We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and informative winery tour and tasting”

Trefethen Family Vineyards
Ranked #19 of 193 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Napa’s classic wine estates, Trefethen is still a hidden gem. Easy to find, but only if you’re looking. Our entry is on Oak Knoll Avenue, tucked away from the crowds of Highway 29. The driveway John Trefethen used to land his plane on runs through the middle of our vineyard, over the ground we have tended since 1968. On August 24, 2014, a 6.0 earthquake rocked Napa Valley and Trefethen to the core and left our cherished historic winery leaning 4 feet to the west. We have spent 2½ years working on a full restoration, including a modern seismic retrofit. Originally constructed in 1886, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the building is ready to stand sentinel over Napa Valley once again. Please come visit soon! Reservations are not required but are suggested Reservations are required for all groups of 6 or more. At this time we are unable to accommodate anyone under the age of 21, including infants and children.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited this winery as a corporate outing for about 50 people. Our winery guide, Michael, is a member of the family and gave us an outstanding, informative tour of this 100+ year old family owned winery in Napa Valley. Michael went into great detail about the entire process, from the complexities of the earth and why they plant the various types of vines, to the making of the casks and the wine making process itself.

And the wine, oh the wine! The Reisling, the Chardonnay, the "Dragon's Tooth" and others are all wonderful. Don't pass up an opportunity to visit!

Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hello Don M - Thanks for making our day with such a great review of your visit to Trefethen. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Trefethen Family Vineyards
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 217 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Was really looking forward to this winery based on what family members had told me. Our group of 10 adventurers made this our second stop of the day. Our host was knowledgable and presented wines we were interested in. Bland breadsticks were great for keeping our palettes calm. Wine was excellent but fell short of my, maybe too high, expectations. Will definitely pick up some Harmony Chardonnay at home.

Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Matt C - We greatly appreciate you stopping at Trefethen and for taking the time to post a review. . Thanks for your enthusiasm for Harmony Chardonnay. It is one of our favorites too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our host was extremely knowledgeable about the wines presented and very thorough in his explanations. The wines spoke for themselves - superb and well balanced.

Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Gene - thanks for the visit and for taking the time to write such kind comments on our wines and our staff. We appreciate your feedback. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nothing spectacular or worth visiting. Although the winery was empty they did not appear to be interested in having us understand their wines. Although they were famous for Chardonnay - Rombauer and Domaine Chandon have much better California Styles Chardonnay. Their Cabs appear adequate - but you can do much better in Stags Leap.

Little in terms of a gift shop.

Thank jackson55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Trefethen Family Vineyards. Our heartfelt apologies for not over-delivering with our world-renowned hospitality and wines. Seeing that you were disappointed by the experience is disappointing to all of us. Our team never takes for granted our reputation as one of the best wineries to visit as well as our great reviews from the wine critics. Your review reminded us that we can't drop our level of service for even a second. Please let us know if you return to Napa and perhaps we might have a second chance to introduce you to the magic of Trefethen Family Vineyards. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were a very large group, Creighton was wonderful on out twilight tour. Super duper esrlier in the day we had gone to Opusbut here I found great wine and great people. I had to buy their last 2 bottles of a 96. That was AWSOME. just like the staff, great tasting great food great fun. The wine I loved the the company even better. Thank You Creighton just remember Dragon's Blood :*)

Thank DoctorDallas33144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trefethen Family Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Trefethen Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing