We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wine and people”

O'Brien Estate Winery
Ranked #3 of 191 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are by appointment only. Please go to our website to inquire about our experiences. We do not take phone reservations. The cost is $55.00 per person. We regretfully are not permitted to have anyone under 21 years of age nor allow any pets on the premises. Our award winning wines come from our 40 acres in the Oak Knoll District of Napa Valley. From grape growing to bottling, the entire winemaking process is managed at the estate. The vineyards are planted with Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Merlot, Chardonnay, and Sauvignon Blanc. Our wines are sought after by collectors and have received many awards, including a recent 98 point score for our 2013 Unrestrained Reserve Bordeaux Blend.
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing wine and people”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was the last tour of our day and it was amazing. We sat with Barbara O'brien and talked about life and wine. We heard the great stories of how the winery came to be and her husbands love of poetry......and of course drank some exceptional, small production, wines. I generally do not like Merlot, but was shocked at how good the O'brien Merlot was......bought 3 bottles on the spot and they are to this day the only 3 merlots in my cellar. The cabs are equally amazing. My wife joined the club, which is hilarious because it's so unlike her. Great wine and people while sitting in a vineyard. Life is good!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    45
    27
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“nice but left a bad taste”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a small winery which has a nice tour set up however you will be paired with other people. They do not do one on one like some of the other smaller places. The wine was good but did not overly excite us. We were however excited to find an old vine for sale that we wanted for a wall in our home. While i felt it was a bit overpriced I bought it anyway because this was the only place I had seen them. When I spoke to the gentleman about getting it shipped, I confirmed it would be well packaged to avoid breaking... his reply was not to worry, if it broke that had plenty more to replace it. I felt it was a comment in poor taste. Hopefully the one we picked out makes it back to MD safe and unharmed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2BlondeDoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Jewel of Napa”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This vineyard was recommended by our hotel. We were looking for a vineyard that would tell us about the wine making process. We got that and much more. Richard our tour guide told us the story of the vineyard owners and how they became wine makers while we sampled their delicious wines. He was knowledgeable about the wine making process and answered all our questions. This vineyard is a jewel in the Napa Valley. Highly recommend making an appointment for a tour and tasting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Small Quantity - High Quality Winery”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Got there an hour early but were accommodated with kindness. Tyler, a young local who knew more about wine than I ever will, was out guide. He explained the process of winemaking and the winery's unique perspective on making excellent, affordable wines.

Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best in Napa!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Adore the wine, owners, and the experience! Visit, taste, chat, relax. Please try Romance of the Heart & Seduction! Cheers, ya'll.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgorey828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Brien Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to O'Brien Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing