We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop #2 on our tour”

Trefethen Family Vineyards
Ranked #19 of 186 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Napa's classic wine estates, Trefethen is a hidden gem. Easy to find, but only if you're looking, our entry is on Oak Knoll Avenue, tucked away from the crowds of Highway 29. John Trefethen used to land his plane on the driveway during runs through the middle of our vineyard, over the ground we have tended for over 40 years. Located at the grand entrance to Napa Valley, we are one of Napa's classic family wine estates. Stunning valley and vineyards vistas surround guests as they sample distinctive hand crafted estate wines. (Reservations required). We look forward to welcoming you.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stop #2 on our tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Was really looking forward to this winery based on what family members had told me. Our group of 10 adventurers made this our second stop of the day. Our host was knowledgable and presented wines we were interested in. Bland breadsticks were great for keeping our palettes calm. Wine was excellent but fell short of my, maybe too high, expectations. Will definitely pick up some Harmony Chardonnay at home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Matt C - We greatly appreciate you stopping at Trefethen and for taking the time to post a review. . Thanks for your enthusiasm for Harmony Chardonnay. It is one of our favorites too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    46
    15
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
442 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Well presented selection of red wines............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our host was extremely knowledgeable about the wines presented and very thorough in his explanations. The wines spoke for themselves - superb and well balanced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Gene - thanks for the visit and for taking the time to write such kind comments on our wines and our staff. We appreciate your feedback. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
253 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Hard to Believe They Are So Highly Rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nothing spectacular or worth visiting. Although the winery was empty they did not appear to be interested in having us understand their wines. Although they were famous for Chardonnay - Rombauer and Domaine Chandon have much better California Styles Chardonnay. Their Cabs appear adequate - but you can do much better in Stags Leap.

Little in terms of a gift shop.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackson55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Trefethen Family Vineyards. Our heartfelt apologies for not over-delivering with our world-renowned hospitality and wines. Seeing that you were disappointed by the experience is disappointing to all of us. Our team never takes for granted our reputation as one of the best wineries to visit as well as our great reviews from the wine critics. Your review reminded us that we can't drop our level of service for even a second. Please let us know if you return to Napa and perhaps we might have a second chance to introduce you to the magic of Trefethen Family Vineyards. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A must while in Napa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were a very large group, Creighton was wonderful on out twilight tour. Super duper esrlier in the day we had gone to Opusbut here I found great wine and great people. I had to buy their last 2 bottles of a 96. That was AWSOME. just like the staff, great tasting great food great fun. The wine I loved the the company even better. Thank You Creighton just remember Dragon's Blood :*)

Helpful?
Thank DoctorDallas33144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tour and tasting....and what a tasting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a very enjoyable few hours on this impressive and historic site and greatly enjoyed the winery tour plus the wines themselves. My favourite?....the dark, woody 1995 Cabernet Sauvignon, but the 2009 shows lots of promise!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trefethen Family Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Trefethen Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing