We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and informative”

The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum
Ranked #6 of 186 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Donald Hess established his first Mount Veeder vineyard in 1978, from the beginning recognizing that on these ridges and benchlands, the potential for great winegrowing was clear. Deep, rocky, volcanic soils provide a home for vineyard blocks producing small, concentrated fruit that reflects the challenges of growing grapes at higher altitudes in the coolest mountain growing region in Napa. The Hess Collection winery is part of a historic site where wine was first produced in the 1860’s, in a native stone build hewn by masons in 1903. The original stone structure is now joined by The Hess Art Collection, a world-class showcase of contemporary art that captures “two passions under one roof.” The Hess Collection uses sustainable, environmentally-sound practices with the axiom, “Nurture the land, and return what you take.” That philosophy brings with it a dedication to delivering wines that speak to their natural origins. Wine tasting & tours daily. Culinary experiences include pairings with small plates, artisan cheese and chocolates.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
1,210 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 739 helpful votes
“Welcoming and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Clearly, these folks have great love for wine, for their wine and for introducing others to their wine. A treat in every way.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnfjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    235
    47
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun wine tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our plans changed and we found ourselves looking for another winery tour. Our guide set up a tour at Hess. We had several tastings, saw the vineyard, tasted the grapes, saw the wine barrels, and saw a video regarding the winery and it's history. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. This was our favorite winery tour that we took during our trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good wine, stunning art collection, nice views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you like contemporary art, this place is not to be missed. The wine and the wine-tasting was all quite fine, but the art collection there is mind-blowing! In the same building as the wine-tasting room is a three-story gallery of stunning contemporary art, including pieces by Robert Motherwell, Frank Stella, Andy Goldsworthy, Gerhard Richter, and Robert Rauschenberg. The winery is well off the beaten path, and offers beautiful grounds and nice views of the valley and the vineyards. When we were there, near the end of the day, we had the place almost to ourselves, and I was about the only person exploring the art. The art gallery is free.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hess Winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Most informative tour of all the wineries that we visited. Enjoyed their wine. Tour guide poured some more expensive wine not on the list. Joined the wine club. Go visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I visited Hess in September and had one of the most memorable winery experiences of our entire trip. The staff was incredible and gave us personal one on one attention. It felt like we were receiving a private tour of the winery. The wine was wonderful and unique, which was a welcome change! I would highly recommend visiting this winery!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing