We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude slow service”
Review of The Kitchen Door

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Kitchen Door
Ranked #19 of 286 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This is in the Ox Bow Market in Napa.
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rude slow service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Food is also underwhelming. I don't understand the high ratings for this dive.

With all the alternatives nearby in the Oxbow Market it's a wonder that the Kitchen Door isn't closed.

For the prices they charge I would expect better.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    133
    45
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good Short Ribs”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I shared an order of Korean Style Short Ribs with a soya glaze and mushroom, vegetable & bacon fried rice. It was enough for a light lunch but the short ribs were sliced paper thin and may not be enough for someone with a hearty appetite since there were only three of them. The rice was delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanAntonio
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

After reading reviews on this restaurant, I was quite disappointed. First, they did not offer gluten-free products. I ended up having the Mixed vegetables grilled with noodles which was VERY GOOD. I asked for Diet Coke and got some fancy diet soda which cost twice as much and didn't taste as good, but my fault for not sending it back. The real deal breaker was my hubby's hamburger, which was supposed to be medium rare, states that on the menu, but shows up rare. I like my meat on the rare side but it looked like raw hamburger lightly seared. The manager came by to ask how we liked everything. Hubby asked if he thought the burger was medium rare and the guy said yes! Truly irritated hubby.

The flatbread is extremely good. Too bad they didn't have a gluten-free version.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShootingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“s'mores!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Food and service were outstanding!! We arrived very late and were still able to get in a full meal!! Our waitress was super sweet making sure we got all the food we needed before the kitchen closed. I hope they keep that homemade graham cracker s'more on the menu - soooo good!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kufever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We had the Korean style ribs and the veal sweetbreads both really really good. Service was ok but not great. We would go back and have the same thing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Door also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to The Kitchen Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing