We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“water and flour crust”
Review of Ca'Momi Enoteca - CLOSED

Ca'Momi Enoteca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Soscol Avenue
Transit: From San Francisco – Take the BART to Norte El Cerrito - from El Cerrito BART station - Take the Vine Bus #29 Express to Napa. Get off at Pearl Street – Walk towards Soscol Avenue – Go Right on Soscol – Go towards 1st Street – Go Left on 1st. Oxbow Public Market will be on your left – 610 1st Street…ask people…we are very friendly in Napa! Ciao!
Description: We were born and raised in Italy and believe that when it comes to Italian food in the U.S., a lot has been lost in translation. We created our winery and our restaurant to pursue our passion for the true flavors of life. We believe the true flavors of authentic Italian cuisine are beautiful. Italian cuisine began with dishes made with few, simple ingredients (flavors) that were strong enough to stand on their own. In effort to capture them, we use select local organic, and Italian ingredients and prepare our dishes in strict accord with traditional regional recipes. Ca’ Momi is Italian for “House of Momi”, Stefano and co-owner Valentina’s family home in Veneto, Italy. The house was named in honor of “Momi dea Bionda”, who is legendary in the Veneto region for his fiery obsession with safeguarding his home. We believe Momi’s protective spirit is still watching our property. Our food, like our wine, is a celebration of his passions and his quest for the simple pleasures of life.
Rohnert Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“water and flour crust”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not understanding the good reviews. The dough is flour and water dough and not cooked to perfection. If you're looking for a good fire grilled crust, you won't find it here. The sausage with onions was just plain sausage- not Italian, not spiced. The onions were just plain, white onions. The ham on the other pizza was so plain, it tasted like sandwich meat and seemed plopped on at the end and not cooked. The waiter did fine, he seemed new. Oh, and they only have sugar cane drinks or something trendy, not soda. That 's right, no soda.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benandsophiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth S, Manager at Ca'Momi Enoteca, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We were very sorry to hear of your experience at Ca' Momi recently. It is always our goal to give our guests the best experience possible. From your comments we fell far short of that goal. We would first like to thank you for your feedback which we find invaluable in our efforts at improving service. We also would encourage you to ask for one of our managers to communicate your displeasure with any aspect of your visit. You felt your pizza was not cooked enough, and that is something we would want to know about and rectify. We are always glad to remake any food items that are not up to your standards or not to your liking. If you decide to give us another try we would be happy to meet you in person and assure that your experience is much better the next time.

Sincerely,
Scott Pressley

Manager
Ca' Momi Enoteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    113
    41
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Average”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Maybe this was a case of unmet high expectations, but after reading a couple of reviews, I was really looking forward to trying their pizza. The menu boasts of their uncompromisingly authentic Italian food, but somehow manages to be more of a scold than a celebration of food and dining, as I usually associate with Italian cuisine. The first thing our waiter told us was that the owners researched Italian cuisine and that the pizzas on the menu represented each of the culinary regions of Italy. So, no substitutions, no additions, just what's on the menu (although you could ask for something to be left off if you really didn't like it). This before he even asked if we wanted anything to drink.

Ironically, just last week we had dinner at the home of friends; the husband was born and raised in Italy and built his own outdoor oven for pizza and bread. I'm pretty sure he'd say his pizza was authentic...and he also says "it's pizza, put what you want on it."

Anyway, the pizza at Ca' Momi, while decent enough, certainly doesn't warrant the pretentiousness with which it's presented. The crust was tasty, bit too chewy for my taste, and the tomato sauce was bland, as was the pancetta. Overall, I'd say it was average if compared to pizza in Tuscany and certainly not as good...or as much fun...as our friend's pizzas, and certainly not worth the price, even if the ingredients are local and organic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patspaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth S, Manager at Ca'Momi Enoteca, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We were very disappointed to see your posting on Tripadvisor and to hear of your unfortunate experience at Ca' Momi. It is always our goal to deliver the best possible customer service in every instance and it is clear that we failed you during your visit. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for making the effort to provide feedback. Customer feedback is invaluable when trying to continually improve the customer experience at our restaurant.

As we say on our menu, we are "obsessively authentic" in our approach to food. This does not involve any "pretentious" owners or chefs. If anything, it is the exact opposite. We make every effort to make each customer happy with their meal but our mission can be extremely misinterpreted if we do not explain it properly, which is clearly what happened in this situation.

Our mission is to honor the traditional recipes that have made the Italian food and wine cultures among the most influential in all parts of the world. Traditional Italian food, for us, means true flavors, without additions. We therefore only strictly follow traditional Italian recipes, using with the best organic, local, and Italian ingredients available. Many recipes on our menu were developed 300 years ago in Italy and were made up of a few, simple, quality ingredients, which create exceptional dishes. While we respect all of the innovative recipes that have developed throughout the decades, we have chosen to honor the traditional Italian recipes from our ancestors that have been passed down through generations. We believe that it would be a true shame if this modernized fair came to entirely replace traditional Italian cuisine. We believe, when it comes to Italian food, that while some things have been added by this movement, so too some precious elements have been left behind. We think authentic traditional Italian cuisine is important enough to preserve, and this is all we are trying to do. We encourage guests to order items they enjoy, but we do not want to create a situation where we exhibit a lack of respect for a country with very old and deep culinary traditions. If your pizza was not enjoyable we would have been willing to find something of your liking.

That being said, you were not happy with your meal and our service did not compliment your dining experience. It is never our intention to disappoint a customer. If you ever change your mind and decide to give us another chance, please let us know when you are coming so that we can personally see to it that you have a wonderful experience. That is our goal each and every day and we are saddened that we did not accomplish that with you. We wish you all the best in life and hope that our paths cross again. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Antonio Macaluso
Ca' Momi Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Authentic Tuscan Cuisine”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The food at Ca Momi is very flavorful. Imagine a Tuscan grandmother in the back kitchen making your hearty ribollito soup, pasta,or pizzas. It's that good. If you're hungry, the food will hit the spot since the recipes are very hearty. Perfect food for a wintery night. On warmer days the have lighter options. A definite plus is pairing the food with the Ca Momi or other imported Italian wines. You are in good hands.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“SMALL AND FUN BAR”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I stopped by the bar for a tasting flight of sparkling wines and some reds. We were treated well, and reviewed the dinner menu. While we did not dine there, it appears as if the restaurant takes their menu seriously. They try to stay true to the Italian tradition in preparing their dishes, and the food appears to be fresh. While I would not devote an entire evening to the restaurant because it is quite small, and more of a bar in the middle of the room, I would certainly drop by for a drink or a quick bite.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GarfieldGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant at Oxbow Market”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A very nice lunch with Dalton (who isn't too hard to look at on top of his excellent service). Service was prompt and the meal was excellent. You can't beat the location, either, with the market complex just outside your door.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ica1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca'Momi Enoteca also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing