We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old is New again !”
Review of The Uptown Theatre

The Uptown Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$316.00*
and up
Northern California Winery Tours
Ranked #1 of 4 Fun & Games in Napa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Uptown Theatre is Northern California's Premiere Live Music and Entertainment Theater! Nestled in the heart of downtown Napa, this stunningly restored art deco masterpiece from 1937 showcases only the finest acts in music and comedy. A historic landmark, the Uptown offers a phenomenal, intimate live show experience with world class sound and site lines. Distance from the last row to the stage is only 90 feet making every seat truly a great seat! Visit our website for a virtual tour of the stunning interior. This is a must-see hot spot for anyone visiting the Napa Valley and a full schedule of entertainment can be found on our website. New shows are continually added so check back often when planning your trip to Napa! Upcoming Shows Include: Charlie Musselwhite 2/19, Indigo Girls 2/20, The Charlie Daniels Band 2/26, Dana Carvey 3/4, John Hiatt 3/12, Peter Frampton 3/19, David Crosby 3/20, Jackie Greene 3/26, Patty Griffin 3/31, Crystal Bowersox 4/29, David Sedaris 5/5, Los Lonely Boys 5/20
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Napa, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The old is New again !”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

As a Child I have been to this Theater many times for shows ,But never like this ! Since it's remodeling,their venue has been world class Live Entertainers,I've sat all around this Theater,and don't believe there is any bad spots,of course mid center is the best ! no complaints about sound,this Theater is small enough for Intimate,live performances ! I've seen some wonderful performers that I otherwise would not have traveled to,there are several good restaurants ,within a block or two. free parking on the street,or 3 free parking garages within walking distance .Area is safe,no thugs hanging around .. make it a night to remember ! Always check TripAdvisor ! Have a Good Time ! Blessings for a Happy New Year !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickHawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyfrench13, Public Relations Manager at The Uptown Theatre, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you Rick for your comments about Uptown Theatre! As you can see, the old theatre was lovingly restored and with great attention to detail and a state of the art sound and video system. We love hearing from locals who visited the theatre as kids for movies and now again as adults catching premier headline entertainment. See you soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    31
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Film Festival Venue”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We've attended several events here, most recently the Napa Valley Film Festival. It is an excellent venue and I'm so happy they are participating in this incredible festival. Thanks Uptown Theatre!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyfrench13, Public Relations Manager at The Uptown Theatre, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you Joan for your comment! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Uptown Theatre and the Film Festival. We LOVE being part of the amazing Napa Valley Film Festival and their impending success and growth. See you #NVFF2014 or sooner we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Show place”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have been to the Uptown 3 times(Glen Campbell and Bozz Scaggs included) and each time the experience was well worth the price. Almost all seats give a great view (some in the far back are a bit distant), but the sound is great from all locations. Near downtown restaurants and wine bars. Food, full bar with great wines sold before and during breaks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyfrench13, Public Relations Manager at The Uptown Theatre, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking to time to comment on your experience at The Uptown Theatre in Napa. Happy to hear you have noticed the state of the art sound system and appreciate the overall Uptown Experience! Cheers to the New Year and hope you get to enjoy more shows in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great shows in an art deco environment”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Every seat in the Uptown Theatre is good. The acoustics are wonderful and the art deco atmosphere the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyfrench13, Public Relations Manager at The Uptown Theatre, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments Judy. Glad you appreciated the detailed restoration and effort to create the finest entertainment experience in Napa! See you again soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A great place to see and hear music.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A wonderful restored theater. It's true there is not a bad seat in the house. Friendly staff. The only knock is a less than adequate lobby (too small). I've seen about 8 shows there and enjoyed the experience every time. See my show reviews by visiting www.psychologicalreviewofthearts.com

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 77jaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyfrench13, Public Relations Manager at The Uptown Theatre, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your Uptown Experience! 8 shows already! Wow, THANKYOU for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Uptown Theatre also viewed

Napa, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to The Uptown Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing