We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views with Great Food!”
Review of Mustards Grill

Mustards Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Mustards Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 284 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Aged for almost 30 years in the Napa Valley… Since its beginnings as a local gathering spot over 29 years ago, Mustards Grill has blossomed into a destination for all who appreciate memorable food, superb wines and a warm welcome. Mustards food is Chef/Owner Cindy Pawlcyn’s mix of American regional dishes with global influences. The list of “Way Too Many Wines” represents the best from appellations throughout California and the New World. Mustards is an American Grill, featuring flavors from around the globe. The wood-burning grill produces such favorites as Cindy’s famous Mongolian Pork Chop, chipotle –rubbed Quail, and the ½ pound Niman Ranch hamburger. The oakwood smoker fills the restaurant with aromas of BBQ baby back ribs and tea-smoked Peking duck. Specialties include Seared Ahi Tuna on sesame crackers and Crispy Calamari tossed with curried slaw. The eclectic wine list features hard to find gems from California, the American Northwest, & South America.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Views with Great Food!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here for our anniversary. We had reservations, so we were seated right away. I had the salmon special and my husband had the lamb. Both were very good, but we thought they were a bit overpriced...My favorite part of dinner was the dessert! The chocolate hazelnut cake was AMAZING! It was gone before you knew it! The waiter was very knowledgable and helped us choose wines to go with our dinner selections. It was nice to have views of vineyards all around you will dining. I would go back for dessert, but might pass on dinner next time....the food was good, but didn't knock our socks off like dessert did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,298
    613
    194
    54
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food but a bit too loud and pressured”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The positives: We can't say enough about the wonderful porkchop and duck. Wonderful presentation and taste. The so-so's: The service was generally attentive but at times almost too attentive. It was a very loud atmosphere with people lining up at the door waiting for another table to open up. We felt like the food was being served far too quickly and were pressured to move us along for the next group to arrive. There is no question that this is an excellent restaurant as the food was spectacular but next time I would instruct the servers to slow things down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentlyinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Must Go Food Experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Understated old truck stop-turned into a great restaurant. There are always crowds waiting outside. Friendly service, great food. The soups, sandwiches and sauces are amazingly flavorful. Thinly sliced onion rings a perfect starter. Creative unique dishes. You will want reservations if you don't like waiting. We would rate this restaurant as one of the top restaurants in Napa!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alliesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
249 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Food and Setting is First Rate”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

First off, make reservations as it will greatly reduce your wait because this restaurant will be crowded. The daily specials and menu items are both eclectic and delicious. This restaurant is on the way and around many great vineyards so it is a natural place to plan lunch (early suggested) on your way to the vineyards.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining Experience in Napa Valley”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Mustard's Grill is one of my favorite restaurants in the Napa Valley area. You can count on outstanding service, interesting menu, and great times. Mustards is a small restaurant, so reservations are recommended (or drop by in mid-afternoon between lunch and dinner).

The professional wait staff will keep bread on your table (literally...as they serve it on the table without a basket or board), and will expertly guide you through the menu and wine list. Mustard's specializes in local fresh and tender meat, local veggies, and also features an extensive local wine list. The bar serves OUTSTANDING cocktails (bloody mary's are fabulous and served with a small beer chaser), and if sitting at the bar, you can usually have a small taste/s of wines that might be interesting with your meal. All service is extremely professional and courteous...not an easy feat if you happen to be there when "important" customers make crazy demands.

The chefs will make any necessary changes/adaptations to meet special diet requests, and the menu features 3 or 4 additional items each day. An absolute MUST....the lemon tart for dessert...absolutely the most outrageous and delicious of lemon meringue pie..ever! Coffee is delicious, as are espresso drinks. All in all...Mustard's Grill is fantastic...

Tip for travelers on a tight schedule...just like going to the doctor's office, you can't always accurately anticipate the length of an "appointment"; when Mustards is packed, the wait can sometimes run longer than anticipated...however, every wait has been well worth it! Finally, be sure to enjoy their veggie garden when in season; great use of their gardening space..and interesting to see how they plant their herbs and veggies.
All in all...Mustard's Grill is fantastic...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CubsWillRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustards Grill also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Mustards Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing