We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
Review of Norman Rose Tavern

Norman Rose Tavern
Ranked #31 of 284 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Napa's West End District, the Norman Rose Tavern is that comfortable spot where you can meet family and friends for a nice cocktail, pint or glass of wine paired with a great burger and fries or other classic, American comfort food. The menu takes a local, sustainable approach to time-honored dishes like fish & chips, fried chicken, chop salad, mac and cheese, and much more, all prepared utilizing the fresh, seasonal and quality ingredients found in the North Bay. The design offers a rustic pub feel with modern touches created by Kimberly Nunn and Dan Worden of Shopworks in Napa. The thoughtful beverage list sports a collection of cocktails, wines and beers that soar two or three levels above most, with many outstanding and well priced Napa Valley wines. The by-the-glass list is impressive as well with over twenty wines by the glass. An extensive spirits list featuring classic cocktails round out the offerings.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The food was so good for lunch. Pickled veggies delicious, burger juicy and flavorful and lamb burger was tasty and juicy as well. Great service. Loved the decor and atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephhepner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    172
    42
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stopped here for a drink and we really liked the ambiance. Very friendly wait staff and bartender. Mellow and laid back with locals at the bar. Great selection of beer and spirits. The lunch menu looked good though we already eaten. We would go back again for a good local place to chill.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chloemom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ordered wings, meat loaf, and a hangar steak. All were exceptional. Server was very attentive and informative. If you are in Napa you should check thus place out!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“local "tavern"”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

More a restaurant than a bar but has both. The food is comfort such as buttermilk fried chicken sandwich, yummy. Had flatiron steak with fries which had a good sized steak and thin crispy fries. My husband had the meatloaf, very tasty. Special was crab "tater tots", mini crab cakes. The prices are good for Napa.... They have specials every day and things like high quality hot dogs, cheese burger (5 Dot Ranch) with some local foods (rancho gordo beans). Salads, sliders etc. Home made pickles. You could sit on the bar and eat also. My husband likes that they serve PBR in a can but they also have trumer pils and many other beers, full bar. The night we recently went there every other place was dead this was full. I think because it was early. Fun more casual place to go, a little noisy on a Saturday night. Our waiter was very good, the bartender a little less attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne59-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service great food!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I had a luncheon reception here last week and it was perfect!! We arrived there early and they still sat our entire party early. The servers were very attentive and very friendly. I would highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evette815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman Rose Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Norman Rose Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing