We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”
Review of SENZA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SENZA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here as our first stop on our honeymoon and it was so relaxing. It was like a nice little personal apartment room. They have wine tasting every night and they also know where to direct you to get the best food and wine in nearby cities/areas. We wanted a fire that night and called down to ask for some wood and a bottle of wine. They were at our door within 5 minutes with everything we requested and they even started the fire for us too! Wonderful service and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erikalg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear erikalg86,

Congratulations on recently getting married. A honeymoon is a very special time and we want to thank you for visiting the Napa Valley and making La Residence the first stop along the way.

Should you celebrate a future anniversary with a return trip to wine country, we hope that you will return to La Residence to mark the occasion and relax some more with us.

Congratulations once more from all of us here at La Residence.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 713 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is such a nice little place. Clean, friendly, tucked away from so much of the commercial parts of Napa that are popping up. And, unlike nearly every other place in the Valley, they offer 1-night stays when they can. The wine hour and the breakfast also add value, and while they have downgraded the gourmet quality of their food this year, it is still worth what you pay. All in all, I keep going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyG415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear NancyG415,

Thank you for your return visit to us in February, we appreciate you visiting us once more.

You are right in pointing out that we are fortunate to have somewhat of a secluded location to call home while visiting wine country, which is also perfectly situated to immediately explore the beautiful Napa Valley.

We appreciate the feedback regarding breakfast as we are constantly reviewing our product and service. We recently added new product to our line up as part of our continual effort to offer a wide selection of options to start your day.

We look forward to welcoming you back once more when your schedule allows.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked 2 Cottage Kings in early March. The Cottage Kings were spacious and quiet. The breakfast compared nicely to our other favorite Napa retreat, the Harvest Inn as breakfast consisted of a choice of meets, cheeses, fruits, pastries and cereal. However, what made our stay truly wonderful were the exceptional staff. They even served one of ourfavorite Hallwines, the Napa cabernet for the wine and cheese event the night before we left. Now that is service!

We hope to go back to La Residence this fall.

Room Tip: The Cottage Kings are quiet and feel like little cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphinium123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Delphinium123,

It was a pleasure to meet you and spend time with you during your recent stay with us. Thank you for your glowing feedback and comparison to our very good friends up the road, The Harvest Inn.

We are delighted to read that you felt at home and enjoyed your stay with us.

Once you determine your dates for your return visit in the fall, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I look forward to seeing you once more and making sure your next visit will be as good as the first.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

A friend and I traveled to Napa for a spring break sojourn and were absolutely delighted with La Residence. She was lucky to find a Groupon deal, which lured us to the property in the first place, but marketing is only the first step. When one feels cared for, as we were, one returns. Our room in the mansion was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely: good coffee, pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, meats and cheeses. Staff was friendly; kudos to the sweet Marianna, who advised us daily on our "to-do" list. We forgot our swim wear, so unfortunately missed out on the hot tub. The location is perfect for hitting the wineries of Napa, but also heading over to Sonoma County for the really quaint towns of Sonoma, Sebastopol, and Healdsburg. We will be back! Thank you, La Residence!

Room Tip: We loved our room in the mansion. Although we were on the highway side, the highway noise was minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Cindy C,

It is a delight to read your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at La Residence. Your comments epitomize the mission statement we have here, where we focus on the personal side of service and the only regret you will have is leaving.

We are grateful that you took the opportunity to visit us and look forward to you returning in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when you have the time to visit once more.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We so enjoyed our time at LaResidence. The room was lovely and I enjoyed sitting outside on the patio reading a book in the beautiful CA sun. We enjoyed the wine tasting as well as the breakfast the following morning. The Italian restaurant next door was terrific also as a bonus to the location of this property. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dparkerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear dparkerChicago,

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay with us here at La Residence. It is always great to read how people spend their time while they are here with us, as reading a book on a sun drenched patio next to our vineyards sounds blissful.

When your schedule allows a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be happy to take care of you once more.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a very nice property. Guest rooms are nicely finished. Breakfast is great with a really nice common area that is readily available. The grounds are very nice: fountains, small vineyard, decent sized pool, and hot tub. While near a busy road, the property is really quiet. I went on a run out in the vineyards behind the property which was scenic, but I had to share the road with cars. But it was doable. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEFlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear NEFlores,

We appreciate you reviewing your visit with us this month. I recall you heading out for a run into the neighboring area and vineyards, I am glad you found it enjoyable along with the rest of your stay.

We hope to see you when you next return to the Napa Valley for a visit.

Thank you for feedback and staying with us at La Residence.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent property, very well located for wine touring and very well maintained. Room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was terrific! Hot tub was perfect and back deck was just wonderful for breakfast and lounging. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear David A,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed you time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when you look to plan your return to wine country.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,084 reviews
3.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
1.5 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENZA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENZA Hotel

Address: 4066 Howard Ln, Napa, CA 94558-1324 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $237 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENZA Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Kathryn and Craig Hall purchased SENZA, formerly known as La Residence in 2006, they aspired to extend the wine experience beyond the tasting rooms of HALL and WALT wineries, and to give each guest a fuller slice of Napa living. Over the last decade, the Halls helped grow SENZA from a country bed and breakfast to a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your SENZA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
SENZA Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing