We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcoming experience!”

Trefethen Family Vineyards
Ranked #11 of 206 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Napa’s classic wine estates, Trefethen is still a hidden gem. Easy to find, but only if you’re looking. Our entry is on Oak Knoll Avenue, tucked away from the crowds of Highway 29. The driveway John Trefethen used to land his plane on runs through the middle of our vineyard, over the ground we have tended since 1968. On August 24, 2014, a 6.0 earthquake rocked Napa Valley and Trefethen to the core and left our cherished historic winery leaning 4 feet to the west. We have spent 2½ years working on a full restoration, including a modern seismic retrofit. Originally constructed in 1886, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the building is ready to stand sentinel over Napa Valley once again. Please come visit soon! Reservations are not required but are suggested Reservations are required for all groups of 6 or more. At this time we are unable to accommodate anyone under the age of 21, including infants and children.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our waiter from Redd Wood recommended Trefethen after we described our wine interests. What we experienced was the most fun and entertaining conversation as we selected our wines to taste - Michael guided us though our wine tasting adventure - and provided a knowledgable commentary as well as witty repartee. He absolutely made our experience that much more pleasurable. What made the experience comfortable was we were able to sit at a table rather than standing at the wine bar. Between the 5 of us, we managed to taste every single wine listed on the Classic Tasting menu.

Thank D0rindaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting room"
in 42 reviews
"halo"
in 9 reviews
"the reserve"
in 14 reviews
"dry riesling"
in 4 reviews
"great wine"
in 15 reviews
"beautiful drive"
in 3 reviews
"great tasting experience"
in 4 reviews
"cabernet franc"
in 3 reviews
"napa valley"
in 17 reviews
"joining the wine club"
in 3 reviews
"wine educator"
in 4 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 5 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 15 reviews
"favorite winery"
in 6 reviews
"down to earth"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 3 reviews
"tasting fee"
in 3 reviews
Filter

142 - 146 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Shannon is first class, great wines, incredible facility. Tasting is worth the trip. Really good reds and whites. Consistently good wines. Their "Double T" is an excellent value for everyday wine.

Thank FoodCritic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hi! We greatly appreciate the great comments about our wines and your recent visit to Trefethen. We are grateful for Shannon and our totally fun team. Our jobs are certainly made easier with the stellar wines our winemakers give us each year. We look forward to your next visit! Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is my second time to Trefethen and I again had a great tasting experience. The host and staff were all friendly and knowledgeable about the wines. Every wine we tasted was excellent. The reserves were amazing. Coming from Massachusetts very few Vineyards can ship there so we purchased a shipping box for $6 and stocked up on some of our favorites. The vineyard is still family run and has acres of vineyards I think the most in wine country. The tasting area still has a small vineyard feel which is what I like best about Trefethen. Too bad they do not import to Massachusetts!
Definitely check it out, if you use Google maps you may get lost so follow the signs or call for directions.

Thank Scubascott1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hi ScubaScott - thanks for the great review and for your second visit to Trefethen. With so many wineries to visit in Napa Valley, we honored you came to see us twice! Thanks for the post about the Google Map error. We have been trying to get them to fix it. If you enter our physical street address is seems to work fine. Hopefully this will be fixed before your next visit! Cheers, Team Trefethen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This family owned vineyard treated us with the hospitality you'd expect when visiting relatives (in a good way)! We had a large group (13) of women and so they set us in a private garden patio for our tasting. Not only did we have the undivided attention of one of the Trefethen clan, they brought us fruit, veggies and flowers from their onsite garden to sample and take home. This was the first vineyard we visited for the weekend and every other one had a tough time measuring up.

Thank Taylor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hi Taylor, We are thrilled to hear your visit to Trefethen was exceptional. It makes our day when we we see a review like yours as our entire team works hard to make sure each guest enjoys their visit. We really do think of our visitors as a member of the family and I guess it shows. We hope to see you again at Trefethen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were staying at the Marriott Napa, and as part of our package had been given vouchers to exchange against 2 tasting experiences. We visited Trefethen last and couldn't have had a nicer time. From the moment we were warmly greeted we felt comfortable and welcome. I expect much of this is to do with the fact that it is a family run vineyard, so all the people who work there actually care. We were able to taste wines from both tasting menus, without feeling self conscious or rushed. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly and there was a great atmosphere amongst all the other guests. It's just a shame they don't ship to the UK. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Napa.

Thank kewarburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trefethen Family Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Trefethen Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing