We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay for the second time, will return again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
mountain view, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay for the second time, will return again.”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was my second time staying at the HGI. First time due to last minute booking, I got a room near the ground floor elevator and front lobby - extremely noisy. The room itself was comfortable and large. The second time around, I stayed in a room with a whirlpool and king size bed - once again the room was extremely spacious and I did get an excellent night sleep as it was the room in the corner. Views from the hotel are nothing special - even the second floor room looked over a high school playground and the mountains in a distance. There is a wine hour every afternoon and they have fruit and cookies at the front desk - not sure what time they put them out. Did not try the restaurant. The hotel is very close to shopping - Whole Foods, Target etc. The staff is excellent and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    330
    87
    27
    21
See reviews for
163
462
21
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,065 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed 1 night in this hotel and choosed it because of its situation and as I'm HHonors member. Booked in adavance and had a reasonable price for the aera but still quite high I think.
King bedded Evolution room 231 was given to us and it was very large with 2 flat screen TV's, a sofa and fridge. Free wi-fi was available as well as 2 bottled Water. Nice touch after a long drive. Location is out of the centre of Napa but still ok to drive. If you go North, you'll find all the Wineries. Going South, check the Outlet stores for some shopping.
Check-in and check out was good, breakfast choice and quality was nice but the waitress was a little "stressed".

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and spent time in Sonoma & Napa valley. It's VERY convenient for a run up the Napa Hwy. The staff was very helpful in pointing out what places to visit and even provided tasting passes at the front desk that got you in free or 2 for 1. The room we had was #327 (handicapped). It was a large room, very spacious. Nice amenities. When we arrived there was something amis in the bath, but I didn't realize what it was until the next day. There were 2 holes in the wall, next day they put in a towel rack there. LOL I guess it had come off recently. Now it's fixed. Loved having the mircowave and sm. fridge in the room. Free internet. There was also a nice pool/sauna outside (but it was too cold to use IMHO). Game room and rec area with big tv in the lobby too. The fitness room was tiny, only a couple of machines in there. The restaurant does a nice buffet breakfast - omlettes were great. If you friend them on Facebook you'll get 1 comped bfast buffet. They even had cookies out in the evening. A nice place to stay while visiting Napa Valley.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaerielsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Recently returned from our first trip to Napa Valley. We found the Hilton Garden inn to be a great place to stay. Staff was very helpful. Lobby area was lovely for relaxing and having coffee and cookies which are provided all day. Breakfast was excellent and if you friend the hotel on Facebook you receive a free breakfast. Our room was comfortable and quiet. Nice pool area and hot tub. We did the Wine Train package with tasting at six wineries. Great place and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Hilton Garden Inn had a great package we booked which included a Wine Train adventure (LOVED it - great food and a really unique and good time!), a wine pass to 6 different wineries (some of which hasd tasting fees of $20 per person which we got for FREE with the pass). For our short Napa trip, we couldn't have done much better. Call them to book - their website doesn't book it properly.

The people working at the desk were very friendly - always greeting us with a hello and were helpful for getting around. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and modern (flat screen with included HBO). Our room was beautiful and spacious (as well as a spacious bathroom). Free USA Today in the morning. Free fruit and coffee in the lobby. If you become a Facebook fan you get a free breakfast coupon (they have a yummy breakfast that cost about $12). On the weekends they have an in-house tasting, but we were there mid-week.

The one detractor is that they are not within walking distance of any wine bars/tasting rooms and they don't have a shuttle downtown either. We knew before we booked and were expecting it, but just one small complaint.

As far as recommended wineries, we loved them all :-) Here is what we visited and what I remember of cost etc.:
--Black Stallion (hotel wine pass ~$10/person without) They had a lovely wine bar but were building an outdoor area that will be really beautiful when it's finished!
--Van den ?Heuval? (hotel wine pass ~$5/person without) Very small, not a very nice tasting area but made up for it in personal attention and delicious wine. Known for their late harvest wines.
--Gustavo Thrace tasting room downtown Napa -free- must watch the movie Bottle Shock before you visit Napa -- the man behind Gustavo Thrace is in it - fun!
--Uncorked Napa downtown tasting room - free with printable online coupon - yummy and fun.
--Wine Train to Grgich - Wonderful experience. Gourmet meal on the way up. Nice tour and tasting. They gave us each a memento wine glass as well. On the way back down we sat in the dessert car (both delicious and beautiful).
--Mumm Napa - (~$15/person) Beautiful sitting area to taste their sparkling wines (and another sitting area to taste their more expensive ones as well). They have an online coupon to print off before you go on their website.
V. Sattui - they have a museum and picnic area for items purchased there, we didn't get a chance to taste because we got there too late :-(
Alpha and Omega - (hotel wine pass - $20/person without) - Beautiful vineyard and tasting room

That's all we had time for in a day and a half since most wineries seem to close at 5. Oenotri is a fun Italian restaurant downtown where we had Salumi (salami tasting plate) which was a new experience for us (and also delicious).

We want to go back already!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meganjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Works fine if B & B reservations are all full. We like B & B's, but many months in advance they were all full. This Hilton Garden Inn was just fine. Beds were comfortable, it was quiet, there was a frig for white wine bought at the tastings, pool was nice at the end of the day. One outside table near the pool for take out dinner, was full the first night we were there, so didn't plan on it the second night.

Wine tasting at hotel is too early for guests who are still out and about. We got back about 6 pm and it was closing early--the winery tastings have more ambiance. There is a grocery store/take out place, easy driving distance about 6 blocks south of the hotel, just south of the Starbucks (can't remember name of store). Great food, coffee, wine selection. Trader Joe's, Whole Foods across the highway.--have to drive there. Walked to the Marriott for dinner, was just mediocre.

The Silverado Highway drive out of Napa is very nice. Ox-Bow market area was nice, free parking. Only takes an hour or so to visit there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denver6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Because of previous positive reviews for this hotel on TripAdvisor, we stayed here. We found the staff very personable, the room spacious and clean, and the breakfast personnel welcoming. We have stayed at other hotels in the Napa area where the rooms were so dingy that we didn't even want to look. This hotel, however, had very nice furniture, a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows to choose from, and a nice bathroom. The only minor flaw was that the air-conditioning fan was a bit too loud, and there was no way to turn it down (It was either "on" or "off" with no way to moderate the noise), so we slept without a/c since the weather was fairly cool anyway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calif0rniadreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
0.1 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Napa

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Address: 3585 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Napa
#7 Family Hotel in Napa
#8 Business Hotel in Napa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Napa 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Napa hotel in Napa, California is one hour from San Francisco (in the heart of Napa Valley Wine Country). Enjoy complimentary WiFi, daily cooked-to-order breakfast in our on-site restaurant, evening room service, a heated outdoor pool/hot tub, complimentary 24-hour fitness room, 24-hour business center, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry and a 100% smoke-free facility. All rooms include microwaves, mini-refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee machines with tea service. We also have 1,200 sq. ft. of meeting space for your next Napa, CA meeting at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Napa Hotel Napa
Napa Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Napa
Hilton Garden Inn Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing