We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value for Money”
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Napa
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value for Money”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Stayed for a four night vacation. The hotel was an absolute value for money especially when compared to the overpriced accomodations available in most of the Napa area; the hotel designer did a really nice job with the modern boutique style decor. First, it is one of the few actual hotels available--most are small bed and breakfast type accomodations. The rooms were large, especially our corner room, with an excellent bathroom and amenities. You had complimentary access to a real gym next door to the hotel, which is one of our musts for longer stays. Front desk staff were very accomodating and friendly, and you are within easy walking distance of many great dining options--definitely go to Norman Rose and Oenotri right across the street from the hotel. Some minor complaints include that the morning barista bar with breakfast to go type items are a bit over priced, and the coffee is not from proper espresso machines. Also, there were a couple of mini bar items charged to the room that weren't ours; staff promptly corrected it, but I wish hotels would stop using those sensor type mini bars that seem to always present a problem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masalamujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    502
    124
    42
    24
See reviews for
171
1,291
36
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, CT
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

The AVIA Hotel is located in downtown Napa CA. The hotel is new within the last few years. Has a hip & fun vibe. Rooms are well appointed in decor as are the lobby and lounge/bar area. The restaurant, Avia Kitchen, is warm & welcoming. We arrived in Napa on Thanksgiving Day and decided to eat right there at Avia Kitchen. The food was just good enough. Nothing special. This however is the only downside we found during our 7 day visit. Hotel staff were extremely helpful & friendly. When we were first shown the location of our room, right next to the elevator, Pierre at the front desk, was quick to change the room for us on the spot. We were very happy with the new room. Also the concierge staff was great. We were especially happy with Juliette Riedl. We worked with her to secure several reservations, food & spa, and she was professional, friendly, warm and responsive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kms21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad you found AVIA to have a hip and fun vibe! Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review of your stay. We thank you for recognizing the staff as the work hard to make sure every guest has an enjoyable and memorable stay in Napa. We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the Napa area.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

There is a lot to like about this hotel. In an area where they know how to do luxury well, but they also know how to charge for it then AVIA represents tremendous value for money.

Firstly the booking process is novel, with the option to request upgraded rooms at reduced rates (and subject to availability at check-in time). So you don't know for sure whether you'll snag an upgrade, but if you do it won't cost as much as the standard rate for the room. This is a really good idea, and we got a tub suite at check-in instead of the standard room we had booked for a modest increase in price.

The room was great; large, modern and sleek, but yet also cozy. The bed was really comfortable and as well as the tub, we also had a small sitting area with a second flat screen TV, and a fireplace.

They offer a wine tasting most evenings in the lobby bar (incidentally the bar doubles as a coffee shop in the mornings), and we were lucky as the night we checked in it was a local brewery showcasing their beers. Just what the doctor ordered after tasting wine for a few days.

We ate breakfast in their restaurant and were pleasantly surprised by the prices - we'd just come from a resort which charged $10 for an orange juice, and $8 for a coffee; at AVIA it was more like $3 each, and the quality was really no different. We also really enjoyed sitting by the fire-pit and talking with other guests as the sun went down, enjoying a glass of wine. We also can't praise the concierge enough, they found a shop selling difficult to get wine for me, and also gave us free tasting passes for several really good wineries.

As much as I would like to, I just can't give the AVIA a rating of 5 as our room suffered a bit of a noise problem. It was seemingly above a loud refrigeration or air-conditioning unit which rumbled into life of its own accord during the night, and did wake us both on a few occasions (but we'd just come from the quietest hotel we'd ever stayed at, so anything would suffer in comparison). Also the housekeeping staff knocked to do a turn-down service just as my wife was stepping out of the shower. I asked them to give us 15-20 minutes as we were going out, and they agreed. Yet when we came back to the room after dinner, they hadn't returned. It would also be nice if the hotel had a pool.

However, despite that I was still hugely impressed and pleasantly surprised by AVIA. Having stayed at a number of different hotels in the Napa Valley I thought that getting value and luxury in the same place was something that was impossible to find. It seems that AVIA proved me wrong, and we'll be staying there again when we go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing AVIA for your recent stay in Napa. We thank you for your compliments and are happy to hear the rooms and service exceeded your expectations. It sounds as though you enjoyed the amenities, services offered and the evenings on the terrace.

I do apologize for the noise you heard in the middle of the night. We would have been happy to move you to another room had you let us know during your stay.

We are so glad overall you were impressed and pleasantly surprised with AVIA, and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed just one night here on a quick wine weekend. We checked in late, with no issue. Very prompt and simple.
Great room, we had the basic room. Perfect bed. The bathroom was excellent too. Super-sized shower.
Great recommendation for dinner given.
Check out was 2.5 seconds flat.
Free parking 1 block away.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocgolfer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

It is so great to read you had an excellent stay at AVIA. I am so pleased enjoyed the comfortable bed and the staff gave you a great recommendation for dinner. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I usually don't write reviews, but I must this time. We usually stay on hotels out of napa downtown area, however decided on this hotel after reading all the reviews. We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and my birthday, they had a cheese and meat plate with a bottle of wine in our room.. wow that was a nice touch.
The room was super clean and modern.
the pictures and decriptions on their website are right on, what you see is what you get.
I LOVE it. Avia will be our new napa hotel for sure and will definitively recommended to anyone.
great insulated room, no outside noise.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehgalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so extremely happy you had a wonderful stay at AVIA for your anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and the nice compliments. We thank you for recommending to others and we look forward to hosting you again.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I randomly selected this hotel as we wanted to stay in a nice hotel with a little luxury...but not pay normal Napa Valley prices. It was an amazing experience! The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We loved the lounge outside where you can sit on the swings and by the fireplace. The bathroom was HUGE and had an amazing shower. I need white noise when I sleep and they left a fan in my room for me.

I would stay at any Avia hotel! Simply wonderful!

Also, there is a GREAT restaurant near the hotel, Grace's Table. You definitely need to check it out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so delighted you had an amazing experience at AVIA! It is so great to know the staff was accommodating and you were able to enjoy the outdoor terrace and fire pit. Thank you for choosing AVIA and we look forward to seeing you again in Napa or at one of our other locations.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

For the price, it hard to beat this upscale modern hotel in downtown Napa. The rooms were very nice and the hotel offered great service. My wife and I will definitely come back.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank discstu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted you and your wife had a great stay and found AVIA to be a great value. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Property: Andaz Napa
Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing