We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service a little lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish Story Restaurant - CLOSED

Fish Story Restaurant
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Third Street
Description: Fish Story, offering sustainable, seasonal, ocean-fresh seafood, is Lark Creek Restaurant Group's entry into the Napa Valley dining scene. Located downtown, with ample riverfront patio seating, Fish Story serves lunch weekdays, brunch weekend days and dinner nightly, featuring live local Dungeness crab, live Maine lobster, fresh fish and shellfish all sourced in accordance with the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Seafood Watch Program, plus non-seafood items.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, service a little lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a nice dinner at Fish Story after a day or bike touring through Napa Valley wineries. We enjoyed the scallops as an appetizer and both had the New York steak, one with the surf and turf. The food was delicious, but the service could have been a little better. Given the price tag you pay for entrees, I would expect better service - the little things should be taken for granted and they were not during our visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryanjbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    103
    46
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
517 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Really good lunch in downtown Napa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Found it by accident, glad we did. It is right on the water and very nicely decorated in a contemporary style. They specialize in (you got it) FISH. As would also be expectedthere is a huge diverse wine list with a great selection by the glass. We would like to come back and sample a little bit more, but our lunch was more than adequate.

We had a Caesar salad which was frankly smaller than I would've hoped. It was presented on a flat plate with full leaves of Romaine which was really nice. It was billed as having anchovies, however I didn't see any. On my request, I was quickly and pleasantly brought some. I had the grilled fish sandwich which was two small fillets of fish served on a bun with lettuce and tomato. I passed on the target sauce which normally comes on it wanting to be a bit healthier but it did need something to "lubricate" the sandwich.

We frankly did not find a lot of places in downtown Napa as we were walking around. That is not the reason to go here although it is convenient. We would look forward to going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
1,210 reviews
888 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 739 helpful votes
“Perfect Food Perfect Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Nikki was eager to provide the most friendly efficient service. Decor is modern and comfortable on the eyes. The food was clearly the star of the show. The sole was delicate, sweet and perfectly cooked. The beer battered fish was perfectly coated, delicate crunchy and flavorful . This is one not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Was excited for dinner with friends after winery visits, and grossly disappointed. If you are looking for just ok, visit here. 2 out of the 4 meals ordered by our table were cold. One member of the party had an egg allergy and was very detailed about asking ingredients, only to end up with something with egg in it, which cut our evening short, in taking them to hotel to get meds. Many better choices in Napa for your time and money.

Helpful?
1 Thank udamahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well-appointed, delicious food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had dinner here on a Friday night recently. Walked in w/o a reservation which was nice, given that others had 45-70 min waits in area. We had the fish and chips which were delicious (batter was tastier than fish/chips I had recently in London) and mushroom risotto with Pinot Noir tastings/flight. Service was great, decor is funky and cool - would recommend to others and would definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Story Restaurant also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing