We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Discovered a great winery

Great experience Marilyn our tasting guide was terrific and knowledgeable about the different... read more

Reviewed December 18, 2023
Edward L
Relaxed tasting, scenic estate

We walked round to the winery from our hotel, Indigo, which was an easy 35 minutes, and caught an... read more

Reviewed October 29, 2023
FunBoyOne
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 691 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Napa
from $129.69
More Info
from $313.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveler rating
599
56
27
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
599
56
27
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine club o brien great wine wine tasting beautiful setting host bottle winery merlot poets reservation wineries sip recommendation server
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 691 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Luis ushered us through the wonderful wines they offered and also provided us tastes from the reserves as well which we appreciated since we are not concerned so much about price as about quality. Not saying that "reserve" means that it is going to be a better wine, but it is nice to be able to compare with the new releases and compare.

Sitting under the large shade tree and enjoying the view of the vineyard and Luis' company was wonderful. In fact we were here for over 2 hours tasting and talking, almost closed the place.

Luis was well-informed about the winery's history and current and past releases as well as the O'Brien history and start in the wine making business. If you're lucky you'll get Luis when you come to taste.

Don't pass this one by!! It's off the beaten path but well worth the effort in locating and making the trip here.

Date of experience: August 2016
4  Thank EricLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

My spouse and I visited the O'Brien Estate in July 2016. You must make reservations to visit there and it is worth your time. It is very small and charming, you have a personal guide through your wine tasting. We had Julio and he was outstanding. I recommend visiting this winery if you really want to learn and have a more personal experience with your party. I also think you should visit here in a small group (4 or less) so you can really enjoy it. You sit down at a table while the wine varieties are poured and discussed for you on a beautiful shaded patio overlooking the vineyard. We were provided a nice little tray of snacks, too. The best parts about this visit was how personal an experience it is and how close to Napa the winery is. It was recommended to us by friends and we enjoyed it immensely.

Date of experience: July 2016
5  Thank alinoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Went with some friends that are members of this winery and we had a wonderful time. This particular winery is by appointment only, so definitely call ahead of time to make sure they have openings. We were lucky enough to be there while the grapes were still on the vine and it just looked pretty.
The tour does not consist of alot of walking. However, they let you know you can wonder around and look, just do not touch the grapes. Overall, it was a wonderful winery and very pretty property. We will definitely go back when we head to the west coast.

Date of experience: August 2016
6  Thank CASEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

My husband and I planned our recent trip to Napa Valley at the last minute. After reading so many rave reviews, we decided that we had to visit O'Brien Estate. Although they tend to book up fairly far in advance, we were fortunate to get an appointment.

Upon arriving at O'Brien we were greeted by Jason and invited to take a seat at a quiet table overlooking the vineyard. He promptly poured our first wine and welcomed us to sample the cabernet sauvignon grapes off the vine while he finished up with a prior appointment. Over the course of 90 minutes, we sampled each of O'Brien's current release wines with food pairings. Jason took the time to talk about each wine, O'Brien's wine making process and shared the lovely story of how the owners, Bart and Barb, came to own the winery.

The O'Brien family and their staff are dedicated to doing two things exceedingly well: providing an exceptional customer experience and crafting outstanding wines. Like many other reviewers, we decided to become members so that we could continue to enjoy these fantastic wines at home. Our experience at O'Brien Estate was the highlight of our trip!

Date of experience: August 2016
5  Thank 731SarahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

This was our first time in Napa and we loved O'Briens. We visited 5 vineyards and we loved three of them for different reasons; Frogs Leap and Hall were the other two. We appreciated the casual, personal treatment we received at O'Briens. Julio took care of us, and when I say us I mean my wife and I. It's apparently always a personal experience.

We were allowed to peruse the vineyard at our leisure and Julio would always find us with the next taste. This is an unapologetically small operation, and for that reason and others, we loved it.

Julio was fabulous, very real, very helpful and very genuine. The grounds were great, not as elaborate as Frogs Leap, but it worked at O'Briens. It was simple, it was perfect. We sat in padded Adirondack chairs on the lawn, in the shade underneath gorgeous trees. The weather was cool, the views were great, the dog and cats sauntered by often, but they never bothered us. Oh! We weren't expecting it, but we received a cheese, nut and cracker tray which we really enjoyed.

All in all, well done O'Briens! Well done Julio. We will recommend your vineyard to everyone we talk Napa with. Thanks for a great experience!

Date of experience: August 2016
7  Thank JoshExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews