We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this tasting!”
Review of Caldwell Winery

Caldwell Winery
Ranked #54 of 189 things to do in Napa
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved this tasting!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We would never have found this place had it not been for Intimate Wine Tours. What a great time we had meeting with John and hearing his story. We felt welcomed and right at home. We would have loved to stay longer and are really looking forward to our wine shipment. Thanks John!

Ed and Elena Mayo

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward and Elen... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful tasting, charming host”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The tasting room at Caldweld is absolutely beautiful! John Caldwell is incredibly charming and has wonderful stories. I am a fan of his wines, and have placed several orders since visiting.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KTJN26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“AWESOME Cave”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

John!!! loved your cave!!! Beautiful wine, crazy and fun owner. best crackers and cheese!!! Must go if you're lookinf for rare and fine Napa wine thats not available outside of the US!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Monchan736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite tasting in Napa”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

John Caldwell does it right. From his storytelling, to the DELICIOUS wines and cheese plate, this is a top notch experience.

You walk into an intimate cave lit with candles, and get to taste amazing wines for about 2 hours. We've gone three times with new friends each time and it's always a favorite.

The wines are sometimes pricey, but the presentation and quality of wines makes it worth it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Caldwell Winery”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Fabulous private tasting! Great wines and great atmosphere inside a hillside! We had a blast!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank khesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caldwell Winery also viewed

 

Been to Caldwell Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing