We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Swish and Spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Napa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Swish and Spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very spacious rooms, and a free bottle of wine with a "Like" on facebook (you can remove the like after collecting your wine!). The room was furnished in a contemporary manner, with fairly new fittings. The bed was huge and very comfortable - equipped with a device to set the hardness of your mattress. The hotel is slightly out of Napa town centre, but it is easy to get to with a car. Overall a comfortable room to come back to after a day of wining and dining.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CY_JL_traveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    287
    77
    23
    17
See reviews for
133
404
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is our first stay at a Hilton hotel, maybe we had high expectations, but this hotel falls short in many respects. The room size was average (although we were told at check-in that the room was unusually large) and the bathroom was average too, both in size and in quality, comparable to a Comfort Inn room and bathroom. We had to change our room because the heating equipment was unusually noisy, and the noise in the new room was only slightly better. The carpet also looked dirty and old.

The only pluses were the friendly and efficient staff, and the excellent cooked-to-order breakfast. So we would definitely recommend going for a breakfast-included package when you book. The location is within 10 miles of major wineries in Napa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ageorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at The Garden Inn during a trip to Napa in September.

HOTEL
The hotel is impeccably clean--both common spaces and rooms. The decor is modern without feeling sterile, with a touch of California cozy. They also offer niceties such as cookies at check-in, board games, a library of books to read and free wine tastings, fruit and coffee service. The evening wine tastings were great, and offered at an hour after most wineries in the area had closed.

LOCATION
This hotel is located near the city of Napa. Although it may not offer scenic views like the inns tucked away in the vineyard territory, it's a short and pleasant drive to Napa, Sonoma and everything in between. It's also just up the road from several restaurants, Whole Foods and Trader Joes.

STAFF
Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed everyone we interacted with.

PARKING
Free and easy.

PRICE
We booked a great B&B deal at the Garden Inn. Breakfast was buffet-style and delicious. A great way to start the day. The price of the room was extremely reasonable and competitive to similiar hotels in the area.

TIP
Follow the hotel on Twitter and they'll give you a free bottle of wine. Check in on FourSquare for a free glass of house wine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9apricots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottcurran, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Napa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel! I am so glad to know that your visit here exceeded your expectations and that our staff played a key role in your experience! Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in making sure the hotel is spotless and it's great to here that we are meeting those goals.

Thank again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope you enjoyed your bottle of Hilton Garden Inn wine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Height, NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend , the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and have separate work spaces. The location makes it easy to get to anywhere in the Napa wine region.
The breakfast is cooked to order with a wide assortment of dishes,that include some healthy choices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have never stayed at a hotel with more noise! We are Hilton diamond members and we stayed here for two nights to explore the Napa region and although we had a great trip, we also didn't sleep for 2 full nights. The walls were paper thin. I could hear the people above us walking (it sounded like sumo wrestlers were going at it). I could hear the baby next door cry. I could hear people passing our room in the hallway. It was so noisy. Then at 7 am the cleaning crew comes pounding on the door to clean the room (rude), but when they started the vacuum cleaner, it was so loud that we just had to get up. Nothing worse than noise torture on vacation.

Now the rooms were spacious, the bed was comfortable and the rooms were totally clean. The front desk people were not all that friendly and when we complained about the noise issue, they moved us into another room, which was still noisy, but less noisy, since it was at the end of the hallway.

The breakfast was average, but, the wait staff was very friendly and efficient. When I spend $250 for a hotel room, I expect to get a good night of sleep and it didn't happen at this hotel.

If going to Napa, I would recommend another hotel. This is coming from someone who almost always stays at Hilton properties and is a diamond member.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottcurran, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Napa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas of opportunity. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods we certainly do encourage for guests comfort and safety that they contact the front office so we can calm the issue. I apologize that you're comfort was interrupted by other guests and I have shared your review with our security team to ensure that this is not an issue in the future. I am very glad we were able to relocate you to a different room but regret any inconvenience to your trip. I do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the day of our stay as we were scrambling to extend our stay in West Coast due to Hurricane Sandy.

The hotel was nice for the price and in line with the other Hilton Garden Inn we stayed at in Frankfurt airport. Service was polite and helpful, rooms and lobby were clean, gym was small (1 treadmill, 1 cross trainer and some weights) but at least it was 24 hours. Complimentary coffee was available at the front desk and if you follow them on twitter they will throw in a free bottle of wine. Free on site parking and breakfast was us13 per pax (we didn't eat). Front desk was helpful - we arrived back late for check our from our hot air balloon trip and they let us check out late without charges.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h00ked0ntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I agree with other reviewers that the rooms here are spacious, well-equipped, with comfy beds and really clean. The service was also very efficient and personable. However, two major negatives keep me from giving a stronger review--noise and location. I have had quieter night's sleep in cheap roadside motels. The sound really carried, and we could hear our neighbors' just-average-volume conversations word for word. Plus every step anyone took. We had a 3:00 a.m. "pacer" overhead, but I just thank our lucky stars he/she didn't also decide to watch tv, argue or . . . We are really glad we only stayed the one night--would have probably switched hotels if we had intended to stay longer in the area.

The other negative for us--which I readily acknowledge might not be a problem for others--is that this hotel is NOT located near the center of downtown Napa, but rather a few miles north along the freeway on a frontage road. There's really nothing there except other hotels, gas station, and small shopping mall. In the morning, we packed up and left right away. We skipped breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that, but went into Napa for a delightful brunch and riverside/town wander instead.

So, overall--just fine, but for the money would have really liked better sound-proofing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie31774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#11 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Napa

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Address: 3585 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Napa
#7 Family Hotel in Napa
#8 Business Hotel in Napa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Napa 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Napa hotel in Napa, California is one hour from San Francisco (in the heart of Napa Valley Wine Country). Enjoy complimentary WiFi, daily cooked-to-order breakfast in our on-site restaurant, evening room service, a heated outdoor pool/hot tub, complimentary 24-hour fitness room, 24-hour business center, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry and a 100% smoke-free facility. All rooms include microwaves, mini-refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee machines with tea service. We also have 1,200 sq. ft. of meeting space for your next Napa, CA meeting at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Napa Hotel Napa
Napa Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Napa
Hilton Garden Inn Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing