We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky enough to get in without a reservation!”
Review of Mustards Grill

Mustards Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Mustards Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 288 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Aged for almost 30 years in the Napa Valley… Since its beginnings as a local gathering spot over 29 years ago, Mustards Grill has blossomed into a destination for all who appreciate memorable food, superb wines and a warm welcome. Mustards food is Chef/Owner Cindy Pawlcyn’s mix of American regional dishes with global influences. The list of “Way Too Many Wines” represents the best from appellations throughout California and the New World. Mustards is an American Grill, featuring flavors from around the globe. The wood-burning grill produces such favorites as Cindy’s famous Mongolian Pork Chop, chipotle –rubbed Quail, and the ½ pound Niman Ranch hamburger. The oakwood smoker fills the restaurant with aromas of BBQ baby back ribs and tea-smoked Peking duck. Specialties include Seared Ahi Tuna on sesame crackers and Crispy Calamari tossed with curried slaw. The eclectic wine list features hard to find gems from California, the American Northwest, & South America.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lucky enough to get in without a reservation!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We happened upon this place driving back to our B&B after a day of visiting the wineries. At the time we had no idea how famous it was. I guess we really lucked out. We started out with delicious onion peels piled high. My husband had the Asian chicken salad and I the pork chop. Wow it was all terrific. Wish we would have left some room for dessert. May be next time we visit Napa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,357
    636
    202
    55
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Napa Valley Tried and True”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My traveling companion remembered this spot from other trips, and when the lights went out in Napa (May 14), we drove north. They seated us early for our reservation which was wonderful, and our waiter was quite courteous. But the food was hit and miss. I enjoyed some wonderful crab cakes and a salad, but my companion was disappointed with her duck entree. A crazy lemon meringue pie desert (8" high?) had flavor, but in the end the size was off-putting. The place was jumping on a Weds night and looked more like locals than tourists. A little noisy for my taste but people looked like they were having fun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had reservations at 7:30 and were there promptly. They did not take us until 8:30. The manager said sorry and brought out chips which was a nice. We ordered Cobb wine as per waiter's recommendation and it was very good. We tried the duck which was smoked and good. I got the chicken breast sand which was simple but good. It came with homemade chips. Two people in the party got desserts. One was chocolate flour less cake and the other was an angel cake. They were not sharing as it was so good. The noise level is high and it is hard to hear. We were a party of 6 seated at a table for 4 which was uncomfortable. They do not have seatings for large parties. The prices were fair for the quality of the food. The service was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank betagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This was a return visit for us and we were not disappointed by our meal at one of our favorite Napa restaurants. The wine list is extensive. The asparagus salad and green garden soup delicious. The service was only fair compared with previous visits. Always a great vibe.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Just good”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I ate at Mustards 24 yrs. ago and it was exceptional, this time it was good, but nothing to write home about. My dinner was very good, my husband's just OK. Now if this restaurant was anywhere else it would be a very good, but there are so many excellent restaurants in Napa that it needs to up it's game.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzieFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustards Grill also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Mustards Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing