We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”
Review of SENZA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENZA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent 2 night there in this nov, 2012. Everything perfect, the room was very comfortable (even the the simplest, that we choose).
They have every afternoon wine and cheese tasting, and was very good. Also there is a hot tube, very convenient in this weather.

Only one think that wasn't that great was the concierge in the morning, did not have much patience in helping, but the afternoon attendants were exceptional.

We definitely want to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichMT1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear MichMT1705,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to come back again in the future. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff here at La Residence to help us continually improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for SENZA Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 689 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary at La Residence in Napa. We could not be more please with our choice of accomodations. The room was large, nicely decorated, and had a very comfortable bed! The wine tasting an retreat to the room to enjoy a glass of wine by the fireplace was relaxing way to wind our days in the valley. Kim and Kelly were extremely helpful in terms of recommendations for winieries to visit and places to eat during our time there. We were sad to leave, and are already planning our next trip to the Napa Valley! I am happy to recommend La Residence to anyone who may be looking for a quaint and charming property with lots to offer its guests! Great locaton, service, and staff!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 20 if looking for a deluxe King.. Quiet at the back of the main building. Great spot!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laxguy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Laxguy21,

On behalf of the staff here at La Residence i want to thank you and your wife for choosing to celebrate such a special anniversary with us.

We are always happy to share such important times with our guests and create more memories to add to those you already have together.

If your 11th anniversary is open for a trip to wine country, we would be thrilled to welcome you back once more.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Visited La Residence while touring wine country. Property is a great little inn with a cute landscaped space. Decor is traditional elegance. Staff ways helpful and super friendly. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamchrismai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear cmaidance,

We appreciate the time taken to offer feedback from your recent stay with us in September.

When you find the time to return to the Napa Valley once more, we look forward to taking great care of you again.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our first time to stay at La Residence and will not be our last! The rooms are very nice and a good size if you will be there for more than a few days. The fire [place is a nice addition.

The breakfast and evening wine reception (at 6pm which is useful as a lot of places that offer this service do it at 4pm and you never are there for it) are both great.

Room Tip: ask for a room farther away from the road if there during colder seasons. With no leaves on the tre...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Dennis M,

Thank you for choosing La Residence to be your home while visiting the Napa Valley recently. I am happy to read that you intend to return to see us again in the future.

Our breakfast and nightly wine hour are great starting points to both your day and your evening and also allow the chance to mingle and meet other guests also.

When your schedule allows, we truly look forward to welcoming you back and assisting in any way we can to create another memorable time here in the beautiful place we call home.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October and paid ~£270 per night. The property is attractive with well kept grounds. However, for the price we paid I have to say we were slightly disappointed. The check in area is something that you would expect in a b&b/hostel and our room (in the main house) although very large, clean and with a very comfortable bed, was far less luxurious than we had imagined based on the website and other reviews. We were lucky enough to have very good weather whilst in Napa and it was however lovely to sit out on the balcony by our room one day, although we basically overlooked the car park! The pool we did not use but is a nice addition (but is in the middle of the car park). Overall I have to agree with a few other reviews in that the website makes La Residence seem far more dreamy and superior than what we experienced, but all in all we had an enjoyable stay here and there was a very homely feel to the place. Contrary to some other reviews we actually found the breakfast to be perfectly adequate with fresh fruits, cereals, breads, juices etc. so no complaints there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Lucy C,

Thank you for visiting La Residence in October and taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us in general and the comments offered for areas to potentially improve are very much appreciated and will be reviewed to find solutions.

We are always striving to improve our guest experience both before, during and after their stay with us and the input you have offered is very valuable to us.

I hope that should your travels allow a return visit to the Napa Valley that you may consider La Residence as an option to use as your base from where to explore Wine Country once more.

Thank you again for your review.

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked a two night, non-refundable stay a few months ago and the rate was not cheap for booking in advance. At $250/night, we were expecting a room on a grander scale and were fairly disappointed. We were taken to a corner room on the third floor. Not much of a view. The room is just ok. The shutters did not work properly so our room was somewhat dark during the day. The shower is a joke! I've seen larger shower stalls in cruise ships, where space is confined. Fortunately we're not large folks, or showering would have been a challenge. Also, why no coffee pot in the rooms? Many guests prefer to make the coffee (while still in their sleepwear) without having to put on street clothes, walk to the lobby and get coffee. Breakfast and the evening reception were mediocre.

On the plus side: The bed was comfortable and the TV works well.
Dinner next door at Don Giovanni's was excellent.

David

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear 101Park,

Thank you for offering feedback from your recent stay with us.

We are always looking to improve areas in which to make our guests stay more memorable and rest assured that we will look to use your comments to address areas where we fell short.

I hope that if you have the time to visit the valley once more that you may consider us again as a place to stay.

If this is the case, I would like to assist personally in making your next stay more to your satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review, we truly appreciate it.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great place to stay! So I went out to Napa with the intent to propose to my then girlfriend (now fiancee). I was torn between doing it at one of the winerys we were to visit and the hotel. But when we got to La Residence, I knew I could pull it off in fine style there. I started a conversation with David, one of the hotel employees there and he immediatley sprung into action and helped me out. We did a lap of the property and picked out a nice spot amidst the vines and a nice fountain. The plan was to walk back from dinner (Don Giovanni) and take a short walk over to said location where I would propose. Beforehand, David let me know that he would have the location all set up with lit candles as well as a bottle of champagne waiting in the room afterward. Everything went perfect! We walked back from dinner and took a walk over to the fountain where I took a knee and popped the question. We returned to our room with champagne chilled and firewood waiting. I highly reccomend this place and if you do make a stay of it, say hello to David. He was extremely helpful in my little event and I have no doubt he will prove to be of utmost help to any of your needs. Bravo David! Definitely will stay here again if/when we visit next!

Joe

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Joe F,

I glad to see that you both had a fantastic and memorable experience for your stay and proposal with us in Wine Country. I am happy to read that David went above and beyond to make your proposal go off without a hitch!!

We look forward to welcoming you both back soon and assisting in anyway we can to make it as memorable as your last visit.

Congratulations and we hope to see you again soon!!

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,042 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
4.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENZA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENZA Hotel

Address: 4066 Howard Ln, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $260 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENZA Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Kathryn and Craig Hall purchased SENZA, formerly known as La Residence in 2006, they aspired to extend the wine experience beyond the tasting rooms of HALL and WALT wineries, and to give each guest a fuller slice of Napa living. Over the last decade, the Halls helped grow SENZA from a country bed and breakfast to a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your SENZA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
SENZA Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing