We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice find in Napa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Colorado
1 review
“A Nice find in Napa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Great little hotel in the town of Napa. Weekday prices were great, Especially given the small breakfast and happy hour wine and cheese that are included. Front desk staff were very helpful. We had a nice two night stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandisWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
916-925-5080, Public Relations Manager at Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for your comments about The Bel Abri Hotel. We strive everyday to provide our guests with outstanding service and a good value. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    117
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
23
254
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

I'm not sure some of the people who wrote reviews below have stayed at the same place. We have been to places all over the world and I cannot really criticise Bel Abri. It is not a 5* hotel but doesn't pretend to be as is reflected in the price. The check-in was swift and simple. Chris gave us plentiful information about the wineries & amenities in the area plus many discount vouchers for wineries and restaurants. The room was large, clean and homely with a nice fireplace. The bed was confy and contrary to some of the reviews there were complimentary toiletries and handy tea/coffee making facilities. Free wine and cheese each evening was also a nice touch. Bel Abri is not located in the centre of town but a short taxi ride in the evening costs only a few dollars so it is not a great inconvenience and we did not notice noise from the surrounding roads. The staff provided us with a book of sample menus and offered suggestions for restaurants plus they made our bookings. Or only disappointment was that we couldn't stay there on our final night as they were fully booked.
Overall I would reccomend staying here; the staff are friendly, the rooms pleasant and it is good value for what you get. If you are after 5* suroundings and goose down pillows stay somewhere else but be prepared to pay for it. Stay here for personal service, good quality rooms and a very enjoyable stay in Napa.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
916-925-5080, Public Relations Manager at Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn. Our goal is to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere for our guests who want to enjoy everything that Napa Valley has to offer. We are so sorry that we could not accommodate you on your last night however we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

I have stayed in many places in the Napa valley, as I live only an hour or so from the town and we visit often...and this may be one of the best hotels in the Napa valley. We were celebrating my Birthday weekend and we arrived at the Inn very early. We didn't expect to be able to check in. We just wanted to leave our car while we took a limo around to the wineries. We were greeted by a wonderful man at the front desk who had the personality of your best friend! He was more than happy to check us in and he advised us that our room was ready.
The room was great. We stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor with a King bed. The room hosted a fireplace, jet tub, huge shower, cathedral ceilings, chandelier and sofa...not to mention the fluffy bathrobes, snacks and bath salts. The room was clean and they even turned the heater on for us so it wasn't cold when we returned. Oh and how could I pass up an opportunity to talk about the sheets. Oh my…I have never felt such soft sheets in my life. They are really something to take in!!!
Returning after our day at the wineries, we found a bottle of Champagne waiting for us in the room. We found out later that it was from the hotel to celebrate my birthday. What a nice touch!!!
The wine and cheese reception was nice. Nothing too fancy, but some great wines and a nice choice of cheese and veggies. It is also nice to meet the other couples staying at the Inn.
Breakfast....how can you beat getting breakfast delivered to your room!!?? It wasn't a huge spread...but we had French toast and bacon and it was very good.

Location...great if you are wine tasting during the day and would like a little evening entertainment as long as you are ok taking a cab to the entertainment. You cannot walk to the down town area from this Inn. However a cab ride is only $5. You will notice in the Napa Valley, all of the wineries close between 4:30 and 6 and if you stay in St. Helena, Rutherford, Oakville, etc you don't have much of an offering of evening entertainment. You pretty much have dinner and turn in. Calistoga and Napa seem to be the only places with music or nice lounges to enjoy the rest of your evening.

You would never know from the outside of this Inn that it would be so nice inside. Definitely don't choose this hotel for the view or lavish balcony's...as neither is great. But if you want a beautiful room with all of the "extras" and fantastic customer service then this is it!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAKM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
916-925-5080, Public Relations Manager at Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for your kind and generous comments about the Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn. We are gald that you celebrated your birthday at the Bel Abri. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Beautilful Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

Ok, after reading the reviews I choose to stay here. And everyone is right it is a beautiful French style country inn from the inside. The location is ideal to be close to downtown Napa and of course all the famous wineries.

If you are expecting a B&B, I would look elsewhere, you will not have the tranquil setting of most B&B’s that are located outside of Napa, such as in Kenwood or Yountville. However, this place is excellent. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is good, I would compare it to the Embassy Suites morning hot breakfast. B&B may be a bit of a mis-category for this place, maybe more like an excellent inn.

As for the person who said this place is located in a sketchy area, think about this, the Bel Abri is located directly across from the famous Best Western Elm Inn (ranked #1 hotel in Napa on trip advisor at the time of this review).

In short, if you want a B&B stay outside of Napa, if you want a warm and cozy place that includes breakfast at an affordable price, and ideally located, look no further.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

My husband & I stayed at the Bel Abri for two days recently. Prior to our trip we spent some time searching for affordable accomodations in Napa that would be a pleasant place to stay. We chose the Bel Abri & we were not disappointed with our stay there. The bedding was luxurious & the room was very spacious. The free evening wine reception was accompanied with a generous offering of cheese, crackers, olives, and fresh veggies. After a long day it was nice to come back and relax with other guests in the comfortable lobby area. Our only disappointment was the breakfast served. Although the portions were generous, the quality of the food was average at best. It would have been nice to have been served whole grain French toast with real maple syrup for example. Otherwise, this place served our lodging needs and the staff was considerate and accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlynJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This inn is nothing to look at when you drive up, but once inside you are a world away. It feels very comfortable and the hostess was very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a fireplace room when we reserved and stayed on the second floor. The room was elegantly furnished and welcoming. The fireplace added that romantic touch, as did the soaking salts for the tub. The room had a very comfortable bed, a nice sized bathroom, and a table and chairs for our breakfast, which was delivered. The honor bar was a great touch and was very reasonably priced. If you don't mind being a few blocks away from downtown Napa, this a great little B&B.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quickdraw1324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, KY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

While the staff were friendly enough, the room was underwhelming with no view. Any bed and breadkfast my wife have been in had free snacks and drinks--usually fresh cookies. This place had an "honor bar" where you had to pay for snacks and drinks. While it was nice to have breakfast delivered to our room, the food was cafeteria style in quality--you got to choose three items from the menu. Our first day was cereal, fresh fruit, and toast--how boring (and you need a bigger breakfast before going to wine tastings!) I will say that staff were accomodating when we had to leave early and miss breakfast--they packed a to go sack for us that had fruit bars and juice. They also let us use their computer to check our bags before our flight the next day. Oh and the evening wine tasting--ugh, poor quality wines.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gooseberry83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#24 of 30 in Napa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
2.5 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#12 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn

Property: Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn
Address: 837 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn has the charm of a Inn and the amenities of a boutique hotel. Newly renovated in a modern, classic style, our intimate Hotel is designed to provide you with the utmost comfort and privacy. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Napa Valley California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Abri Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Country Inn Napa
Napa Country Inn
Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing