We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this charming Napa find!”
Review of SENZA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENZA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

La Residence was such a great find - really a hidden gem, tucked out of the way in a great location which is very accessible to the wineries. The property has beautiful grounds and the rooms are well-appointed, but cozy and comfortable. There is a lot of history at the property, especially the mansion which has historic charm combined with all the upgrades that make it modern-day comfortable, including plush, cozy robes. Each room seemed to have access to outdoor seating which added to the charm of La Residence. There is a pool and hot tub on the property - we wish we had brought our suits for a hot tub dip after dinner. We received a complimentary room upgrade upon our arrival and we were in a beautiful room in the mansion, complete with complementary Internet. And the La Residence staff is charming and friendly, too.

The daily wine reception is a nice touch, with cheese and crackers, and both a red or white wine you can enjoy on the terrace, when the weather is nice. It's a nice way to get to know other guests at the hotel and share stories about your favorite winery experiences. Daily breakfast is ample! Our selection included quiche Florentine, oatmeal, fruit, cereals, coffees, juices, pastries, meats, and cheeses.

I noticed some advanced-booking discounts on the website which would make La Residence an even better deal for the money.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We loved our room in The Mansion, so I'd request that to be in the more historic part of the pro...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenkDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear karenkDallas,

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us at La Residence.

The historic "Harry C. Parker" mansion is a beautiful location to relax and unwind on the patio or balcony, along with taking in the rest of the property, where we have numerous places to relax even more.

We hope that you are able to visit again soon and let us take good care of you once more.

Thank you again for taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for SENZA Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 691 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very small and intimate place; an old main house with some newer buildings in the grounds. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the room in the old house lovely. That said, unless you sleep like a log it would be better to get one of the rooms in the newer buildings which appear to have double glazing. There is a four lane highway about 100 yards in front of the hotel and the traffic noise was very intrusive. A good location to explore the valley.

Room Tip: The old house rooms are lovely, apart from the traffic
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Daniel H,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit in October to us here in the Napa Valley.

While we happy to see you enjoyed the property and what we have to offer, we are disappointed that you were affected by the road nearby. While we cannot change our location, we take all feedback seriously to help us consider ways to improve how we take care of our guests.

Your comments allows us more insight on how we can mitigate future instances. We will be undergoing an exciting renovation and expansion this winter, with improvement happening throughout the property.

If your travels brings you this way again in the future, we would truly appreciate the chance to take care of you once more.

Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

At first we were surprised that La Residence is outside the little city of napa. We quickly learned that was a huge plus, so every trip back from a long day of wine tasting didnt have to include rush hour traffic into the city. Would recommend to anyone! My only issue was that the bathrooms are a little outdated but otherwise fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the backside of the property so that you cant hear any traffic.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sines9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear sines9,

Your feedback from your recent visit to us is much appreciated. As you note, we are very fortunate to be located where we are, making the ability to explore Wine Country that more convenient, as the closest vineyard is only a minute or so away.

We hope that we get to welcome you back again in the future, allowing us to show you the updates we plan to do to the property this winter, which among other upgrades will be new bathrooms in our existing rooms.

When you find the time to return, please feel free to contact us directly, so we can take great care of you one more.

Thank you again for the review.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friends and I just experienced a wonderful girls trip to Napa and La Residence was the perfect place to stay. The grounds are gorgeous and the staff starting with Graham, the general manager, to Dave, Marta and all the others were experienced and friendly hosts plus our rooms were spacious and well appointed. We loved the Hall Vineyards wine at happy hour every afternoon and the low key breakfasts each morning. What a charming and beautiful inn. Thank you! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Sydney711,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit with your friends at La Residence.

It is fantastic to read that the staff here made your stay even more memorable. We are lucky to have a great team who makes sure our guests have all they need to enjoy their visit to Wine Country, with Marta and Dave being no exception to that rule.

When you next return to Napa Valley, we hope to see you all again!!

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We took a recent girls trip to Napa and stayed at La Residence and it was so relaxing. From the manager, Graham, to the bellman, Dave, and Marta who served us wine and great food, the service was outstanding! The rooms were very comfortable, the grounds were beautiful and we were surrounded by vineyards! What more could you want! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sher53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Sher53,

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your friends during your recent visit.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to La Residence and the beautiful Napa Valley. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found this place to be just what we wanted. A small, intimate inn located in Napa valley. The rooms were spacious, the breakfast was lovely and the nightly wine and cheese was an added touch. The location is between Napa and Yountville which are both great little towns and close to all of the wineries. There is not a lot within walking distance but there is a great restaurant located at the end of the driveway called Bistro Dan Giovanni which was excellent. Added bonus, sitting in an outdoor hot tub enjoying the beautiful Napa Valley evening. I would recommend this to anyone seeking a quiet, relaxing retreat.

Room Tip: We had a king sized bed which was fantastic!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear renanddave.

Your time spent with us this month seems to have offered you everything you were looking for in a trip to the Napa Valley.

It is always great to read how our guests enjoy our little slice of heaven, with an evening in the hot tub looking up to the stars above with a glass of Napa Valley wine sounding just blissful!!

We hope that your schedule allows you to return again in the future and spend some more time with us. If this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had the best room right in the vineyard. Suite with bedroom, living room and great bath. Spacious and lovely. Hot tub outside. Wine and cheeses in the afternoon and breakfast - all delicious. Would go back again. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 13 very private with your own porch.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddyPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear TeddyPeter,

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and the time you spent in Wine Country.

When you have a chance to return to the Napa Valley, we look forward to welcoming you back once more.

Thank you again for taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,045 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
4.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENZA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENZA Hotel

Address: 4066 Howard Ln, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $259 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENZA Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Kathryn and Craig Hall purchased SENZA, formerly known as La Residence in 2006, they aspired to extend the wine experience beyond the tasting rooms of HALL and WALT wineries, and to give each guest a fuller slice of Napa living. Over the last decade, the Halls helped grow SENZA from a country bed and breakfast to a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your SENZA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
SENZA Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing