We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth the drive out to the winery.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum

The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum
Ranked #6 of 182 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Donald Hess established his first Mount Veeder vineyard in 1978, from the beginning recognizing that on these ridges and benchlands, the potential for great winegrowing was clear. Deep, rocky, volcanic soils provide a home for vineyard blocks producing small, concentrated fruit that reflects the challenges of growing grapes at higher altitudes in the coolest mountain growing region in Napa. The Hess Collection winery is part of a historic site where wine was first produced in the 1860’s, in a native stone build hewn by masons in 1903. The original stone structure is now joined by The Hess Art Collection, a world-class showcase of contemporary art that captures “two passions under one roof.” The Hess Collection uses sustainable, environmentally-sound practices with the axiom, “Nurture the land, and return what you take.” That philosophy brings with it a dedication to delivering wines that speak to their natural origins. Wine tasting & tours daily. Culinary experiences include pairings with small plates, artisan cheese and chocolates.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the drive out to the winery.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Suggested by the front desk staff and our hotel. The drive to reach the winery is about 10 miles on twisty, windy roads.
Good selection of wines on offer. Reasonable tasting prices.
Art gallery is a bit too modern for my taste but the wife enjoyed it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimboVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    230
    44
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pretty setting but a bit touristy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is one of the bigger, splashier wineries in the Napa region, but it's worth a visit just because of the unique setting high up in the mountains west of the valley. We did a tour and got to do our tasting in the barrel room, which was very cool, but I was a little disappointed that they didn't pour more of their limited-release stuff...of the 5 wines we tasted, I believe all but one is widely available in supermarkets and major restaurant chains.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ponchoandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A fabulous collection, We were surprised at the extensive collection of modern art and really enjoyed the experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jimjan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great introduction tour for our trip and was by luck we ran across it. Great tour guide and tour. Beautiful winery and nice art. Loved the history as well regarding the Christian Brothers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FloridaFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Level Contributor
511 reviews
226 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Remarkable world-class museum of moderrn art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I visited the wine tasting room and the art museum with an artist friend on Saturday 3/30. The buildings and grounds are dramatic and beautiful, raising expectations. Inside the Visitors Center is the tasting room, a lovely retail shop, and the museum. The tasting room is nicely done, but not exceptional. The museum, on the other hand, is remarkable.

On two floors you walk thru what appears to be a stunning, world-class museum with serious, high-priced modern art. The work is displayed as well as - or better - than you would find anywhere. Each piece has ample wall space or floor space for the sculpture. Interestingly, the museum has quite a few spaces with multiple pieces by the same artist. Clearly the collection represents the taste of a very serious patron of the arts.

Having said that, do not expect to see much art that you may find "approachable." The art is often jarring and challenges your interpretation. Whether you like the art or not, you won't be disappointed by the splendid presentation (enhanced by an audio tour).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing