We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Residence is La FANTASTIC!”
Review of SENZA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENZA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“La Residence is La FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at La Residence the week between Christmas and New Year. What a great find!

The inn is located along hwy 29 on the west side of Napa. Access to and from the inn is easy. Walking distance to Bistro Don Giovanni's.

When you enter the drive to the inn, you find yourself secluded from the hwy behind lush grounds including fountains, sculpture and pathways.

There are several photos online that show the buildings and area. The inn was cozy and welcoming. Both breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were plentiful.

There are many places to sit, relax and enjoy the view and evening solitude. The room had everything we needed including a fantastic fireplace with most creative log kit. I wish I had asked yo purchase some to bring home.

The bed and linens were exceptionally comfortable. There was a nice deck on the exterior of the room where we enjoyed a complimentary bottle of Hall wine.

The location is more towards the south end of the valley. However close enough to the downtown of Napa and easy enough to visit both Napa Valley and Sonoma. A great location if you plan to visit both areas.

Overall, we loved La Residence. We would absolutely stay again and have already shared it with everyone we know.

We are looking forward to staying again on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Suzg,

LA FANTASTIC is a very impressive compliment to offer following your recent stay in December., I am happy to see that your stay with us was a memorable one.

Thank you offering such a detailed and comprehensive review of your visit., as you captured the feel of La Residence perfectly.

Do not hesitate to let us know if you would like contact information to be able to purchase the fire log bags we have here directly from the manufacturer.

We hope that your schedule allows you to return once more and have another enjoyable time with us here in wine country.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    139
    43
    19
    5
See reviews for
45
440
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a short Napa getaway. We stayed at La Residence on a friends' recommendation, and they were absolutely right on! The entire staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we enjoyed the wine reception, continental breakfast, and just spending time in our beautifully appointed room! The fireplace bags were a nice touch, and having a Keurig in the room was fabulous!! We will absolutely be back, (but we are secretly hoping word doesn't get out and this little gem can stay our secret!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammileeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear TammileeG,

Thank you for visiting La Residence recently and taking the time to review your time with us.

I'm glad to see that your friends recommendation was correct in choosing La Residence for your Napa getaway, who knows, next time around you should invite them along and enjoy wine country together.

That aside, I am happy to read that you enjoyed what we offer here, with breakfast and wine hour a good way to start your day and your evening prior to dinner.

When you return, we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in wine country.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Bought a 'deal' for two nights here at $150 a night. Here is what happened:

1. Arrived on time for the wine and cheese reception which consisted of a handful of cheese, one meat and some crackers that were put out in small quantities. The wine pouring were mostly tasting pours and so one had to ask for four tastings to maybe get a glass of wine in total. 

2. We were then taken to our room that was set at 61F. The heat would not turn up. We called the front desk who sent a technician that couldn't figure out what to do. Even though we were initially told that there were no more available rooms to move us to and that a space heater would help. A second complaint got us moved to a different room that was warmer but the heat didn't work again. Joy. 

3. Breakfast consisted of cheap, processed pastries and breads. They also ran out of the one decent croissant because they only order 2 every morning. For $150 a night, serve your guests a warm, fresh breakfast please. 

4. Their housekeeping does not respect 'do not disturb' signs. They will come into the room even if you request they don't. 

5. Upon check out, we informed the person on call of what happened. Instead of making the effort to take notes and use constructive feedback, she made excuses for everything that went wrong. 

Nothing about this hotel inspires any confidence. It is fine if you are looking for a place to stay and the weather is warm enough but do not waste good money thinking this is a romantic getaway. They do not cater to you at all and their customer service is the worst I have experienced in Napa. 

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IHeartTravelYesIDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear IHeartTravelYesIDo,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that we failed to meet your expectations during your visit to wine country.

Although we were unfortunate to suffer a breakdown to one of our heating units in the building you were originally reserved in, it seems that we failed on a number of areas outside of a cold room upon arrival.

I have since met with all concerned along with reviewing procedures in both housekeeping and breakfast service to immediately address any short comings we had during your visit.

I have reached out and left a message and would be happy to discuss further with the hope that you may consider us again once more in the future, allowing us to offer the La Residence experience that you should have enjoyed on your first visit.

Once again, we as a team truly appreciate your comments and feedback.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last August as the last leg of our trip from Portland, OR, to San Francisco. The hotel is lovely, set in a vineyard close to a main road but thanks to clever landscaping there was very little, if any, road noise. Elegant with beautiful grounds and fountain. Our room was on the ground floor facing the pool area and had a small seating area which we enjoyed to be able to sit and read or have our morning coffee. On arrival staff showed us round and helped us to our room. A lack of a bedside lamp was quickly resolved. Room decor was simple but elegant and the bathroom was spacious. We did not use the pool but it looked lovely.
Wine hour is at a sensible time and a nice way to start the evening. Wished they labelled the cheeses so you know what area they come from? The inn does not serve dinner but Bistro Don Giovanni which is walking distance was excellent. VERY busy so do make reservations, especially if you want a table outside on the porch.
My only beef with this inn and one that would prevent us returning is the breakfast. We rely on a good breakfast especially when we are out for most of the day and lunch is often something small and quick. And our judgement is in the context of the many wonderful inns we stayed at during our trip, at similar price points, often less. EVERY inn offered a wonderful hot breakfast, sometimes buffet style, sometimes a la carte. Whatever the choices it was always good quality and mostly made in-house. La Residence offers a continental breakfast that is lacking in many ways and takes away from the otherwise very nice experience. When I commented to front office about this at the end of our stay I was told that the hotel discontinued hot breakfast and now there is no chef or even a food and beverage person in charge. Unfortunately this shows. Front office staff, nice as they were, do not have the skills needed to serve meals or even Wine and Cheese hour for that matter. None of the staff were ever knowledgable about either the wines or cheese served. Coffee and hot water for tea was often far from hot, even at 8 am, never mind the rest of the day. Bread was standard, fruit salad mostly melon and grapes and yoghurt pre- packs of sweetened supermarket stuff. There was an anemic looking quiche, cold and small. Cold boiled eggs rolled around in a bowl. Jams were in little pre-packs you find in fast food diners. There were cold croissants if you were lucky but they mostly ran out as soon as it passed 8.30 Really??? Is this what the owners would eat for breakfast? I doubt it very much.
My feeling is that when you charge $400+ a night and advertise that breakfast is included you should offer something commensurate with the other amenities and an experience that reflects the same quality and attention to detail that is found in the other departments. Continental breakfast can be wonderful with artisan breads and pastries, great fruit salad including berries, cured meats and/or local cheeses and at a minimum fresh greek yoghurt, home made jams and granola and HOT coffee and HOT water for tea! Would it kill you to invest in some new urns? Add a hot breakfast casserole, home made quiche or strada instead of a paltry mean looking excuse for a quiche and you will have happy customers... Let us know when you do- until that time, we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchgirl255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear dutchgirl255,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your stay with us in August. While you enjoyed the Inn, the location and the wine hour, I am disappointed to read that the breakfast experience here was not what you had hoped or anticipated.

While we have a dedicated staff member who is responsible for the breakfast at La Residence, your points have been noted and discussed to review how we can address and improve the experience for our guests.

Since your departure we have changed to a new Artisan baker that we use to offer a better product for the quiche, gourmet bagels and pastries. This is in addition to offering freshly made steel cut oatmeal, these are along with exploring new options for our guests.

While I am not able to change the experience you had with us previously, I would welcome the opportunity to host you once more if and when you return to the Napa Valley. As such, please do not hesitate to call me directly and I will be happy to discuss any additional service touches we may have implemented prior to return.

Once again, I truly appreciate your comments and feedback from your stay in Wine Country.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a great time in Napa Valley. La Residence felt like home and was a great central location to see all of the surrounding wine country. The service was excellent, the people were friendly and eager to help. The fireplace in our room had a cozy fire every night. Just a wonderful place to relax and escape.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChainsawPeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear ChainsawPeddler,

A honeymoon spent in the Napa Valley sounds like a perfect spot to celebrate getting married. We are thrilled to see that your time spent with us was a memorable experience also.

With the cooler evenings of December here, there is nothing more perfect than lighting a fire and enjoying a glass of wine together.

We hope that if you celebrate future anniversaries in Wine Country, that you will consider La Residence as a place to call home.

Thank you for your feedback and congratulations once again on your marriage!!

Best regard,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Claire, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the inn. The room was fantastic, wine hour was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Before our arrival, we got excellent recommendations for a driver and restaurants. We had a wonderful 4 days in the valley and our accommodations were one of the reasons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Mark H,

It is great to read that your December stay with us turned out to be a memorable one!! This time of year is perfect to enjoy the Valley to the fullest, with better availability at wineries and restaurants alike, I am glad you had a great driver to maximize both!!

If you look to return the same time next year, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, or the fantastic staff here to allow us to create another enjoyable time for you and your wife.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Best regards and Happy Holidays!

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Absolutely loved my stay! The Molten Brown bath products, fireplace, extremely comfy bed and location. The B&B is built into a vineyard and is quiet, comfortable, and quaint. There are many places to grab a glass a wine and go outside and sit and just enjoy the moment. We stayed in a corner room upstairs above the kitchen. It was a bit noisy in the morning but other than that I have no complaints. The staff was very helpful, the evening consisted of wine tastings from Hall wineries, and a wonderful breakfast. I would recommend the cave tour at Hall /Rutherford.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody_Brookshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Jody_Brookshire,

The word "perfection" to describe your stay with us in November is music to our ears. We strive to make everyone's stay a positive and memorable experience, and we are glad that we were able to meet that expectation with your visit.

When you next have the time to visit the Napa Valley, we hope that you will spend time with us once more.

Thank you for your feedback and Happy Holidays!

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,949 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
4.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
5.1 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENZA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENZA Hotel

Property: SENZA Hotel
Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558-1324 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENZA Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your SENZA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
SENZA Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing