relax after a full day in the valley or a nice way to start the evening. When you come back in the spring, (one of my favorite tiomes of the year...) we will have a vintner pouring wines Friday and Saturday evenings from some of our local Napa Valley wineries.

Again, when your travels find you in Napa Valley, we hope you think of us with kindness and give us another try.

Thanks again,

Liz and the Napa Winery Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.4 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#24 of 30 in Napa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Winery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Winery Inn

Property: Napa Winery Inn
Address: 1998 Trower Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Napa
#13 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Winery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the wine country, the Napa Winery Inn offers convenience to Napa Valley’s favorite wineries, restaurants, and attractions. The casual, boutique atmosphere of the Napa Winery Inn provides the perfect base for a relaxed and enjoyable visit to Napa Valley. Napa Winery Inn is less than ten minutes from both downtown Napa and from the town of Yountville. A daily hot breakfast buffet, wi-fi, and an evening manager's wine tasting are all complimentary. Oventi Restaurant is adjacent and Fume Bistro is within walking distance. Pets are also welcome in this pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Napa Winery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Inn Of Napa Hotel Napa
John Muir Hotel
John Muir Napa
Napa Winery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing