We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day in Sonoma”

Reserve Wine Tours - Private Tours
Ranked #27 of 124 Tours in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dan Dolen of Reserve Wine Tours, a wine maker himself, provides custom, private tours of the Napa/Sonoma wine country. Warm and witty and an excellent communicator/educator, let Dan create the ultimate wine country get away for you and yours!!
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
“A day in Sonoma”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent a day with Dan in the Sonoma area. We spoke with him ahead of time so he could get a feel for the type of wine we were interested in. I told him we wanted to go to places we probably would not find our own. He did not disappoint. He is very knowledgable and has a relaxed, easy going demeanor. It was a pleasure to spend the day with him.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melonee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My fiance' and I spent the day with Dan as our guide. Dan did an excellent job of choosing a variety of wineries for us to visit. He was very knowledgeable about the area and each vineyard that we toured. He arranged a wonderful picnic lunch for us with a nice assortment of local fare. At our approval, he brought along his precious dog, Oliver, who was a wonderful tour companion as well. We cannot wait to spend another day in Napa with Dan and Oliver!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dan Dolen - Reserve Wine Tours”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The best thing we did, besides deciding to travel to Napa, was decide to have Dan as our Napa tour guide and driver.

Not only was Dan knowledgeable about wine, but also about the people and history of the Valley.

Arguably, the most "interesting" part of our Napa experience was not wine, but on Dan's suggestion, the "olive oil tasting and olive farm visit. Brilliant!

Dan and his dog Oliver were amazing companions and friends. Highly recommended!

Cheers

Stephen & Dianne Binder

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reserve Wine Tours Napa Valley”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I took a tour with Dan Dolen which was fabulous! We are wine snob novices; Dan's tour was very informative and we saw beautiful country! He also provided us with places that the "locals" go to which gave us wonderful other places to visit from the hotel. We toured Russian River Valley and he also took us to a winery with connections to our home town which we did not know existed. Nice extra touch. Brings his dog who is a honey if you approve. . . .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Wine Country Experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our 3rd year in a row using Dan for our wine country trip. He has done a great job each year finding new and interesting wineries to visit. He has also gotten access into some wineries that don't normally host tastings. He is both passionate and knowledgeable about wine and the wine country. I highly recommend Dan and have done so to several friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J_MNYCNAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reserve Wine Tours - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Reserve Wine Tours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing