We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Ranked #40 of 124 Tours in Napa
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My 3 friends and I were vacationing in Napa during a break from medical school and discovered Julie via her excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. She took time out of her father's day plans to take us to four wonderful wineries over the course of five hours. She brought a cooler full of water bottles to keep us hydrated on the hot day and set up our lunch for us after the second winery we visited on picnic tables overlooking the valley. Make sure to bring your camera, as the scenery is beautiful! She took us to a great variety of vineyards, both in the valley and on Spring Mountain. Our first stop was Honig, where we sat on their shaded patio. We then traveled up the mountain to Keenan and had a private tasting as well as lunch. After that we went to Ballentine, which had our favorite wines of the day. Our final stop was The Terraces, where we had a personal tour of the vineyard and a private tasting. We really enjoyed visting some of the smaller wineries, and Julie set everything up for us so we didn't have to do anything except drink wine and enjoy the beautiful California weather. All in all it was a wonderful day that felt very personalized, and we would recommend her to anyone.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ashgoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully personalized tour”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I traveled with another couple to Napa and wanted to have a day during which none of us had to drive. We found Hidden Napa Jeep Tours online and based on the reviews here, booked.

Julie was extremely responsive and helpful in our email exchange; she responded within minutes of my first inquiry, with information about pricing and scheduling. She also provided us with a recommendation for a local market near our hotel from where to grab lunch to bring with us for a picnic on our tour. All before the payment had even been posted!

Once we arrived in Napa, Julie picked us up at our hotel and drove us along Silverado Trail to our first stop. The view from here was spectacular - so much better than just from the highway coming into Napa. She answered all our questions and provided us with lots of information about the region.

She took us first to Robinson Family Vineyard where we were taken on a tour of the cellar and estate. The tasting was led by Tom, the owner of the vineyard, and their wines were FANTASTIC - delicious Cabernet Sauvignon. Tom and his family seem like very down-to-earth, easygoing people, and we loved chatting with him.

Our next stop was to Baldacci, another family-owned winery, with a beautiful patio and view of the vineyard. The servers brought the wines out to our table so we could enjoy the scenery - we left here with a bottle of chardonnay.

We visited Honig next and again were able to enjoy a beautiful, shaded patio and table service. Great service and great people.

Our last stop was with Danielle and Bruce of Three Clicks. Danielle lead us through their vineyard, educating us about the grape growing and wine making processes and Bruce joined us later for the tasting. We sat in their vineyard in lawn chairs, enjoying the sunset and their delicious (and affordable!) wine. We left here with 4 bottles! I feel like we could have sat around and chatted all evening.

Julie is a fantastic tour guide and gives you as much privacy or interaction as you want. We LOVED that she took us to the smaller, family-run vineyards. The 4 wineries we visited with her were by far our 4 favorite ones we visited our entire trip. Julie took all our tastes and preferences into account and planned a picture-perfect day for us in Napa. We will definitely call her again when we go back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent tour with Julie”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a great jeep tour of several wineries with Julie. She was very informative and took us to some great wineries. Our first stop was The Terraces at Quarry Vineyard. Sharon the owner took us on a tour of the property that included her balsamic vinegar shop. She was so nice and provided great information on the history of her winery. Her wine was awesome also and we bought 6 bottles from her. Our next stop was the Frias Family Vineyard. Manny was so fun and personable and we bought wine from him also. We ate a picnic lunch at our next stop which was Ehler's Estate winery. The grounds are beautiful, with plenty of picnic tables. Everyone was so nice there also. Our last stop was TopFlight Winery and Jose was great. Julie was very knowledgeable on the history of the wineries and the area. She also indulged us by stopping at several other places to take pictures. I wanted a tour that would be personalized and not with a lot of people, so Julie's tour was purrfect. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank catvillekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston-salem nc
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent our day with Andrea, as Julie was already booked for the weekend. Andrea and Julie have known each other for many years and both really know the valley and the wineries very well. Andrea picked us up at our hotel and drove us to Terraces, where we met the owner and the winemaker. The winemaker gave us a private tasting, opening new bottles of cab franc, cab sav, and zinfandel, along with a chenin blanc. All were absolutely fantastic.

Next on our trip was Failla, a small boutique winery that specialized in pinot noir and chardonnay. They also had a fantastic syrah.

Last on the list was Frias, up on spring mountain overlooking the valley. We stopped to grab some lunch at a local market and ate it with the Frias brothers during our tasting. Manny and Fernando Frias were a lot of fun to chat with. They sat up there with us for over an hour explaining their wine and how they make it. An unbelievable experience.

Overall we would absolutely recommend Hidden Napa jeep tours to anyone interested in finding small, out of the way boutique wineries that you would otherwise never know about. Julie and Andrea really thought about our day and planned it out exactly how we wanted it. We told them what we liked (everything!) and they really made sure we got to try a lot of different stuff-none of the places had much of the same kind of wine. Terraces was cab franc, chenin blanc, and zinfandel. Failla was pinot noir and chardonnay. Frias was awesome spring mountain cabernet sauvignon. All were different, but all exceptional. They also gave us some great recommendations for the rest of our trip.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California, United States
1 review
“Honeymoon Perfection”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I found Hidden Napa Jeep Wine Tours a few months back when planning our honeymoon, and i am so glad i did!! Julie met us at Calmart In Calistoga so we could pick up lunch/snacks for our trip in her brand new Jeep that seats 5, we were surprised how much room there was. We visited 5 different wineries- all of which were unique in their own ways. They were all privately booked tastings so we got to hear a lot of great stories of how the vineyards/wineries came to be. I caught myself a few different times during the day just taking in the moment because it was such an amazing experience. This was my first "official" wine tasting and I'm glad it was with her as I know any of the other tours offered in the area would not be able to provide the kind of intimate experience we had. Thank you Julie!! ( a word of advice: do NOT drink everything they pour at the wineries- it adds up really quick!!)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Felicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Napa Jeep Wine Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Napa Jeep Wine Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing