We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and more than a "sample"”
Review of Domaine Carneros

Domaine Carneros
Ranked #7 of 190 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gaze out at stunning views of rolling hills and vineyards on the horizon as you sip wine from the terrace of this sprawling chateau that can be seen from anywhere in the valley. Please phone to make a reservation.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing views and more than a "sample"”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stopped here as it was mid-February and beautiful (62 and sunny). We couldn't pass up there amazing porch that overlooks the rolling hills. It was our first stop in napa and the place we spent the most time (again, due to the weather and view). I bet this place can get really busy, but we went on Sunday in mid-February and we could get seated outside right away (at 11 am).

A lot of wineries are expensive to us (from Milwaukee, a bit more on the frugal side), but this one was worth the price of the "tasting." Instead of paying $25 bucks for mere tastings at other wineries, here you get a flight of wine. We got 2 glasses of champagne and 2 glasses of red wine for that price. We also added a cheese plate (again, a bit pricey) to help us not get so buzzed early in the day.

I know you can get BOGO or free tastings at other wineries, but for the amount of wine you get and the view, this place was great!

(p.s. to the elderly or those having problems walking….there are a lot of steps to get to this porch/winery building. No problem for most, but could be an issue for some)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robjob18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    291
    97
    35
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“One of my favs in Napa!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The best views and staff in Napa when it comes to making you take in the gorgeous Carneros region. Great for sunrise to start your day. The staff has been tremendous on our 5-6 visits in the past 2 years! Keep the amazing bubbly coming!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Busy but fun”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

It felt very much like we'd walked into Disney World. Everything was busy busy busy and there was a lot to take in besides the wine. But, they kept our reservation and they were nice. We didn't end up buying any wine because I think we couldn't relax. The location is very beautiful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DELIGHTFUL!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We've lived in the San Francisco Bay Area for the past 17 years and visit Napa at least monthly. While we've visited and tasted at 100's of wineries over the years, the only winery we've had a membership at is Domaine Carneros. The location and views are outstanding and the staff is warm and welcoming. The sparkling wine is made in the French style as the winery is owned by the Taittinger family. While I prefer true Champagne from France, this is the closest thing my husband and I have experienced in Napa. Plan to stay fro a flight of sparklers and a charcuterie/cheese tray on the outdoor deck overlooking the vineyards. You won't be sorry!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank selective-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a must do”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Awesome view, fun, relaxing, great way to try sparkling wines. Try a flight and sit looking over the beautiful vineyards.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DorothyandSteve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Carneros also viewed

 

Been to Domaine Carneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing