We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, mid-sized winery. Great for tourists.”

The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum
Ranked #6 of 190 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Donald Hess established his first Mount Veeder vineyard in 1978, from the beginning recognizing that on these ridges and benchlands, the potential for great winegrowing was clear. Deep, rocky, volcanic soils provide a home for vineyard blocks producing small, concentrated fruit that reflects the challenges of growing grapes at higher altitudes in the coolest mountain growing region in Napa. The Hess Collection winery is part of a historic site where wine was first produced in the 1860’s, in a native stone build hewn by masons in 1903. The original stone structure is now joined by The Hess Art Collection, a world-class showcase of contemporary art that captures “two passions under one roof.” The Hess Collection uses sustainable, environmentally-sound practices with the axiom, “Nurture the land, and return what you take.” That philosophy brings with it a dedication to delivering wines that speak to their natural origins. Wine tasting & tours daily. Culinary experiences include pairings with small plates, artisan cheese and chocolates.
Toledo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice, mid-sized winery. Great for tourists.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This winery was designed for tourists. You are greeted inside by hosts and hostesses who point you toward the barrel room, art gallery, and tasting room. There are food pairing sessions and guided tours for an additional fee. You receive four pours for 15 dollars. The wines are solid. It's a great place to visit for those who want a traditional tour of a not-too-big, not-too-small winiery.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geminipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    238
    48
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular all around - art, wine and and awesome tasting”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

So much to do at the Hess Collection. We selected the tours that included a very knowledgeable guide, beautiful grounds, very unique artworks by "new" artists, an awesome pairing in a magnificent private room with wonderful wines and tasty accompaniments, meeting the chef, learning more about the history of the winery and several hours well spent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheEcoMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrific departure from the usual tasting rooms”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

You'll find the winery tucked up in the hillside after a beautiful drive up the winding drive not far from central Napa.

It was a wonderful option after having our fill of wine tastings on our weekend getaway. The diversity and size of the collection is exceptional. We spent the entire morning leisurely strolling thru the collection and grounds, and didn't even partake of a tasting.

Make this "detour" part of your next trip to the Napa Valley to get the full experience of all the area has to offer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I went to Hess Collection on June 24, 2014 with 7 of my family members. I made a reservation for a private tour for 4 people on June 23, 2014 by phone call. They kept transferring my call to an agent called Ashley, who was not in her office that day. They completed my reservation when I said "I really want to get this done by now". The reservation can be done by a phone call and I have no ideas why they have to transfer me to somebody else. Besides, the guy who picked up my phone was so unprofessional; he asked for my credit card, but he did not tell me how much I was going to be charged until I asked, "is it $30 per person?" I thought it is a common sense to tell their customers before asking for a credit card number.

The most "impressive" part of Hess Collection was our private tour guide called Rodereck, and the lady sit at the reception called Samantha. I arrived at Hess Collection at 2:54pm, and my reservation was at 3pm. Samantha just sit there and did nothing when I went into the Hess Collection reception; she just ignored me. Rodereck greeted us with his unwelcome face. We total had 8 people went to Hess Collection, and only 4 of us joined the private tour. When Rodereck saw 8 of us, he made a phone call saying he had "language barrier" between him and us. Excuse me, sir! This is absolutely very rude and unacceptable.

I don't feel Hess Collection welcome Asian travelers. Poor experience and I would never come here again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank krishyun_sone_beauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lower price tasting with some interesting art”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

An interesting drive to get to this winery awaits you as you wind up the hillside. The tasting room is somewhat large with the pourers being fairly knowledgeable. I felt a little rushed here but the tasting price was lower than in much of Napa and Sonoma vineyards.

The quality of the wine is good though not consistently so. Certainly worth a stop in for a quick taste and a look at the interesting art gallery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank missaero69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing