We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wines and art collection”

The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum
Ranked #6 of 190 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Donald Hess established his first Mount Veeder vineyard in 1978, from the beginning recognizing that on these ridges and benchlands, the potential for great winegrowing was clear. Deep, rocky, volcanic soils provide a home for vineyard blocks producing small, concentrated fruit that reflects the challenges of growing grapes at higher altitudes in the coolest mountain growing region in Napa. The Hess Collection winery is part of a historic site where wine was first produced in the 1860’s, in a native stone build hewn by masons in 1903. The original stone structure is now joined by The Hess Art Collection, a world-class showcase of contemporary art that captures “two passions under one roof.” The Hess Collection uses sustainable, environmentally-sound practices with the axiom, “Nurture the land, and return what you take.” That philosophy brings with it a dedication to delivering wines that speak to their natural origins. Wine tasting & tours daily. Culinary experiences include pairings with small plates, artisan cheese and chocolates.
blue ridge mountains
Level Contributor
260 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent wines and art collection”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Housed in a beautiful old stone building, the winery has nice wines and a friendly, knowledgeable staff. We visited based on a 2009 article in Wine Spectator and were very pleased with our tasting experience. It's off the beaten path, but well worth the effort -- and you get to see their extensive contemporary art collection.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank glassyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    238
    48
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the drive, but not for the wine”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited this winery in late October. The drive to the winery is beautiful. You start to head up a winding road, with beautiful trees all around you, and then you come upon the winery. The winery is also lovely on the outside, and the art gallery inside is a real treat. There are three floors and it’s free to visit. I believe that it is comprised of pieces from the owners’ private collection and there were predominately Modern Art pieces. While we were not impressed with the wine, we enjoyed the drive, the winery, and the art gallery. This is a good one to visit in the middle of the day when you may want (or need) and break from tastings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Art Museum was very interesting with some pieces that were not to my taste and yet still mesmerizing!
The wine tasting portion of the day was good and we did walk away with some beautiful wine.
The star of the show is the house itself which is stunning!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claireylou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great wine and art”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hess Collection is just that. A collection of really good wine and amazing modern art. A 3 story art museum, totally free. Donald Hess has some of the most amazing modern art in the world. He displays at several museums worldwide.

The wines are the standouts though. Although it's not free to taste, the price is well worth the value. Special wines from the Mt. Veeder area where the winery is located.

It's about a half hour drive from downtown Napa along the windy Redwood Road. Totally isloated, and very different from the usual Highway 29 wineries. Well worth the trip if you've never been there. There are several other wineries, not so famous but great wines in the area as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CAwinediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's okay”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Front desk was friendly, but tasting staff couldn't be bothered by us.
It was towards the end of the day so maybe go early? Also, you have to purchase wine separately and in a different area from tasting. The lines were so long ...made us skip our purchase.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimCaudill, Manager at The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I'm sorry to hear your visit wasn't completely satisfactory, and I appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback that we can review and act upon. We can't do much about the physical layout of our Visitor's Center, but we can take a look and see how we can improve our guest experience. It sounds like the day was busy, and perhaps people were a bit tired at day's end, but that's not an excuse for anything less than enthusiastic service. We can, and will, do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing