We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fun Stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Domaine Carneros

Domaine Carneros
Ranked #8 of 186 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gaze out at stunning views of rolling hills and vineyards on the horizon as you sip wine from the terrace of this sprawling chateau that can be seen from anywhere in the valley. Please phone to make a reservation.
Citrus Heights, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Fun Stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Exquisite view. Busy, but eclectic crowd. Delicious champagne, cheese, dried fruit & pastries! Staff are informed & attentive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    274
    86
    32
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of my favorite views in Sonoma...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Although it can definitely get crowded since it's right on one of the main highways between Sonoma and Napa, I love Domain Carneros. The chateau is gorgeous with a huge patio area and a gorgeous view. Their Pinot and Champagnes are delicious, so always enjoy tastings and you can mix it up to try wines, champagnes or a combination which is nice. We were little annoyed this last time when we went looking for our server to order a last glass of champagne before they stopped serving a little before six and when we found him a couple of minutes after the cut off, they wouldn't budge... we shouldn't have had to go looking for our server in the first place so that was a negative in an otherwise lovely visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReseAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Winery Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Domaine Carneros specializes in sparkling wine and was a subsidiary of Taittinger, of Champagne until recently. The facility is well designed to allow visitors to see the fermantation, riddling, and bottling of product. The staff (especially Al) are educated and enthusiastic. In addition to the bubbly, they make a Pinot Noir which holds its own against any competition. Agood way to get an introduction to sparkling wines.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good tour experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We did the tour here, which was a pretty good value. We got to go out in the vineyard (probably because there were no grapes, it was February) and then got to look down on the production line in the cellar, which was interesting. This place specializes in sparkling wine, so it was interesting to learn about the differences in how it's made. Our tour guide was a character and kept things interesting. We did get to try a lot of different wines (at least 6) with generous pours. We came out with a fantastic Brut Rose.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErinK429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Picturesque venue with great bubbles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

There are few places better to sample great sparkling wine than here in Napa. With a glass of one of DC's great wines, sitting watching the sunset, it could be heaven.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Carneros also viewed

 

Been to Domaine Carneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing