We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad & the ugle”
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andaz Napa
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were fortunate to visit this property several times before the earthquake & hopefully it will be open soon. Hyatt attempted to convert an existing building into a high end destination. They succeeded in some parts and failed in others. Location is wonderful. Walking distance to some great wining, dining & shopping experiences. Rooms are very nice, beds wonderful but I don't get the free standing tubs overlooking the streets of Napa. Isn't there a drought going on in CA? If you would have filled one of these tubs, you could water my garden for a week. The other area which does not meet up to Hyatt standards is the restaurant. If your want to wait 1/2 hour + for some bacon & eggs or want to watch employees wandering aimlessly with nothing in their hands this is the place to go. :-) Overall, a wonderful place to stay, but not to eat.

Room Tip: None, it appears most rooms are very similar. Balcony or not is the only choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 2,084 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

My wife and I spent four nights here for our 10th anniversary and it's an amazing jumping-off point for exploring the Valley. I echo others' sentiments about the service - casual, friendly, and efficient. The rooms are impeccable - the ones with the bathtubs are fun and big. No real views from the hotel, it's in the middle of downtown - parking garage on one side and a street on the other. Our room was just above the bar area on the second floor, and though you could certainly hear it, it never kept us up (though there weren't large crowds). A bit of a design flaw with the hotel, really, there are a number of rooms above it. Juliette, the main concierge, was fantastic in helping us plan our days there - we had reached out in advance so it was all planned before we got there. She also helped us pick dinner places. Napa is a neat city to be in, you can walk to dinner places, the market, a bit of shopping, some tasting rooms. That said, if you're looking for a more rustic Valley experience, there are probably better options for you. We enjoyed being able to walk around somewhere when we weren't drinking wine!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Mercantile Terrace if you're looking for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank baileyd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

From the moment we walked into the Andaz Hotel we knew we were in for a treat. The entire staff that we came in contact with were sincerely caring. The concierge went out of her way to help us even before we asked. Our waitress in the restaurant remembered what we liked from the day before. Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a new mattress as ours was a bit uncomfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Excellent location with relaxed atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff. Room was comfortable and we liked the complimentary soft drinks, snacks and wifi. Did not experience breakfast (easier and more interesting to eat out) but the second floor open air bar area serves delicious cocktails and a range of well-cooked bar meals and snacks and is a pleasant space to spend an hour or two in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GretaBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel was exactly want we expected. We were greeted by the GM and offered a glass of wine while we were checked in. Not your typical check in, no desk, staff with i-pads that can check you in any where in the lobby, perhaps at the bar! We had a corner room with a sitting area and the TV rotates so you can watch from bed or from the couch, very effective use of space. Wonderful room, modern and spacious. Restaurant was fun, good food and service. You are within walking distance to a few restaurants, so it it convenient. Would def. stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room, the price is a bit more, but worth it! It is the next step up from standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slwhite900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Loved the room- spacious and airy plus a very comfortable bed. The staff was professional and friendly. It's the perfect location in downtown Napa. The lobby area is really well designed - contemporary feel. And it's within walking distance to some really nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgmasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Great stay - Host "Ben" at the front lobby was great - he seemed to be working 24/7. Everyone friendly, room was very very nice.

Recommend heading by the 2nd floor bar after sundown for a very pleasant place for a nighttime drink. Gas outdoor fireplaces make this VERY nice.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Nesster05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
2.2 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $237 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing