We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Napa experience”
Review of Inn on Randolph

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on Randolph
Ranked #5 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Napa experience”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Inn on Randolph has a new owner, Karen, and she has created the perfect Napa retreat. I spent the weekend here with my boyfriend and his parents. Karen and her team went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed and more (e.g. stocking the parents' mini-fridge with their favorite beer, lending us a personal stereo set for tunes while we played backgammon in the garden, giving us extra bottles of wine, etc). Karen lives next door to the Inn, which allows her to give her guests space, but also provide immediate, personal attention when needed. She helped plan our itinerary, got us appointments at wineries, prepared us with maps and tasting coupons, and made dinner reservations for us in downtown Napa (a short stroll away).

Every tiny detail at this Inn is perfect. We had Frog's Leap wine in the room, heated bathroom floors and Jacuzzi tub, the cleanest, most luxurious sheets I've ever slept in (we ended up buying a set before we left!), speedy WiFi, a hot gourmet breakfast each morning... the list goes on. The Inn has updated, beautiful rooms that look like they came out of a magazine spread. None of grandma's floral wallpaper here.

I would go nowhere else for the perfect Napa experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    34
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
781
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed for long weekend at the newly and FULLY redone Inn on Randolph. Karen the new owner has literally redone this place to the studs and the entire place is perfect in every respect. Lovely pottery barn/modern cape cod type of styling. Attention to each and every detail just first rate! The property itself is large with gardens and beautiful common area living room. lovely tree lined block that is literally just a couple blocks walk to downtown napa, oxbow
market and short bike or drive to silverado wine tasting trail. It is truly an ideal place to stay in napa. The included breakfasts were terrific featuring baked goodies, great coffee, fresh squeezed juice, handmade granola with yogurt and fruits plus a hot entree. Karen is lovely
and extremely helpful like having a concierge service. She arranged rental bikes to be delivered
and pickup after our stay by a local vendor so we could cruise around town on bikes. She was
extremely helpful with wine tasting info and dinner reservations. I HIGHLY recommend this place I think it is really the top of the line accomodation in napa. and....the bed was like a cloud and the sheets are the softest most yummy sheets I have ever slept in....felt like they were coated with butter.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed last weekend at the Inn on Randolph and loved our stay. We were a group of friends from all around the world meeting in Napa for a wedding and are a picky bunch having been used to travelling and staying at pretty nice places on the way! The Inn on Randolph was exactly what we were looking for. We wanted somewhere convenient to downtown Napa (10 minutes walk), yet peaceful, with character and in a residential neighbourhood. The main house is still under renovation but Karen, the owner, was extremely accommodating and we were able to stay in four of the newly done-up cottages (one of the cottages that we had booked was completed just in time for our stay!).

On pulling up to the property, we were all immediately delighted by the lovely and well-tended grounds of the Inn. Karen and Sally (the inn-keeper) welcomed us all warmly and gave us a short tour of our cottages. The cottages are to the back of the property which gives them a nice private feel but are easily accessed from the front entrance to the property or the small car park (which has three to four spaces) at the rear. Two of the cottages (Washington and Randolph) are adjoining and the interior doors can be opened up from both sides to link the two sides. The other two cottages are stand-alone. All have a lovely entrance area of their own.

The interiors of the cottages are contemporary but also retain the character and history of the original building (original flooring, unusual built-in ironing board cupboards etc). We really appreciated the more modern finish of the interiors as none of us were too sold on the more old-fashioned heavy and floral decor that many of the other B&B's in the area seem to have. Every attention to detail has been given - from the complimentary half-bottle of local Napa red wine, cotton pads and cotton buds in a lovely glass jar, the sweet mini-jug of fresh milk in the fridge, the chilled purified water, the tiny flashlights by the bed (for people walking out late at night), the iPod compatible radio player (which allows you to listen to your own choice of tunes), the high-tech tea/coffee maker. Even the adjoining cottages which are supposed to be a little smaller than the stand-alone cottages are a very comfortable size with good sized bathrooms (and a spa tub). The weather was wonderful in Napa last weekend but we still enjoyed the option for heating flooring in the bathroom and the gas-fire places in each cottage during the more chilly evenings. There was plenty of wardrobe space and drawer space for all our belongings and well-placed hooks in the bathroom for the fluffy white towels and bathrobes. There were a couple of minor things that we asked to be sorted out (one a result of the newness of the renovation and the other as a result of the original character of the cottage) but these were dealt with quickly and satisfactorily.

Everything was very clean and you can tell that Karen has not cut corners on quality on any of the decor. One of our group would specifically like to say that she would gladly spend hours in the bathroom as it is so warm and inviting!

We cannot talk about the cottages without talking about the amazing beds. There is nothing like spending a long day out and about and then climbing into a bed that makes you relax and feel cosy immediately. The bed was of good firmness but with a deep mattress topper to give the "sinking-in" feel. We have no idea what thread-count the bedsheets were but we did not care - they were soft and just perfect!

We also had access to a separate building with a lounge area and dining table which was great for a group of friends wanting to hang out and catch up after evening activities. This was also the area that our group had breakfast in the morning. Outside there are also a few patio seating areas dotted around the property which will be lovely when the weather gets hotter.

We stayed two nights and breakfast on both days was excellent. None of us had special diets and so we all had the same breakfast. The main hot course of the breakfast is varied each day and is unusual and thoughtful. This may not suit those who prefer the usual eggs and bacon type breakfast when they stay at a B&B (although eggs and bacon were certainly in evidence as we had a delicious baked egg, cheese and mushroom concoction on day one and a thick chunk of fresh strawberry french toast with bacon on day two). The home-made granola, yoghurt, fresh fruit (varied both days) and fresh orange juice filled us up ready for the day's activities.

Service by the team was attentive but not over the top. We all felt very relaxed and, actually, very at home! We were sorry to leave at the end but looking forward to a return stay one day.

Very impressed by the job that Karen and her husband (as first time inn-owners) have done. High-quality comfort mixed with a relaxed and chilled out ambience. We were disappointed that we forgot to take photos - but the ones on the website (which has been updated) are an accuate protrayal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EWooUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperIOR, Owner at Inn on Randolph, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Wow, what a review! Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to let other travels know about your experience. We are so thrilled to have the Inn on Randolph reopened after a nine month extensive remodel and loved hosting your group!
Warmly,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent two wonderful nights at the newly-renovated Inn.  Karen Lynch, the new owner, has completely re-done the property and rooms, but has left all the history of the place fully intact.  Our room (one of five cottages to go along with the 5 rooms in the main Inn) was warm and welcoming with a gas fireplace and sheets that made you never want to get out of bed.  Bathroom floors were heated and there was even fresh cream for our coffee in the refrigerator!  The Inn is walking distance to downtown Napa (and the world-class restaurants), so we never had to worry about driving home from dinner.  Simply a perfect weekend.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn on Randolph to celebrate a great friends birthday. Although the inn is not officially open, the new owners have a few cottages/suites newly renovated and one was available for us to stay. We have to say it was phenomenal! Our suite was beautiful. Modern design, new comfortable king bed, flat screen TV on the wall just above the fireplace. Walk into your bathroom and enjoy the heated floors and double size jacuzzi tub. We turned on the fire place in our room, had a relaxing jacuzzi bath and rest before we walked down to the restaurant that Karen, the new proprietor and Inn Keeper had set up for us. Our next day Karen had arranged for a Limo to pick us up and she made reservations for our day of private wine tastings. We had a wonderful weekend! The proximity of the restaurants, (you can walk to many in downtown Napa), and the wineries make this a ideal location for anyone considering a stay in the Napa Valley. We can't wait to see The Inn on Randolph when it is finished! The owners are going over the top, with the renovation. We cannot imagine ever staying any where else! Thank you, Karen for our celebration.

Room Tip: We believe when the inn is complete, there will not be any "concerned" room locations! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We loved every minute of our stay at the Inn. We stayed in one of the beautifully restored cottages. The cozy bedroom has a king size bed with luxurious linens and down pillows... I had a hard time getting out of bed in the morning. The sitting room has a river rock fireplace and the bathroom is spacious and includes a spa tub and heated floors. Karen and Dan attended to every detail...... fresh flowers in the bedroom, a bottle of wine in the sitting room, a refrigerator stocked with fresh cream in glass bottles for our coffee and a pitcher of filtered water, robes and luxurious towels. We had our own private outdoor space complete with white picket fence, lovely landscaping and relaxing chairs. Karen and Dan were wonderful hosts. They made us feel right at home and helped us with restaurant and winery selections. We would recommend staying at the Inn on Randolph and will be back ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here in mid December in a darling cottage that was newly renovated. It was such a cozy room with a fireplace, refrigerator and in-room eating area plus room for a reading area. The bathroom was spacious and the beds were heavenly! I loved that it was all encapsulated in a white picket fence with a private outdoor seating area. What a romatic room. Another great feature is that the Inn is a short walk to shops and dinning.

The owner personally greated us upon arrival and showed us around. She also met us in the morning during breakfast to help us with ideas for the best places and wineries to visit and how to get there which was very helpful to us.

I definitely will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txcin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#2 of 22 in Napa
1,530 reviews
0.5 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Randolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Randolph

Property: Inn on Randolph
Address: 411 Randolph St, Napa, CA 94559-3374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on Randolph 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip, fresh, and luxurious with a whole new attitude. Run by young, innovative innkeepers this stunning Napa property has become the destination of choice for savvy travelers who want the intimacy of a Bed and Breakfast Inn with the elegance and amenities of a boutique hotel. Historic - but stunningly renovated with modern conveniences. Secluded - but central to everything you want from Napa. Whether you stay in the historic rooms or the cottages your time in Napa should nourish and recharge – a luxurious massage in our private spa, a world-class breakfast prepared daily in a gluten-safe kitchen, heated bathroom floors and sumptuous beds that have become the talk of the travel sites. Outside you’ll find lush outdoor gardens, private spaces, and meeting rooms that can accommodate everything from intimate proposals to large group celebrations.Well connected to everything you desire from Napa and ready to make your stay one to remember - nothing competes with the Inn on Randolph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn on Randolph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Randolph Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing