We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Do Wine Tour”

Intimate Wine Tours
Ranked #7 of 230 Food & Drink in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a boutique wine tour company, specializing in small and affordable private tours. We have some of the most affordable wine tour rates in the industry. Our staff of concierges has developed close relationships with many wineries and tasting room hosts. Our goal is to provide all our guests with a memorable and exclusive wine tasting experience. Our concierges and hospitality consultants possess years of expert Wine Country experience and are knowledgeable of both Sonoma and Napa County winery appellations.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must Do Wine Tour”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My sister-in-law and I took our first trip to Napa. It was a last minute trip and we both were super busy, so I decided to book a wine tour to help eliminate some planning. I researched on tripadvisor and found Intimate Wine Tours. Upon calling Susan, she helped recommend hotels, restaurants, and gave general information of the area to help speed up our trip planning, not to mention that she arranged and planned the best wine tour for us!! She included our suggestions and she picked some great wineries for us to visit and picked a great lunch spot that was convenient. Our driver, Josh was great- super knowledgeable and genuinely interested in making our day perfect!! After talking to some of the people at our hotel about their wineries/tours- we quickly realized that we lucked out on the locations we had visited. Thanks so much Josh and Susan for helping to make our Napa trip such a fun and memorable experience. We hope to visit again soon and work with you all!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovemylabs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etrifecta, General Manager at Intimate Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
On behalf of the entire Intimate Wine Tours' team we truly thank you for your business. Susan does an amazing job organizing and putting together the perfect wine tour. Josh is fantastic and one of our best wine tour drivers. We are so pleased and it was our pleasure create such a perfect day. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the Napa/Sonoma wine country in the near future.
With warm regards,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    16
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

As you read reviews of wine touring companies in Napa Valley and try to decide which one to use
just skip over Intimate. I had the nightmare of trying to communicate with Susan. Her follow up is horrible and quite frankly she is just inept. This is not a person who should be dealing with details.
Buyer Beware....just move on

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank ChicagoBiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etrifecta, General Manager at Intimate Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Normally, I would not dignify this individual's completely unfounded and erroneous allegations with a response. However, in the essence of defending Susan's tireless commitment and conscientious dedication towards Intimate Wine Tours, a managerial response is absolutely necessary.

First off, Susan is extremely attention to detail and overly organized when booking an Intimate Wine Tour clients' schedule. Her paramount concern and responsibility is to meet the clients' personal preference regarding wine. As evidenced by the 58 five star reviews by previous clients, (where Susan's name is PERSONALLY mentioned,) her attention to detail is second to none. Therefore, we let the 58 five star reviews speak for themselves regarding Susan's excellence and dedication towards Intimate Wine Tours.
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We feel so lucky to have been hooked up with Intimate Wine Tours through the Fairmont Hotel. My husband called Susan who arrange our three days in Napa to perfection. All of the exclusive wineries we visited were such a unique experience that it is hard to pick our best day. Susan handled things to the the smallest of details ensuring that every winery was prepared for us and accommodated my gluten allergies. She even gave me extra snacks just in case.

Our experience during the tours was unbelievable. Tom our driver was very accommodating and on top of things. When we were running late which happened a lot he took care of calling the wineries and ensuring that we wouldn't miss a single moment. He was very attentive to all of our needs including getting lunch for use when he knew maybe we better eat.

Thank you so much for making our anniversary extra special and completely unforgettable!

Ed and Elena Mayo

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edward and Elen... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etrifecta, General Manager at Intimate Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We know you have many choices when visiting the Napa wine country and we thank you for deciding to choose Intimate Wine Tours. One of the many advantages of booking with our company is our ability to schedule appointments at some very exclusive wineries where we have developed very close relationships. Moreover, Susan making the gluten free accommodation is just another example of her tireless efforts and commitment towards the client. Furthermore, it was our pleasure to be a part of your Anniversary trip wine tour. We look forward to seeing you again soon and to provide you with another exceptional wine tour with Intimate Wine Tours.
With warm regards,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
“The only wine tour you need in Napa”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable day in Napa thanks to Intimate Wine Tours. From our booking to the tour with our guide Jim, every detail was thought about and planned. I have no regrets using them to plan our first trip to Napa, in fact, when we come back to visit Sonoma, I am calling them again! When Susan planned our day she took into account what our favourite wines were and the day went perfectly. Jim provided us professional and knowledgeable assistance all day long, introduced us at wineries, rescheduled our following appointments when one tour took a bit longer...every detail was considered and we couldn't have appreciated it more! To top it off, we had such a wonderful day with Jim. He not only drove us everywhere and kept us on schedule, but we so appreciated his warm camaraderie, courtesy and enthusiasm! He even called and booked us a reservation at a wonderful restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed. I have no hesitation recommending Intimate Wine Tours to anyone. Book them for your next trip - you won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank smithh05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etrifecta, General Manager at Intimate Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you again for your business and we are so pleased that you had such a wonderful wine tour with Jim. He is an excellent driver and truly enjoys the company of the clients. Susan's attention to detail, coupled with her professional courtesy, is second to none and keeps the wheels in motion at Intimate Wine Tours. We look forward to seeing you again and to provide you with another exceptional wine tour with Intimate Wine Tours.
With warm regards,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
“Terrific!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Girlfriend and I spent the day touring around Sonoma a week ago and had an absolutely terrific time. Our driver / tour guide was super friendly and helpful, and very flexible to our needs and schedule. This is absolutely the way to see (and taste) Sonoma! After hitting four wineries in a day, I was glad I had abandoned any notion of driving ourselves around.

I will say that to make the best of this trip, you should have some idea of wineries that you would like to hit... the (very nice) woman at Intimate put together a long list of places for us to potentially go, but it was far more than we could hit in a day, and I didn't really know much about the wineries and how to narrow them down for the day (our tour guide helped a bit with this). I think you would be well-served to do some independent research on wineries you'd like to visit before your trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATG57722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etrifecta, General Manager at Intimate Wine Tours, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We know you have many choices when visiting the Napa and Sonoma wine country and we thank you for your business. Our ability to narrow down and focus your wine tour criteria and itinerary to a few select wineries is one of our paramount goals. Susan does a wonderful job answering your questions and scheduling your wine tour appointments. We look forward to seeing you again soon and to provide you with another exceptional wine tour with Intimate Wine Tours.
With warm regards,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intimate Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Intimate Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing