We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great, clean inn perfect for our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Adelaide
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great, clean inn perfect for our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our first visit to Napa and we booked a room at the Hawthorn Suites online. The staff in reception were friendly and very helpful, reccommending places to grab some lunch (Oxbow Markets) and a wine tour provider (Platypus).

Our room was spacious, clean, modern furnishings and the bed was perfect comfort. The pool and spa were great, however we couldn't find the towels at the pool so it was a cold dash back to our room one morning. The gym was minimal but we enjoyed the walk into downtown Napa.

Buffet breakfast had a good variety and I would definately stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LozBozAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leilani K, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Napa Valley. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities the property has to offer. Please know that you never have to make a quick dash to the rooms with no towels. Staff members are at your service 24 hours a day to bring additional towels to the pool.

It sounds like you had a chance to truly explore our beautiful downtown and historic wine region. I hope that we will see you again very soon so that you can discover more gems in Napa Valley.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    262
    153
    45
    32
See reviews for
160
293
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel wasn't a suite. More like a motel. The breakfast was decent and saves money for a family of four. The staff was friendly and helpful. Across the street there was a Target and a few fast food restaurants (one family restaurant, forgot the name but their corned beef hash was excellent).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leilani K, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Napa Valley. I was sorry to hear that your stay was less than you expected. Please know that we look to "Wow" each of your guests and provide them with their own individual experience of the Napa Valley. It looks as if we were not able to provide you yet with that experience.

Please know that we are currently going through a soft remodel of our rooms that will hopefully allow you to give us another chance to impress you in a future trip to the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We get to Napa a few times a year to visit family and do touristy things. We have tried different hotels, but this was our first time at Hawthorn Suites. The verdict: a good value and a nice central location. I would have given it 3 1/2 stars, but I rounded up because it was better than I thought it would be.

What we liked: location near downtown and across the street from a strip mall (with Starbucks and IHOP in case you don't want the free breakfast), friendly front desk staff (thanks Megan for everything!), oversized mini-fridge, pool (small, but kids will love it), hot tub, "Concierge" book in room with pages full of restaurant listings and tourist info, free Wi-Fi and newspapers, heat lamp in the bathroom.

Could be better: insulation (we asked for a quiet room and got a room on the third floor in the back so at least we didn't have any traffic noise, but you'll hear the plumbing); the towels were a little too crisp for our comfort and the lighting in the room was too dim to read by.

We paid $99 plus tax, so for the money we thought this was a good value, even though we didn't eat the breakfast.

In comparison, we really like Embassy Suites for its great location, free happy hour and delicious breakfast, but the rates have gone up to around $200/night since the renovation so we haven't been back recently. We've also stayed a few times at the Holiday Inn Express on American Canyon for about $100/night, but its location is pretty far from downtown and even farther from the wineries.

We like trying different hotels, but we'd stay here again for our next visit without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel and on the top (3rd) floor will probably be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexiLocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I had to spend the night in Napa and didn't want to pay for a high end hotel. Hawthorn fit our budget and we were very happy with their services.
The hotel is very clean, the bed was very good and they have complimentary breakfast.
We will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Carmen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
1.7 mi away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
3.9 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#11 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#22 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
Address: 314 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-4006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Inn & Suites Napa Valley provides exceptional, yet affordable, boutique style hotel accommodations in downtown Napa in the heart of the Napa Valley wine country, with in-room spa tubs, complimentary breakfast, and high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Hawthorn Suites Napa
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Napa Valley CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing